We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveller rating
53
45
12
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
45
12
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small courtyard tram reception elevator city wifi
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 111 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Stayed in June'2013. Overall it was pleasant weather and relatively good part of Leipzig, surprisingly reminding some good aspects of 80s in USSR (which is difficult to explain).
Positives:
- Breakfast area and lobby is lovely and has its "small European courtyard" charm. Overall breakfast presence was an advantage, but breakfast is not "included" in price. Breakfast selection is surprisingly very good, just excellent for European hotels!
- Location is convenient and calm enough (i.e. nothing like central rail station); speed-train stop is just 5 mins walk and there is nice (but slightly expensive) Greek tavern in the same 3-5 mins from Hotel.
- Rooms interior was OK, while Bathroom was excellent (is this bigger than Double room itslef??).

Neutral:
Elevator is outdated and not so convenient, but it worked after all.
Staff is generally friendly, but not extra friendly; they made some mistaken with final bill, primarily because they were not diligent enough. However they helped to somehow workaround this mistaken by sending slightly more accurate document later via e-mail.

Negatives:
- Very small: Small corridors, VERY small rooms. Don't think that Double is for 2 persons, while Single is for single person. In fact Single is just for your pets, while Double is good enough for single traveler.
- As far as I remember they don't have air/conditioner anywhere in hotel. It's not very uncommon in Leipzig hotels, but June 2013 was very hot, so for some rooms it was terrible, for my room it was not good, but possible to survive if only spending night in the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vjunosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I stayed here for over a week in December while on a Business trip... This was a very nice hotel and quite reasonably priced. The staff were very friendly and accommodating which always makes or breaks a stay in an hotel for me. The room was clean and adequate for basic needs. About 3 kilometers from city-centre but well connected..

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MRaghu_BLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Lovely staff nice location tram line outside door ten min to city centre overall good hotel single room a little small but well equipped with good shower and comfy bed hotel prices good and not to expensive

Could do with tea and coffee making in the room

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dogslifeIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Although a bit loud the tram outside took 10 minutes to reach the center of town and a transportation day pass for 2 was very reasonable. The room was a decent size, bathroom and clean. Breakfast was filling and the staff was very courteous.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GailGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

My husband chose this hotel for me, it being the second choice after another hotel that had been recommended. He had had to attend the Universitaetsklinikum on Liebigstrasse and chose it on the basis that it wasn't too far away or too pricy (a big medical conference in the city had pushed hotel prices up that week). He found the reception staff pleasant to deal with in English. I travelled from Berlin by train and knew I wouldn't get to the hotel before 10pm, so had to phone up to confirm my room was still available. I risked speaking German (on the phone and on arrival) to the duty receptionist and it went well. I was a little surprised at the size of my room, which was smaller than I had expected and a little cramped. That said, there was adequate wardrobe space and the bathroom was a reasonable size. There was a modern flat-screen TV and a mini-bar, but no kettle or in-built safe. Apart from that, the room was clean and comfortable.
I liked the breakfast room and the different choices of food available: cereals, breads, eggs, sausage, bacon, cold meats, cheeses, jams, etc. The coffee was good and service was brisk. Each day there was a leaflet with information about the weather and guided tours in the area.
Two days after I arrived I collected my husband from the hospital. He was drained and weary after his experience there and needed his rest. Unfortunately, there was some sort of building or repair work going on in an adjoining building, so hammering and drilling noises kept him awake when he should have been napping during the day. Not the fault of the hotel.
Although the hotel is within reasonable walking distance of the Universitaetsklinikum if you're fit and healthy, it's in an out-of-the-way part of the city and you need to travel by tram to get to the city centre. You can get the Nr 4 on Riebeckstrasse itself or walk around the corner to Praegerstrasse to get the Nr 12. There are also buses in the area, but the busstops are a little too far for someone unsteady on their feet to walk to. This section of Riebeckstrasse is a little scruffy and there are not too many restaurants in the area. The nearest are an icecream parlour and a Lebanese (?) place directly opposite, and a Greek restaurant a little further away. Handy to the nearest bus and tram stop is a reasonable supermarket. A little further away on Praegerstrasse are an Indian restaurant which has the usual Indian dishes plus pizzas and noodles!
Check-out went smoothly and we were given a little teddybear as a souvenir. It took me a while to get the hang of opening the door with the electronic key - an unusual system involving holding the card up to a little knob, waiting for the lights to flash green and then twisting the knob. A small battering ram would have been easier!

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the inner courtyard and was probably quieter than the rooms overlooking the streets. You would certainly hear the trams passing at the front rooms and they start around 4.30am.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uranus7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews