We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“(Not a) Family room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Dresden City Centre
Ranked #22 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
Reviewed 10 August 2017

We stayed here for 3 nights having booked a family room. That means they fold out the sleeping couch in an already rather small room. As a result we had to go on some sort of climbing adventure over our bags every time we wanted to 'move' around the room.

Quality of the mattresses was very very poor and beds were very not big to begin with. We stayed in the room with our teens (indicated when we booked) and but the sleeping couch was so small and lumpy they couldn't even ly on it without a hip or a shoulder outside of the bed. We should have gone with a regular double room instead of the family room.

Wifi in the room was close to non-existent. Even for an Express hotel the breakfast buffet had a quite limited offering.

Any upsides? The location of this hotel is great, just a few minutes away form the heart of Dresden and for rainy days there's a decent shopping centre just across the road. They have a small but wel secured parking garage. Staff is friendly (but still a bit formal as this is Germany). They rent out some nice bikes (make sure you have cash as you can't pay for them by card for some reason).

Room Tip: Look like there's going to be construction of a new apartment building coming up at the rear of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fons v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Service_DD, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dresden City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Dear Fons,
Thank you for your review.
Please be aware that we only sell rooms 18-20 m² where we gladly set up the extra bed for free for your children. It may be then quite tight for a family of four. You are always welcome to book an extra room for your stay so your experience is brightend.
We know about the weak WiFi and are already working on a solution.
We’re looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards,
Linda Hanicke
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (964)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 964 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

The hotel lies at the most convenient location ever we have stayed. The conditions of hotel was enough for staying a few days, but there are some issues : a part of curtain was broken, one side of shower head too, and the bed was too soft and it supplied a but sleeping quality. In my opinion the first two problems should be noticed by hotel staff without comments from hotel guests. Therefore I wish they care more about the condition of rooms.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank all-k887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Service_DD, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dresden City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear 887aik,
thank you for your review to your stay. We are happy about any feedback from our guests. Only in this way are we in a position to improve.
We hoped that you had a good stay and would be please if you will book us next time again if you are in dresden.
Kind regards
Linda Hanicke
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

Located centrally. Private garage for our motorcycle. Standard Holiday Inn franchise, clean and fresh. Helpful staff although understaffed. AC did not work. Wifi did not work in the room. Good breakfast buffet.
Will not return.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stefan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Service_DD, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dresden City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear Stefan,
thank you for your review to your stay. We are happy about any feedback from our guests. Only in this way are we in a position to improve.
We hoped that you had a good stay and would be please if you will book us next time again if you are in dresden.
Kind regards
Linda Hanicke
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

We reserved 2 rooms for our familly. One with double bed and the other with 2 singles beds. I really dont understand why they did not gave us connected rooms... Then the WIFI is just working in the bathroom in room 423. No network at all in all the other space of the room. I feel like I was back in 2009. So if you are a freelance worker likeme, be aware that the internet connection is really poor on level 4. Kids were in an other room on same level. They had a connection but a very low signal.

I called the front desk and they told me that they cant do nothing. So they know about those dead wifi zone. They offered me to change bedroom only if we did not use the bathroom yet... Oh well... That was really ewwww ackward.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank MissPixelsdotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Service_DD, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dresden City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear MissPixelsdotcom,
We’re sorry to read that your stay with us was dissatisfactory.
We only have few rooms with connecting doors. We can prevent your complaint by letting us know before arrival to book rooms with connecting doors.
We are already working on the WiFi-connection to get stronger. We’d be glad to show you that we can do better in case you’d be so kind to give us a second chance.
Best regards, Linda Hanicke
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

We were a family 2+2 in july 2017. Very small room for a family. Wi-fi does not work in the room(only in the lobby). The ac was not so good: when it was 30°‏C outside and it was also very hot in the room . Staff very friendly.Good location

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Marat-Ak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Service_DD, Guest Service Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Dresden City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear Marat-Ak,
Thank you for taking the time to evaluate your stay with us. Please note that we only sell double rooms (18-20 m²), which we gladly charge for the children free of charge.
This can sometimes be cramped for a large family.
You can book a second room.
Also we regret your staffy room. We had in this days some issues with our ACs in the rooms at all, and we are very sorry for that.
We hope you had a great time and visit us again soon.
Greetings from Dresden
Anne Penz
Guest Service Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dresden hotels
IntercityHotel Dresden
#20 of 118 in Dresden
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Dresden Neustadt
#12 of 118 in Dresden
869 reviews
AZIMUT Hotel Dresden
#25 of 118 in Dresden
475 reviews
Innere Altstadt
Star Inn Hotel Premium Dresden im Haus Altmarkt, by Quality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Dresden City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Dresden City Centre

Address: Dr.-Kuelz-Ring 15A, 01067 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Saxony > Dresden > Innere Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Dresden
#14 Business Hotel in Dresden
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dresden
Price Range: $99 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Dresden City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 218
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, IHG, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Dresden City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Dresden City Centre Hotel Dresden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing