We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying near Wagner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal International Leipzig
Ranked #80 of 102 Hotels in Leipzig
Reviewed 11 February 2017

hotel is ideally situated by Richard Wagner Strasse and only a stone's throw away from the central station Leipzig Hauptbahnhof. Bedrooms have good spacious bathrooms but for single rooms beds could do with being a little bigger. Rooms are cleaned in a good way and are well heated . Service at breakfast time is good choice exists for breakfast but scrambled eggs, sausages and rashers/bacon strips were almost cold. Quality of bread served was excellent. Reception desk was very helpful in planning how to get to different museums or places of interest and using a tagging system were able to keep the bags at the reception area for the few hours after checking out and before heading to train station and/or airport.

Room Tip: rooms facing the side street adjoining Richard Wagner Strasse are that little bit quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Patrick / Joann... L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2017 via mobile

The hotel is in a good location but that's the only good thing I can say about it. The decor was horrifying - it was dated & very tired. The beds were not comfortable and the pillows thin and lumpy. The bath/shower had a hand held shower which is at knee level, so you can't stand under the water to wash your hair with both hands. The breakfast was TERRIBLE. The coffee smelt like old people and was undrinkable. The variety of food was lacking and what was available was disgusting. I would not recommend this hotel, unfortunately.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank kathp73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2016

It was just okay. Clean. Located across the Hauptbanhof, but the road is extremely wide, you'll need to use the underpass or better yet, a taxi. Electric kettle. Refrigerator with free refreshments inside. Wifi access.
On the downside, hotel and room had no character. Didn't look or feel inviting. I disliked the layout of the hotel reception leading to the elevator. Bad energy flow. Unfriendly looking hallways. Window on was next to the road, so the street noise was audible from the first floor. Breakfast was not good either. Hotel staff was ignorant with directions. I was given directions by the receptionist to the wrong museum, I found out later. Costly mistake. Taxi dropped us off to the place. We found out that museum was closed and far away from a taxi stands. Lost. Scary experience for a first timer. A waste of time and effort. Convenient place to stay but forgettable. I'm hoping that the other hotels have better service than this.

Room Tip: Pick a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank McGaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2016 via mobile

We spent four nights in this hotel with German friends while visiting the Christmas markets. Hotel is very central and the rooms were large, airy and spotless. Staff friendly and breakfast was more than adequate.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
Thank kinfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

We were 3 British girls staying in Leipzig for the weekend. We arrived at the hotel around 10pm on a Friday night - to be told by the receptionist that there was 'a problem' and they had no room for us. He told us to go to the hotel across the road. But when we got there the other hotel said that this was the first they were hearing of it! The hotel stressed that they had absolutely no relationship with the Royal International and didn't know why they'd sent us to them. There had been no communication from the Royal International and no room had been organised. We were lucky that they happened to have 2 rooms free. Leipzig was very busy that weekend. A frantic look on hotel booking websites showed me that no other city centre hotel had ANY rooms free that night.

We were three young women alone in a city late at night, close to having nowhere to sleep, and the Royal International couldn't care less. They didn't even offer to pay for our stay at the other hotel -we had to. This all took several hours to sort out, spoiling our Friday night plans. We are so thankful to the other hotel who went above and beyond, making phone calls to the Royal International on our behalf.

We returned to the Royal International the following morning and finally, our room was ready. But we had no apology or explanation. It's clear to us that they overbooked and gave our triple room to someone else - even though we booked 3 months in advance. The room we were given stank of smoke and they didn't clean it once while we were there (even though we left a sign on the door asking them to).

To add insult to injury, when we came to check out we had to have an argument with the receptionist over how much we should pay. Obviously we didn't want to pay for 3 nights at the Royal International as well as €200+ from our night at the other hotel. We repeatedly asked to speak to the manager (apparently Mr Khalil) but were told he wasn't there and could not be contacted on the phone. Finally the receptionist agreed that we should only pay for 2 nights at the Royal International (given we'd already paid for 2 night at the other hotel) minus €50 to make up for the stress and inconvenience of it all. But when we got home we found that they have charged us twice! We are disputing this.

Unbelievable behaviour. The worst hotel experience I have ever had. And it's not even a nice hotel, very dated decor, like something out of the 90s.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Clizabeth85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leipzig hotels
IntercityHotel Leipzig
#14 of 102 in Leipzig
301 reviews
Leipzig Marriott Hotel
#11 of 102 in Leipzig
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zentrum
Seaside Park Hotel Leipzig
Mercure Hotel Art Leipzig
#20 of 102 in Leipzig
397 reviews
Zentrum
Ibis Leipzig City
Ibis Leipzig City
#10 of 102 in Leipzig
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal International Leipzig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal International Leipzig

Address: Richard-Wagner-Str. 10, 04109, Leipzig, Saxony, Germany
Region: Germany > Saxony > Leipzig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Leipzig
Price Range: $85 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal International Leipzig 4*
Number of rooms: 305
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with lastminute.com.au, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal International Leipzig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal International Leipzig Hotel Leipzig
Royal International Hotel Leipzig

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing