We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveller rating
53
66
20
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
66
20
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews visit leipzig great hotel city centre one night receptionist tram amenities
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 147 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed here two nights. We arrived well before the check in time but the reception staff looked after our cases and let us use the facilities before catching the tram into the city centre.

We came back to the hotel in time to have an evening meal there. My room was spacious and comfortable with a good sized bathroom. The evening receptionist who I think did night duty was very helpful and when I asked for a blanket, I thought he would have to leave the cleaning staff a note. Instead he went to the relevant area and brought the blanket to my room himself a few minutes later. Breakfast was very good with lovely bread and there was some good scrambled egg. We hit the 'rush hour' on the first morning but this did not matter. Good, attentive and cheerful staff in the restaurant and at reception.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Farmhouse16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2016 via mobile

We checked in very late but we felt immediately welcome! Special thanks to herr Brenken! Dinner in the hotel restaurant was very good and reasonably priced. Rooms were super clean and spacious. Quiet environment. A hotel with a warm heart!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
Thank Lenebeen S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016

Stayed just for one night on our way to Salzburg so our review is based on that. Nice and spacy room. Good beds, slept well Quiet. The reseptionist did not speak English but we managed to understand each other due to some school German and Google. Friendly staff.

We loved the area outside where we had breakfast. Breakfast choices just ordinary and costs extra.

Nice with a safe garage when you come by car and have a lot of luggage.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 682Hilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2016

For some reason we had made reservations at this hotel which is at the outskirts of Leipzig. I suppose we did so because of the lake area nearby.

We had not been to Leipzig before. Had we been acquainted with the town beforehand, we would never have chosen to stay outside the center. Leipzig has a wonderful and well restored center, lots of cafes and shops, lots of outside dining, music everywhere. It is a lively and fun city to visit and not nearly as touristy as Dresden. We loved the place and plan to go back.

But this is about Parkhotel Diani. There is a whiff of the old GDR here. One example only: In hot and humid weather the heating is still on in the restaurant. The rooms are big, nice new bathrooms too, a very mini minibar, a TV set with about 20 channels, 18 of them German, mostly local. They do have one sports channel in English and BBC World News, but no CNN, no France 24-24 etc. It is too limited for what is supposed to be a 4 star hotel.

I said hot and humid weather: There is no air-conditioning. In sweltering heat you do not get much sleep here. There is also no protection against insects - no screens for the windows. You open them and invite whatever can fly inside.

Breakfast is OK but nothing to write home about either.

In front of the hotel is a busy road. Parking space at the hotel is limited, so many park outside along that road so at least the road has that advantage for the guests.

We could not quite understand how this place got a 4 star rating. 3 stars would be closer to the truth.

We would not go there again. We shall make a reservation at the city center next time.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Niels E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KKampa, Inhaber at Parkhotel Diani, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2016

Dear guest,
Thank you for your comment and your feedback. I guess you never visited the GDR and are not really aware of what makes a hotel 4-star. Thank you for your advice regarding the TV channels, we will look into adding more foreign channels. We are really sorry you do not appreciate being surrounded by large trees and green compared to being in the city centre where you can´t even open your windows. The traffic totally dies down in the evening and it is very quiet at night. Parking in our own garage is only € 5 per night compared to about € 15 in the inner city. At a lot of hotels there is no parking at all and you have to walk hundreds of meters. Nonetheless you can reach the city centre in only about 10 minutes by tram. Kai Kampa, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2016

Excellent family hotel, located a bit far from city center but not a problem if you have a car. Nice and large rooms (we were 4 people ) surrounded by trees, quiet at night.
Nice breakfast and option to have it in an open patio, a good bonus!

Room Tip: low floor, surrounded by trees.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GabyGlazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews