We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely family hotel to stay”
Review of Parkhotel Diani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Parkhotel Diani
Ranked #26 of 103 Hotels in Leipzig
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2016

Recommend this lovely family hotel. Spacious rooms and bathroom overlooking garden greenery in the quiet leafy suburb of Leipzig, Breakfast is great value for money and very varied and generous. The breakfast room and restaurant/bar are well designed and comfortable. The staff are friendly and efficient.

We dined in the restaurant twice and the food served was excellent, no need to go out to a restaurant if you feel tired after walking all day!

Easy public transport (tram) access to city centre.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed here two nights. We arrived well before the check in time but the reception staff looked after our cases and let us use the facilities before catching the tram into the city centre.

We came back to the hotel in time to have an evening meal there. My room was spacious and comfortable with a good sized bathroom. The evening receptionist who I think did night duty was very helpful and when I asked for a blanket, I thought he would have to leave the cleaning staff a note. Instead he went to the relevant area and brought the blanket to my room himself a few minutes later. Breakfast was very good with lovely bread and there was some good scrambled egg. We hit the 'rush hour' on the first morning but this did not matter. Good, attentive and cheerful staff in the restaurant and at reception.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Farmhouse16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2016 via mobile

We checked in very late but we felt immediately welcome! Special thanks to herr Brenken! Dinner in the hotel restaurant was very good and reasonably priced. Rooms were super clean and spacious. Quiet environment. A hotel with a warm heart!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
Thank Lenebeen S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016

Stayed just for one night on our way to Salzburg so our review is based on that. Nice and spacy room. Good beds, slept well Quiet. The reseptionist did not speak English but we managed to understand each other due to some school German and Google. Friendly staff.

We loved the area outside where we had breakfast. Breakfast choices just ordinary and costs extra.

Nice with a safe garage when you come by car and have a lot of luggage.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 682Hilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2016

For some reason we had made reservations at this hotel which is at the outskirts of Leipzig. I suppose we did so because of the lake area nearby.

We had not been to Leipzig before. Had we been acquainted with the town beforehand, we would never have chosen to stay outside the center. Leipzig has a wonderful and well restored center, lots of cafes and shops, lots of outside dining, music everywhere. It is a lively and fun city to visit and not nearly as touristy as Dresden. We loved the place and plan to go back.

But this is about Parkhotel Diani. There is a whiff of the old GDR here. One example only: In hot and humid weather the heating is still on in the restaurant. The rooms are big, nice new bathrooms too, a very mini minibar, a TV set with about 20 channels, 18 of them German, mostly local. They do have one sports channel in English and BBC World News, but no CNN, no France 24-24 etc. It is too limited for what is supposed to be a 4 star hotel.

I said hot and humid weather: There is no air-conditioning. In sweltering heat you do not get much sleep here. There is also no protection against insects - no screens for the windows. You open them and invite whatever can fly inside.

Breakfast is OK but nothing to write home about either.

In front of the hotel is a busy road. Parking space at the hotel is limited, so many park outside along that road so at least the road has that advantage for the guests.

We could not quite understand how this place got a 4 star rating. 3 stars would be closer to the truth.

We would not go there again. We shall make a reservation at the city center next time.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Niels E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KKampa, Inhaber at Parkhotel Diani, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2016

Dear guest,
Thank you for your comment and your feedback. I guess you never visited the GDR and are not really aware of what makes a hotel 4-star. Thank you for your advice regarding the TV channels, we will look into adding more foreign channels. We are really sorry you do not appreciate being surrounded by large trees and green compared to being in the city centre where you can´t even open your windows. The traffic totally dies down in the evening and it is very quiet at night. Parking in our own garage is only € 5 per night compared to about € 15 in the inner city. At a lot of hotels there is no parking at all and you have to walk hundreds of meters. Nonetheless you can reach the city centre in only about 10 minutes by tram. Kai Kampa, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leipzig hotels
Hotel Berlin
#31 of 103 in Leipzig
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
H4 Hotel Leipzig
#28 of 103 in Leipzig
243 reviews
Zentrum-Südost
Days Inn Leipzig City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkhotel Diani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkhotel Diani

Address: Connewitzer Strasse 19, 04289, Leipzig, Saxony, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Saxony > Leipzig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 103 Hotels in Leipzig
Price Range: $86 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkhotel Diani 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an idyllic, green location, this 4-star hotel in Leipzig's Probstheida district is just a 2-minute drive from the Völkerschlachtdenkmal battle memorial (Monument to the Battle of the Nations) and a 10-minute drive from the Nikolaikirche church (Saint Nicholas' Church). In a charming Art Nouveau villa, the Parkhotel Diani provides peaceful, elegantly furnished rooms with free Wi-Fi internet access. The nearest tram stop is only a 2-minute walk away, providing service to the center of Leipzig and the main train station in about 10 minutes. While staying at the Diani, guests can relax in the hotel sauna, work out in the gym and pamper themselves with a massage or wellness treatment. Guests can also enjoy hearty Saxon specialties, themed buffets, and innovative dishes in the Parkhotel Diani's stylish restaurant. Guests can relax in the cozy Gute Stube lounge or the bright conservatory overlooking the garden. Probstheida is a great choice for travelers interested in history, live music and sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA and Hooroo Pty Ltd so you can book your Parkhotel Diani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing