We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (378)
Filter reviews
378 results
Traveller rating
35
107
106
55
75
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
107
106
55
75
Show reviews that mention
All reviews within sight big windows the main train station old town mini bar thomas church rathaus zoo
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 378 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2017 via mobile

The hotel is in a good location but that's the only good thing I can say about it. The decor was horrifying - it was dated & very tired. The beds were not comfortable and the pillows thin and lumpy. The bath/shower had a hand held shower which is at knee level, so you can't stand under the water to wash your hair with both hands. The breakfast was TERRIBLE. The coffee smelt like old people and was undrinkable. The variety of food was lacking and what was available was disgusting. I would not recommend this hotel, unfortunately.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank kathp73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2016

It was just okay. Clean. Located across the Hauptbanhof, but the road is extremely wide, you'll need to use the underpass or better yet, a taxi. Electric kettle. Refrigerator with free refreshments inside. Wifi access.
On the downside, hotel and room had no character. Didn't look or feel inviting. I disliked the layout of the hotel reception leading to the elevator. Bad energy flow. Unfriendly looking hallways. Window on was next to the road, so the street noise was audible from the first floor. Breakfast was not good either. Hotel staff was ignorant with directions. I was given directions by the receptionist to the wrong museum, I found out later. Costly mistake. Taxi dropped us off to the place. We found out that museum was closed and far away from a taxi stands. Lost. Scary experience for a first timer. A waste of time and effort. Convenient place to stay but forgettable. I'm hoping that the other hotels have better service than this.

Room Tip: Pick a higher floor.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank McGaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2016 via mobile

We spent four nights in this hotel with German friends while visiting the Christmas markets. Hotel is very central and the rooms were large, airy and spotless. Staff friendly and breakfast was more than adequate.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
Thank kinfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

We were 3 British girls staying in Leipzig for the weekend. We arrived at the hotel around 10pm on a Friday night - to be told by the receptionist that there was 'a problem' and they had no room for us. He told us to go to the hotel across the road. But when we got there the other hotel said that this was the first they were hearing of it! The hotel stressed that they had absolutely no relationship with the Royal International and didn't know why they'd sent us to them. There had been no communication from the Royal International and no room had been organised. We were lucky that they happened to have 2 rooms free. Leipzig was very busy that weekend. A frantic look on hotel booking websites showed me that no other city centre hotel had ANY rooms free that night.

We were three young women alone in a city late at night, close to having nowhere to sleep, and the Royal International couldn't care less. They didn't even offer to pay for our stay at the other hotel -we had to. This all took several hours to sort out, spoiling our Friday night plans. We are so thankful to the other hotel who went above and beyond, making phone calls to the Royal International on our behalf.

We returned to the Royal International the following morning and finally, our room was ready. But we had no apology or explanation. It's clear to us that they overbooked and gave our triple room to someone else - even though we booked 3 months in advance. The room we were given stank of smoke and they didn't clean it once while we were there (even though we left a sign on the door asking them to).

To add insult to injury, when we came to check out we had to have an argument with the receptionist over how much we should pay. Obviously we didn't want to pay for 3 nights at the Royal International as well as €200+ from our night at the other hotel. We repeatedly asked to speak to the manager (apparently Mr Khalil) but were told he wasn't there and could not be contacted on the phone. Finally the receptionist agreed that we should only pay for 2 nights at the Royal International (given we'd already paid for 2 night at the other hotel) minus €50 to make up for the stress and inconvenience of it all. But when we got home we found that they have charged us twice! We are disputing this.

Unbelievable behaviour. The worst hotel experience I have ever had. And it's not even a nice hotel, very dated decor, like something out of the 90s.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
3  Thank Clizabeth85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

First, the positives. Our room was huge and gave us lots of space. The hotel's location was great. And the housekeeping staff were outstanding.

So why the low score? Sadly, the negatives far outweighed the positives. There were so many of them I feel the need to list them as points. The two key themes were a lack of facilities and poor service.

1. Unfriendly welcome on check in - dingy, small front reception. Had our details wrong.
2. Asked for an iron and ironing board. Thrice. Finally had to go down to reception and ask them to fetch me one while I waited. Got the iron but the ironing board was too much of an ask.
3. Booked a room with kitchenette. When we got there the kitchenette wasn't working. Asked three people over three days and got three different responses. Fourth response - oh, it hasn't been installed - do you want it? Was finally begrudgingly sorted on day 4 of our stay. Given this is why we booked this room in the first place, this was infuriating.
4. However no cooking utensils or cutlery was provided rendering it useless. We almost moved out at this point but had paid in advance.
5. Our room was supposed to come with a 'coffee/tea maker'. Turns out this was a kettle.
6. Our room was supposed to come with 'climate control'. Turns out this was opening the windows as there were no fans, no aircon, and it was 34 degrees all week. It was horribly unpleasant.
7. Breakfast wasn't of the quality one would expect at a four star hotel. To be fair, nothing was.

All in all what should have been a relaxing family holiday was unnecessarily stressful. This is the worst 4* hotel we have ever stayed in. Needless to say we won't be coming back.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Indomeitable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews