We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (362)
Filter reviews
362 results
Traveller rating
134
161
45
15
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
134
161
45
15
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old town gave us a map minute walk perfect base rooms were cleaned family room lovely park metro line beds were comfortable weekend trip comfortable stay an excellent hotel breakfast buffet is altstadt kaiserstrasse christmas city
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 362 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Anybody who attends Prowein knows that it is literally impossible to find decent hotels that do not cost a fortune during the wine fair Prowein. Well, I managed to get a pretty good deal at this 3 star hotel. The location is quite central (walking distance to the old city center) and very close to the metro line, which takes you directly to the Exhibition grounds. The service was also decent, as was the breakfast. The room was spacious but a little dated, but then again, it is a 3 star hotel! I would however, stay elsewhere during other periods of the year, but all in all, it was a good, comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Magenta33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

We visited during the japfest weekend so was expecting chaos but couldn't have been more wrong, the hotel was great the rooms were huge and very comfortable! Was about 10-15 min walk from Altstadt! If your after a cheap, comfortable base for a weekend away then look no further!!!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank jimmysaint999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

This hotel is an ideal base for visiting Düsseldorf. It was clean and welcoming, the staff were all friendly and helpful and the rooms were spacious and fresh. The bathroom was one of the biggest and best I've ever had in a hotel. The location was close to the tram links and only around fifteen minutes walk from the riverside or the old town. It also meant being able to stroll through a lovely park along the route, full of people and wildlife enjoying the sun. The other great thing about this hotel was the price! If I was looking to return to the city with friends or as a couple I would definitely look at this hotel first. Well done Hotel Excelsior Düsseldorf, you are a great example of the way hotels should be run to welcome travellers!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank ianed291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

We are a group of 3 girls who stayed here 15-18th August. On arrival the lady on the desk checked us in and directed us to our room. The room was amazing for the price we had paid, was spotless and had an amazing bathroom! Each day our room was made up they left a little sweet on the pillow - the little touches that really make your stay every better.

The staff in this hotel excel in customer service, naturally we were straight out to explore to which the lady (regretfully did not get her name) gave us a map and showed us where to go and how to get there!

The hotel is a short 10 minutes walk to Altstadt if you walk through the park!
We had an amazing trip to Düsseldorf and will most definitely be back and wouldn't stay any where else!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simoney1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

service was outstanding, cheerful and helpful throughout and excellent English spoken on reception. also helpful to us was the fact that they had rooms for 3 adults. clean, comfortable and spacious. OK they dont do lunch or evening / snacks meals and it would be helpful if they put a guide sheet in the rooms that within a 4 minute walk there is an Italian restaurant, a schell imbis. A pub, a pizza express (besides the restaurant opposite) a large shopping center all just round the corner from the hotel

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikelynbrandwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews