We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost a 5 star trip adviser review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Steigenberger Grandhotel Handelshof
Ranked #1 of 102 Hotels in Leipzig
Reviewed 17 May 2016 via mobile

This hotel almost got 5 stars on trip adviser- given the wonderful soft bed, beautiful and quiet rooms, fantastic shower, lovely cocktails, delicious burgers, good breakfast and exceptional staff.

The only two issues were:

1. the gym is useless as it only really has a handful of cardio machines and no weights or mats or non-cardio workout (there is one non-cardio machine but it's actually not very good).

2. Our late night room service arrived an hour after we ordered it and after about 4 conversations with the reception staff to find out the status of our order and when we kept being advised for a good 20 minutes that it was on its way. The staff were very apologetic but it doesn't make up for having to wait when you are in a 5 star hotel.

All in all, this is one of the most comfortable luxurious hotels we have stayed in and we look forward to our next visit.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Alizeh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anja Z, Personal Assistant to the General Manager at Steigenberger Grandhotel Handelshof, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2016

Dear Alizeh

We would like to thank you for your great review about your recent stay with us.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room, as well as our cocktails, burgers and breakfast.

In addition, we would like to thank you for the advice concerning the equipment in our fitness area, which we will certainly take into consideration once we are planning an upgrade here.

Please once again accept our sincere apologies for the delayed room service order in the evening. You can be assured that we will make it better the next time you are staying, as this was really an exception.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon and wish you all the best.

Kind Regards,



Anja Zech-Bohm
Personal Assistant to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

217 - 221 of 2,422 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2016

Already at the arrival we received an excellent treatment of the staff. The breakfast was abundant and we were very pleased with our visit to the bar. The position of the hotel was close to tourist attractions and a parking lot. The room had everything we wanted.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank carlericn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anja Z, Personal Assistant to the General Manager at Steigenberger Grandhotel Handelshof, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2016

Dear Guest

We were pleased to read you excellent review about your recent stay with us. It is great to hear that you truly enjoyed our breakfast and liked your visit at our bar.

I hope that we are able to welcome you back very soon.

Kind Regards,



Anja Zech-Bohm
Direktionsassistentin




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2016

Very comfortable hotel with top class rooms. The hotel included a fantastic restaurant. The service was perfect both at the hotel and the restaurant.
The hotel is located perfect in the city with walking distance to shops, museum etc.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank goeranj2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anja Z, Personal Assistant to the General Manager at Steigenberger Grandhotel Handelshof, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our restaurant Brasserie Le Grand and our fantstic location.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kind Regards,



Anja Zech-Bohm
Personal Assistant to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2016

Our visit to Leipzig only came about because our granddaughter is studying there; now I would recommend the city to everyone, and most certainly suggest they stay in this hotel.
As long as one has read Tripadvisor and knows to enter Bruhl into the Sat Nav it is not too difficult to find, and, once there, all troubles fall away.
The staff were, without exception, friendly, welcoming and helpful. The bedroom and bathroom did not disappoint in any way, and the pillows were perfect.
We did not take breakfast, not merely because of how expensive it was, but mainly because we could not do justice to such a spread and entertain our granddaughter to lunch and dinner daily.
The car parking was not cheap, but very efficient and the car was always there when we had asked for it.
We had to return unexpectedly for a third night, everyone was very helpful, and we even got our original room back, and this time the towels were a bit fluffier, which was pleasing.
The spa was very relaxing and we will definitely stay there again when we next visit Leipzig.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dale0042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anja Z, Personal Assistant to the General Manager at Steigenberger Grandhotel Handelshof, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2016

Dear Dale,

We would like to thank you for your great and detailed review about your recent stay with us.

We are very pleased to read your complementing words with regards to our members of staff, your room and the pillows. We are happy to hear that you truly enjoyed your time with us whilst visiting your granddaughter.

We look already forward to welcome you back to Leipzig and the Handelshof very soon. In the meantime we wish you all the best.

Kind Regards,



Anja Zech-Bohm
Personal Assistant to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2016

The location is perfect - right in the city center so it's easy to walk to shops and restaurants. Fabulous spa treatments are available with reservations! Nice bar area to either begin or end your evening. Staff very pleasant and helpful, plus they speak English. Renovated rooms. Valet parking.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank luckytotravel2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anja Z, Personal Assistant to the General Manager at Steigenberger Grandhotel Handelshof, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2016

Dear Guest,

We are pleased to read that you had a wonderful stay with us and that you truly enjoyed your time. Thank you as well for complementing our members of staff, our bar and of course our excellent location right in the city center of Leipzig.

Hopefully we are able to welcome you back very soon.

Kind Regards,



Anja Zech-Bohm
Personal Assistant to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leipzig hotels
pentahotel Leipzig
#4 of 102 in Leipzig
3,857 reviews
Leipzig Marriott Hotel
#10 of 102 in Leipzig
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Leipzig
#12 of 102 in Leipzig
1,001 reviews
Zentrum
Seaside Park Hotel Leipzig
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Grandhotel Handelshof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Grandhotel Handelshof

Address: Salzgaesschen 6, 04109, Leipzig, Saxony, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Saxony > Leipzig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 102 Hotels in Leipzig
Price Range: $170 - $536 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Grandhotel Handelshof 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Behind the historical facade of the former exhibition building in the city centre of Leipzig, the guest will find a truly modern luxury hotel, the Steigenberger Grandhotel Handelshof. The spacious rooms and suites have no comparison anywhere in Leipzig, as is the case with the large lobby bar, wine store and the Brasserie Le Grand. In addition to planning time for an extended stroll through the adjoining Grimmaische Strasse and Leipzig's pedestrian zone, the guest should be sure to reserve a couple of hours to be spend in the spacious fitness and wellness area. The function rooms on the conference floor are ideal for both international conferences and private occasions. Music lovers will appreciate the short distances to the concert halls of the city such as the Gewandhaus, Leipzig's concert hall, the opera house or St. Thomas Church. Also other landmarks and famous places of interest in and around the town hall square and the Naschmarkt can be reached easily on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Steigenberger Grandhotel Handelshof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing