We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Motel One Leipzig-Augustusplatz
Nearby Hotels
NH Leipzig Messe(Leipzig)(Great Value!)
USD 77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 114
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
USD 79
USD 77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
USD 182
USD 138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 154/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 105
USD 69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 53
USD 32
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
USD 98
USD 95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 69
USD 66
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 108
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (215)
Filter reviews
215 results
Traveller rating
110
86
14
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
86
14
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfirst floorthe main shopping streetcity centreexcellent locationcomfortable bedsbreakfast roomnikolaikirchechurchloungeuniversityeurofurnituregermanytram
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 215 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2016

We had visited Leipzig in the past and wanted to explore further. Either of the Motel One locations are just a few minutes walk from the train station, so no cab is needed. We stayed at the Motel One on Ritterstrasse but the other hotel is just across the square so either one would be easy to access from the train.
Our check-in was quick and efficient and mostly in English (unless I tried my rather poor German). The rooms are adequate in size with a small bathroom and shower. We found no problems with the size of the bathroom. The rooms are air conditioned and since we were there in late August this was especially appreciated.
Some of the major attractions of Leipzig are within a few steps of the Motel One. The church just outside your door is Nikolaikirche (one where Bach worked). Exit the hotel lobby, take a left and walk 25 meters and you are on Grimmaische Strasse. Take a right, continue walking and you will soon pass Auerbachs Keller (fine restaurant and the place where Goethe has the Devil meet Faust). Continue on for another couple block and you will come to Thomaskirche, where Bach spent a major part of his 27 years in Leipzig.

Breakfast at Motel One is only Euro 9.50 and was well worth the money. A very modern eating room on the first floor (for American, you will think of this as the second floor).

We had planned to stay only 2 days in Leipzig but there is so much to see there and the hotel is so good, that we asked for and were able to stay a third night. All in all, very great quality and service for the price paid.

Room Tip: Rooms on Grimmaische Strasse overlook a shopping area and the University of Leipzig.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jörg F, Front Office Manager at Motel One Leipzig-Augustusplatz, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2016

Dear Motel One Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Jörg Freimuth - Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2016

If you have business with the University at Leipzig, there is probably no closer hotel than this one. Basic facilities in the room. Would have liked a table with a chair to do work in the room, but the lounge on the 1st floor does suffice. Nice breakfast area. Friendly staff. Walking distance to the main train station. Only cost 4.40 euros to go directly to the airport. Cost 45 euros by taxi.

Room Tip: Nice view of the church across the street
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank fredho66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jörg F, Front Office Manager at Motel One Leipzig-Augustusplatz, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

Sincerely,
Jörg Freimuth - Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

I was riding a motorbike from Zurich to Berlin.. And 900 km in one day was too much. So after 700 km I stopped in on Leipzig and needed a place to stay.

This place offered a clean and simple solution. Well priced. Car park too.. But need to pay for it. Decent breakfast included. Staff was friendly and located close to everything.., restaurants, bars, shops and Bach museum.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
Thank Edmund C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jörg F, Front Office Manager at Motel One Leipzig-Augustusplatz, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the great review of our hotel!
Glad you the kindness of our staff noticed so positive.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Jörg Freimuth - Guest Relations
and the Team Motel One Leipzig-Augustusplatz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2016

I have been a loyal Motel One customer for many years but this was my first stay in this second Motel One in Leipzig. It is actually located opposite Motel One- Nickolaikirche on the other side of the church and is therefore right in the heart of the old town and close to everything. Very pleasant staff on reception and at breakfast. The room is simple but has everything you need with a very comfortable bed and a good shower in the bathroom. Breakfast is a generous buffet. Free reliable WIFI everywhere in hotel. Motel One's formula is very successful for good reason and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Nsw123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jörg F, Front Office Manager at Motel One Leipzig-Augustusplatz, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Jörg Freimuth - Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2016 via mobile

Outside it is 5 degrees but no option to warm your room. 'You can close the window,' said the girl behind the reception. Problem was that the window was open, when we arrived. Ridiculous. She also spook hardly english. Its better to call this hotel 'motel minus eins.'

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Jos K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jörg F, Leiter Front Office at Motel One Leipzig-Augustusplatz, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2016

Dear Jos,

thank you for taking the time to give us your Feedback to our Hotel.
Unfortunately our Ventilation was set to cooling during your stay, because of the hot days Prior to your stay.
I am really sorry that my colleagues behaved so unprofessional.

With Kind regards
Florian Hoodt - Guest Relations


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews