We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worse than terrible”
Review of Hotel Niggemann

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Niggemann
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Solingen
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Spent two nights here in August while attending a family wedding. Herr and Frau Niggeman were anything but pleasant.(They make Basil Faulty look like a veritable saint) And why do they call this a hotel when it does n't offer any of the services of a normal hotel?. Everything closes at 6pm so if you think you can get a meal or a drink after that ...forget it. German efficiency have completely eluded this pair. They are not able to cope with large numbers and got the bills mixed up.accusing some guests of not paying. While the breakfast was adequate we did have to ask them to replenish the juices and coffee. The staff were extremely rude.....they do not understand the word smile, but then again who would if you had to work for this pair... Overall this place is overpriced and old fashioned and I would advise anyone travelling to this area to avoid it like the plague.....That said we had a wonderful time in Germany. The staff at the Castle,(magnificent) The Waffle House ( great food and ambiance), the little cafe at the bottom of the hill(really sweet and pleasant owner) and the marvelous staff and service and food at the Tri Linden restaurant more than made up for the Niggeman's House of Horrors.......we can laugh now but it was n't funny at the time. Dusseldorf is a wonderful city and well worth a visit. We stayed in the Mercure which we would highly recommend but that's for another review day............

Room Tip: Don't go near this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2012

Old, overpriced and badly run hotel that benefits solely from its picturesque location. Rudest service I've ever encountered anywhere, and management clearly can't cope with a full house.

During my 3-day stay at Niggemann's, one of my co-travelers, upon making a remark about his room, was told that this was the only hotel in a 10-mile radius and that he could leave if he wanted to (this was a lie incidentally as there is the lovely Hotel Laber just across the road), Another person travelling with me was thrown out of her room at 10am on Sunday morning and was accused of not having paid (again, not true- staff had just mixed up their invoices).

The 70s-style furniture and lacklustre breakfast didn't exactly help to make up for the extreme rudeness of the staff either.

I would recommend anyone traveling in this area to avoid Niggemann like the plague.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frequent T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

I stayed here after a very tiring international journey and a long day. The check-in was smooth and the room was very comfortable. There was a snowstorm outside, and the restaurant was deserted. There was only one lady on duty in the entire hotel and restaurant.
I am a fussy vegetarian and do not like cheese, and had undergone stomach surgery a few months ago, so I was on a very restrictive diet. I asked for dinner and explained my predicament, and waited with trepidation for my food. To my great surprise, the young lady made an absolutely delicious Ratatouille.
I had a very comfortable night and was ready to embark on the next leg of my journey the next morning.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarshwardhanGupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Bigs1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Solingen hotels
9.8 km away
Hotel Grafrather Hof
Hotel Grafrather Hof
#1 of 9 in Solingen
106 reviews
11.1 km away
Kempe Komfortplus Hotel Solingen
7 km away
H+ Hotel Solingen City Centre B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 km away
Hotel Solinger Hof
Hotel Solinger Hof
#7 of 9 in Solingen
5 reviews
10 km away
Hotel Trafohaus
Hotel Trafohaus
#3 of 9 in Solingen
17 reviews
6.4 km away
No photo provided
Hotel Goldener Lowe
#4 of 10 in Solingen
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Niggemann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Niggemann

Address: Wermelskirchener Str. 22-24, 42659 Solingen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Solingen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Solingen
Price Range: $92 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Niggemann 3*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Niggemann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing