We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely pleasant stay and great breakfast!”
Review of Hotel Argantonio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Argantonio
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Cadiz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We stayed here for two nights (at winter rates - about 80 euro a night). This is a small, beautifully decorated boutique hotel that is well worth it for a treat if you usually go lower end. It has about four storeys and only about four or five rooms per storey, set out around a central courtyard.The room was small but nicely appointed. They have some good touches that show thoughtfulness towards guests needs, e.g. a double glazed door between the courtyard and the entry to your room, so guests coming in at night etc wont disturb you.
The staff were friendly, helpful and spoke Engish well which is always appreciated!.
The breakfast, which was included in the room price, was really lovely- set out in a small dining room off the courtyard, they provided pastries, rolls, toast, boiled eggs, cheeses, hams, fruit, cereal, yoghurt, great coffee...! Very impressive.
They also have free WiFi in the foyer and a computer room if you dont have your own laptop.
Would highly recommend this place and we intend to stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms looking over the small lane have balconys, it wasnt noisy, but if you are concerned about that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank moreperfectdays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (519)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

207 - 211 of 519 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2012

We live in Spain and have done for many years so have travelled extensively in Spain so can with confidence say this is one of the best in terms of friendly and helpful staff, immaculate rooms, careful attention to authentic Andalusian details everywhere. Tucked away in a quiet pedestrian street within the maze of streets that make up the old town of Cadiz. Really really attractive reception area, breakfast room ( nice breakfast by the way!) and rooms with lovely decorated doors. We came in February and were worried the room would be cold as it is in so many hotels in Spain but we were lovely and toasty with our a/c. I honestly can't find fault with this hotel and wouldn't change anything from the little fountain in the reception to the original window frames to the warm and friendly staff. If you want a great value hotel in the heart of this amazing city then look no further. We came to celebrate my birthday and this hotel has made my day so very special!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PandSTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night in January and were very happy with it. Especially the rooms are nice and comfortable and furnished in moorish way.
The heater works very good, what is quite useful in winter time. The hotel is very central and everything can be reached in 10 minutes. Breakfast was continental and rich. Nice people at the front desk! We'll come back with the next stay in Cadiz. Very worth it to stay!
The have a tiny roof-deck which might be lovely in summer time :-) We couldn't use it because of the partly freezing temperatures.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

A great location in a beautiful place. We had a room on the 1st floor facing the street. Their was some noise but not bad and was to be expected. The room was small but quirky with some lovely tiles and design features. Also the shower was huge! It took about 5 mins for the hot water to come through though. The whole place had a lovely feel, like a boutique hotel even though it's only 2 star. Also the staff were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. A great place to stay and a great place to visit!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anyexcuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We rejected a windowless, airless room in the hotel we had prebooked and were recommended the Argantonio at the Tourist information office. Although it was only a two star it was every bit as good as the three star we had left. Excellent buffet breakfast, small but clean and comfortable rooms. A bar that stayed open late (11ish) and served hot drinks as well as alcohol. Very friendly receptionists who were prepared to speak to us in our poor Spanish and help us learn. Good wi-fi. Excellent central location and close to a municipal car park (20 euros a day). We would go back if visiting Cadiz.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RegCenturyWharf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cadiz hotels
1.7 km away
Monte Puertatierra Hotel
1.0 km away
Parador de Cadiz
Parador de Cadiz
#2 of 28 in Cadiz
1,783 reviews
0.1 km away
Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Occidental Cadiz
Occidental Cadiz
#6 of 28 in Cadiz
789 reviews
3.2 km away
Tryp Cadiz la Caleta Hotel
0.4 km away
Hotel Patagonia Sur
Hotel Patagonia Sur
#10 of 28 in Cadiz
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Argantonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Argantonio

Address: Calle Argantonio 3, 11004 Cadiz, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Cadiz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cadiz
Price Range: $125 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Argantonio 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Expedia APAC and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Argantonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argantonio Hotel cádiz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing