We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overrated and overpriced!”
Review of Hotel Kaiserhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Kaiserhof
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Muenster
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overrated and overpriced!”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

What a disappointment this hotel was! The rooms (we took the deluxe that supposedly had significantly more space than the standard), was as tiny as a shoebox, if one sat a the little desk the second person could not walk around the bed. The view was onto the air conditioners and the parking lot in the back of the hotel, the internet was working 2 minutes then you had to reconnect (I would have rather payed and have it work!). The bathroom was new and nice, and the breakfast (not included) was very good. Ironically, each one of our friends we met in Muenster told us, that they would never recommend this hotel, I wish I would have asked them before!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaiserhofMS, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Kaiserhof, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Thank you very much for your honest comment! We are very sorry that you were disappointed. We checked your reservation immediately. You booked a superior room, which has an average size of 17sqm instead of the deluxe room which has a size of approximately 25sqm. Our current booking engine may be a bit confusing therefore we will have a better booking engine on our homepage by May 1st, where it will be clear to see which room you choose during your booking. Our hotel is located in the center of Münster. Our rooms face a front street with the main train station or the back with the parking lot. Unfortunately a few rooms have a direct look onto the air conditioners. We are also sorry to hear that you had problems with the internet. Did you tell the front office staff? We would have liked to help immediately. Our hotel is rated one of the best hotels in most internet review communities and recommended by most former guests. We are sorry to hear that your friends would not recommend us. We hope you give us another chance and we will see you again in the Hotel Kaiserhof Münster.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    72
    32
    5
    3
See reviews for
10
38
12
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed here to explore Muenster and meet family. With our son regularly sleeping at 6.30pm we have to eat in the hotels we stay at so we chose this hotel not only for the quality of the rooms but also the excellent restaurant. We were not disappointed. The food was of an exceptionally high standard and the service equally so.
The hotel room was comfortable, clean and spacious. The hotel also has a lovely little bar. This should be your first choice hotel in Muenster for business or family travel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tune-up
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaiserhofMS, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Kaiserhof, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
Thank you very much for your comment! Thank you for recommending our restaurants. Have you been in both of our restaurants - the Gabriel´s...im Kaiserhof and Gourmet 1895? When you come back we recommend to also visit our beautiful spa area. We are looking forward to welcoming you at Hotel Kaiserhof Münster again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muenster, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

If you are looking for a good hotel for a quick business trip or just a sleep over, this should be your choice in Munster. Located right outside the train station, Kaiserhof is very decent, with free Internet, nice, but rather small rooms and good breakfast. Also, quiet, given the location.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zupoldek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaiserhofMS, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Kaiserhof, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback. Did you also visit our two restaurants or our 500sqm spa? Maybe next time?! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
384 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2010

I stayed at the Kaiserhof for just two nights, as I was in town for a wedding, but I really have only good things to say about this hotel. The exterior is misleadingly bland, but once inside we were welcomed by very kind and helpful staff and were very pleased with our very well sized rooms, which included a flat screen TV, minibar, large and clean bathroom(!), and internet access. The location of the hotel is near the Bahnhof(Trainstation) so I was expecting it to be loud and a little shabby, but it was nothing of the sort. It was so close to the city center and we walked everywhere. I lived in Muenster for a little while when i was younger and can highly recommend taking a day to stroll through the city. And while you're there, stay in this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calypso007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaiserhofMS, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Kaiserhof, responded to this review, 26 January 2011
Thank you for your recommendation! Our façade does not reflect what you will see inside, but so it ist a greater surprise! We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
104 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2010

We stayed 1 night in Xmas week, and booked a weekend rate luxury room of 144 euro. Sadly breakfast is not included and comes at 16 euro pp, so let's say 176 euro breakfast included is not cheap, even for a 4star hotel.
At this price I was not really impressed by the luxury room we booked. It looks nicer on the website then it is, though it has all amenities you can expect (flat screen, separate douche and bath-tub in the bathroom, slippers and bathrobes).
We asked for a room with kingsize bed but got a 2beds room.
The website mentions flowers, fresh fruits and a bottle of champagne in the room, but none of this was present.

The hotel is an old and nicely revamped building facing the railway station, it has private parking space in the backyard. From the hotel you walk to the old city center of Munster in 5 minutes. Staff is welcoming. Breakfast was served buffet-style in the very fancy restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jglaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaiserhofMS, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Kaiserhof, responded to this review, 26 January 2011
Thank you for your comment! We are sorry that our website was misleading. You can book your overnight stay and then choose additional items such as breakfast, flowers, fruit baskets and champagne (extra costs). We have changed the website a little bit, so that it is not misleading anymore. As for the price we can only say that you were a guest in the high season, which is priced higher than the rest of the year. Try our new early bird rate to save some money next time! We hope to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Muenster hotels
0.4 km away
H4 Hotel Muenster City Center
2.0 km away
Movenpick Hotel Muenster
0.4 km away
Ibis Muenster City
Ibis Muenster City
#7 of 49 in Muenster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Stadthotel Munster
Stadthotel Munster
#6 of 49 in Muenster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.4 km away
Mauritzhof Hotel Muenster
Mauritzhof Hotel Muenster
#3 of 49 in Muenster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
2.7 km away
Factory Hotel
Factory Hotel
#2 of 49 in Muenster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kaiserhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kaiserhof

Property: Hotel Kaiserhof
Address: Bahnhofstr. 14, 48143 Muenster, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Muenster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Muenster
Price range (per night): $157 - $341
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Kaiserhof 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1895 our guests connect the family-run superior hotel Kaiserhof Muenster with hospitality, quality and comfort. Its ideal location opposite the main train station, within walking distance to all the sights and shopping streets is as well an advantage as the extensive facilities. Beside 100 cozy rooms, there are five individual suites. The entire house is air-conditioned. In the room you can set the indoor climate to your liking. Guests will be welcomed in our house not only with a smile at the front desk, but also with a free bottle of mineral water in every room. Also free of charge are the Wi-Fi, Pay-TV, the valet parking service on our car park with CCTV and for overnight guests the entrance to our 500sqm wellness-oasis "Kaiserhof Beauty & Spa". Let yourself be pampered in our Restaurants: the "Gabriel's" as well as the currently only Guide Michelin star-rated restaurant in Muenster, the "Gourmet 1895" (one star). A bar and a library with fireplace invite you to relax or to lively discussions. For private and business occasions eight individual meeting rooms for up to 140 persons are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, Priceline, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Kaiserhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing