We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (228)
Filter reviews
228 results
Traveller rating
96
91
27
11
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
91
27
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main train station interesting decor family room loved this hotel breakfast was amazing old town min walk friendly hotel a great stay public transport double bed recommend this hotel punk reception euro carpet toiletries
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 228 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

One of the coolest hotels I have stayed in for years. The eclectic decor is fascinating! The rooms are superbly put together and very comfortable. The bar and barman Nejo is a delight. Highly recommend!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

Rather than just to pass time, it's worth saying just how spectacular this hotel is, particularly since moving on with our travels we've been brought back down to earth. We arrived and were allocated a theatre backstage themed room. Scores of tasteful details, from the lights to the decorations, played to a very clever and very entertaining theme. The bed was fresh, very comfortable and the room overall superbly spacious. Downstairs, for once in a hotel bar it was lively and decked out comfortably with lots of low density space, seats and sofas. A great vibe. The smoking area is particularly cleverly part of the bar yet in compliance with being outside at the same time, right in the middle of the ground floor. It was easy to visit the bars and nightlife of Dusseldorf and get to the station in the morning. Breakfast was excellent with all the German favourites such as meats, cheeses, hot items and sparking wine should that take your fancy. In summary, the best hotel I've stayed in for years and tremendous value for money. I can't speak for all the rooms naturally, but anyone visiting who was fortunate enough to have our experience would be in for a treat.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank pmccarthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

We had a nice weekend stay in hotel friends. The bed was very nice and soft. The room and the bathroom was very clean.
Negative points: it was quite warm in the room, there was no airco and even though there was a tiny fan available in the room, we couldn't get the temperature down.
Also there is no minibar but that was as expected.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Thypo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017

Found this hotel by chance after trawling the internet looking for a good price due to japan day, after booking i realised they did themed rooms, i emailed the hotel, i spoke to Domonic who explained for a small fee i could up grade, we chose the 'Harry Potter' room which was fantastic, very classy but in true hogwarts style. The hotel itself is a short walk of around 5 minutes from the main station, very easy to find, it is approx around 15-20 minutes from the Aldstadt, very safe in the evening, i strolled back around 2am and felt fine.

The hotel decor downstairs near reception was really cool, especially the bar area and coffee room.

The bathrooms were great, my wife was amazing when she found a pair of straighteners, perfect for any lady.

we will defiantly be back and hopefully experience another room

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bpemberton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2017

Kitsch, quirky design mixed with touches of quality, this hotel is definitely anything but ordinary. Our room had a glam-rock, punk theme complete with a mouth-shaped phone (the receiver being an extended tongue), guitar-shaped cushion and wet-look silver club chair, which, while not exactly our taste, made an interesting change to the standard hotel room decor familiar to many hotel chains. The decor may have been old-school but the basics were spot-on: a really big, comfy bed (we had the best night's sleep here), a powerful shower and quality bathroom fittings, gorgeous toiletries, a good tea-tray and haribo sweets on our pillows! The breakfast was good, with a great selection of cereals (chocolate muesli = delicious) and proper, fresh juice, not the sickly cheap stuff you normally get. The social areas are also fabulously decorated in the same quirky style, including a mini Sports Hall from the 70s including crash mats, climbing ropes and a vaulting horse (fun even without drinking). We would have loved to have experienced the bar in full Friday night swing but sadly we stayed on a Monday night and we think we were possibly the only guests in the hotel which was a shame! Whilst it's a pretty stylish place, it's not pretentious or intimidating and seemed relaxed and welcoming. The hotel is a 10 minute stroll from the main train station, but in a way that was our only bug-bear with this hotel: the location, whilst handy for travelling, was a bit seedy and in a rundown part of town. That said it's easy enough to get to the Altstadt and the riverside on public transport. But I probably wouldn't chance walking it, on my own...

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for one of the themed rooms, it's worth it!
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank emily b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews