We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveller rating
24
59
37
7
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
59
37
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews youth hostel bunk beds school groups rail bridge private bathroom school trip city centre shower and toilet night's sleep min walk excellent location rhine towels messe cathedral closet cereal
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 136 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Great location, well priced, clean, upscale youth hostel.
However, the night staff is minimal and is not that concerned with keeping order among the groups. You are at the mercy of other guests as to how loud they are. If you get a poorly behaved youth group staying there (as I did) it can cost you a night's sleep or two.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank veffekt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

With a group of friends I stayed in a four person room, equipped with two bunk beds, a en-suite shower and toilet.
The hostel is bery big and run quite professionally, so it lacks character. That is compensated by the good facilities, cleanliness and central location in Cologne.
Only thing I missed was at least some basic soap in the bathrooms, but other than that the hostel is a very good choice for the budget minded traveller, with a decent free breakfast as bonus.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jetpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

I had made a booking with them in April 2011 for March 2012, and cancelled it in November 2011. When I cancelled the booking the said we don't have any booking so there is nothing to cancel. Surprise Surprise come March 2012 and I'm charged for the booking. Called them twice and emailed them a few times but no reply wahtsoever. Cancellation policy states that free cancellation can be done 2 days prior to checking but I did it months before. I have all the email correspondence and have emailed it to them already, but nothing in reply. Having lived in Germany I think it's really shameful the way this Youth Hostel is cheating tourists. Now I'm having to fight the Credit Card company, waste my time, and money making international calls. I think German Tourism should look harshly at such practices. VERY DISSAPOINTING.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raghavmodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

The hostel is located virtually across the street from the Köln Deutz station. To go to central Cologne you have to cross the Rhine from here. It is a large, modern building. I arrived without a reservation. It was a bit difficult to get the receptionist's attention who either had a bad day or the wrong job. After he had consulted with another equally motivated receptionist I was offered a dorm bed. The room was modern with four bunk beds and with a private bathroom and separate toilet. It was clean and modern. Breakfast was simple though plentiful, from the buffet. WiFi is available for pay however, cheap. There is a room for bicycles. The 24 hours shop with drinks and snacks comes in handy. Overall it was a good stay however I thought it was a bit expensive, given you get a dorm bed.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alpenbewohner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2011

This hostel is near from Koln Hbf (central station). You can go just one station by S-bahn from Hbf. The facility was clean. And you can buy something drink (including beer) and eat inside hostel.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Comachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews