We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for School excursions not Travellers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
A&O Dresden Hauptbahnhof
Greystanes, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great for School excursions not Travellers”
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Stayed here for the price, what a mistake. The place was full of German schoolchildren on excursions who played bang on the door games at 2 a.m. in the morning and just filled the place. Room was cheap but beds were low and hard. Bathroom was Tiny. this is not the place for older travellers and anyone who wants a good nights sleep and should be advertised this way. Only plus is the Sky Bar on the roof. Great views , good drinks prices, nice ambience ...when the kinder weren't there.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joolsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    109
    94
    42
    27
See reviews for
52
78
69
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
twiggina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2010

I travelled with my friends to Dresden in the middle of June and we were looking for a cheap place to sleep so we choose A&O Hostels. We have been to many other A&O and we had just one bad experience (in Munich) so we decided to stay in this chain of hostels again.

We paid 12 EUR per night for a room with 6 beds (plus 3 EUR for sheets) and we also bought a breakfast for 4 EUR. The rooms are big enough and have their own bathroom. Toilet and shower are separated which is great. Unfortunately our room was situated in the 1st floor and the windows just next to the reception so we heard a lot of noise from outside where people were gathering - and as the weather was hot we couldn't close the windows.

The location is not bad, it's about 5 minutes walking from the central station and you need about 20 minutes to reach the centre. But if you want to enjoy the Neustadt which is the centre of night life then it takes a long time if you walk it.

The hostel was very clean and the stuff very helpful. Check-in was very quick and they have free maps of the city at the reception. We also purchased tickets for a sightseeing tours with 6 EUR discount. I recommend to buy the breakfast! It's really cheap and they have everything - cereals, breads, salads, ham and cheese, jam, eggs...

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twiggina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2010

This is a very good hotel from cheapest. Small rooms are very clean and comfortable. Hotel is near the historical center and main railway station. Also, it was very pleasant that there is a bicycle parking near the entrance. Open terrace on the top of the building was also very intriguing. Very good place for students and young active people.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank e_svidritskiy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2010

The hostel service and rooms are quite basic, but it has every essential thing in it. Everything is working and clean, and the rooms are large, which makes it a comfortable site, especially if (quite probably) you spend the whole day in the city center. It is a long walk, anyway, but the tram is relatively close. The hostel is housed in a huge apartments block with neverending hallways that seem taken from "the shining", but anyway that's the opressive feeling that Iget from these communist-era buildings, so it may be an experience in itself!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ah-chuen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dresden hotels
0.9 km away
Ibis Dresden Bastei
Ibis Dresden Bastei
#30 of 118 in Dresden
739 reviews
0.8 km away
IntercityHotel Dresden
IntercityHotel Dresden
#23 of 118 in Dresden
486 reviews
1.6 km away
Ibis Budget Dresden City
Ibis Budget Dresden City
#14 of 118 in Dresden
1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Pullman Dresden Newa
Pullman Dresden Newa
#17 of 118 in Dresden
1,425 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Kipping
Hotel Kipping
#40 of 118 in Dresden
149 reviews
1.3 km away
NH Collection Dresden Altmarkt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A&O Dresden Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A&O Dresden Hauptbahnhof

Property: A&O Dresden Hauptbahnhof
Address: Strehlener Str. 10, 01069 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Region: Germany > Saxony > Dresden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Dresden
Price range (per night): $54 - $157
Hotel Class:2 star — A&O Dresden Hauptbahnhof 2*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your A&O Dresden Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing