We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (278)
Filter reviews
278 results
Traveller rating
80
101
66
20
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
80
101
66
20
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice promenade stayed for one night underground garage the river ships balcony travemunde furniture sauna
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 278 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2018

We had an overnight stay here arriving late evening with a ferry and continuing next day to Berlin. The hotel is easy to catch from the harbour and is just great. Clean, stylish and superior customer service. Definitively will stay here in the future. Breakfast (included in the room price) is just magnificent.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kimmo54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direktion-TRV, Manager at Maritim Strandhotel Travemunde, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2018

Dear Guest,
thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.
Sincerely,
Maritim Strandhotel Travemünde
Direktion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

High hotel by the sea. Nice promenade near the beach. Good rooms with good beds and aircondition. Not far from the ferry harbour to Finland and else. Great Scandinavian buffet breakfast with nice view to the see.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank iTo1t0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direktion-TRV, Manager at Maritim Strandhotel Travemunde, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Dear Guest,
thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.
Sincerely,
Maritim Strandhotel Travemünde
Direktion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018

I stayed for one night in May 2018 when travelling to Travemunde to photograph ships. I had a room with a balcony that overlooked the river, so it was good vantage point.

Many of the reviews say that the hotel is old, however to me this is part of the attraction. All the fixtures and fittings were probably the very same that were installed on the hotels construction in 1972. In essence this makes the hotel interesting and unusual, I liked it. It took me back to holidays that I vaguely remember from my childhood.

The room was large and clean with a comfortable bed. The breakfast was good and plenty of it and the staff were courteous and helpful.

This seemed to be a hotel that catered for older folk, but I think the majority of people in Travemunde tended to be so.

The room price was not particularly cheap, some may argue that the lack of reinvestment could have meant a few euros off the room. If the price had been EUR10 cheaper, I would have given this review 4 stars. Unfortunately, trip advisor do not offer a 3.5.

But generally, i liked it especially the 1970s theme, there are not many left now!

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jd_bake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direktion-TRV, Manager at Maritim Strandhotel Travemunde, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Dear Guest,

thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.
Sincerely,

Maritim Strandhotel Travemünde
Direktion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018 via mobile

On tripadvisor pictures, seems nice, Parking in renovation, no indication
Room not prepared for non allergic and room keeper does not understand my pain

Room very old, clean

hanging with dust and just an Italian buffet as a meal possible

Definitely not a 4 stars hotel

Date of stay: January 2018
Thank PatrickCroix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direktion-TRV, Manager at Maritim Strandhotel Travemunde, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

Dear Guest,
thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.
Sincerely,
Maritim Strandhotel Travemünde
Direktion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017 via mobile

We went to Maritim In Travemünde for the first time as a couple. The Hotel is well situated close to the Promenade. We had a room with view of the promenade, beach and sea. It also had a balcony with two chairs. The room we had was average size and the furniture is outdated. However, one had all amenities one would expect in a Maritim Hotel in this category.

The area is quiet although they are currently building high rise buildings beside the Maritim Strand Hotel.

There are two Restaurants, a Pub (Bierstube) and a full cocktail bar.

The personnel were professional and efficient from bierstube (Pub), Reception, bar and breakfast room.

The breakfast room overlooks the sea. The breakfast had both international and German cuisine. The breakfast was excellent. If one wanted sparkling wine was also available.

There is a large parking underground garage at a decent rate.

This hotel has a large indoor heated pool with daylight coming through the wall to wall windows out
Of glass. There are two saunas and a Spa.

We spent two nights at the Hotel and can only recommended. My only con is that the Hotel's rooms and bathrooms need to be renovated and decorated with modern furniture to make it an outstanding hotel.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 226maram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 June 2017

Dear Guest,
thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.
Sincerely,
Maritim Strandhotel Travemünde
Direktion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews