We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bijou hotel perfect for relaxing & exploring”
Review of Hotel Domstern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Domstern
Ranked #33 of 263 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2017 via mobile

This hotel is a gem! Perfectly located in the old part of Cologne, a short walk via the main train station to the Cathedral and a multitude of Christmas markets. We stayed in room 400 on the top floor, accessed by lift, which the affable host, Christian, assured us was the best room. It has been recently redecorated with taste and flair. Someone has had fun accessorising this room. The bed is huge and comfortable. There are easy chairs, a good-sized wardrobe and the lighting is good too. The bathroom has a shower and separate bath and the bath is to die for. Our water bill would rocket if I had one of these at home. It's double headed and super comfortable for soothing away the stresses and strains of life or just from exploring Cologne. All fixtures and fittings are top quality.

Breakfast served downstairs is a feast of delights. Meats & cheeses, a superb selection of breads and lots of other additions; subtly spiced lentil salad and various tapas-type temptations. The hotel caters easily and willingly for vegetarians and vegans. It looked as though someone had put lots of effort into preparing such an extensive selection.

Although the hotel room did not have much of a view, the road was surprisingly quiet and we (used to being in a quiet village) slept soundly, even with the windows open.

I would definitely come here again. Nothing was too much trouble for Christian and colleagues.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mydogscalledspike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (591)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 591 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2017

Small hotel with small entrance - nearby a more visible hotel. Nice room for a stay, but quite small (room and bathroom), however very clean. Confortable bed. Nice breakfast with large choices. Friendly staff. Very competitive price.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ugh-travel-31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed one night in cologne and it was a good value for the location which included a nice breakfast and parking right across the street for 10 euros. We checked out at 9 but we're able to leave our car there till 12:30 which was perfect since we had to leave at noon. Room and bathroom were nicely decorated and a good size for 2. Staff was friendly as well.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Happy California Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

I like a clean hotel with a comfy bed. I like a hotel with a good breakfast. I like a hotel that can offer advice if you need it, like if your suitcase gets lost by your airline.
I like Hotel Domstern.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blakkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed here at the end of November 2016 for the Xmas Markets. A gorgeous hotel, with very friendly staff. The place was spotless, beautiful decor and really close to the cathedral, a 5-10 min walk. Close to station too, so we got the train with great ease from the airport and walked 5-10 mins to hotel.
Breakfast was lovely too. I would stay again

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank DawnSBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Domspitzen
Hotel Domspitzen
#32 of 263 in Cologne
362 reviews
Hotel Santo
#18 of 263 in Cologne
466 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Stern am Rathaus
Stern am Rathaus
#1 of 263 in Cologne
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
CityClass Hotel Europa am Dom
Altstadt-Nord
Classic Hotel Harmonie
Classic Hotel Harmonie
#149 of 263 in Cologne
302 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Eden Hotel Fruh am Dom
Eden Hotel Fruh am Dom
#60 of 263 in Cologne
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Domstern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Domstern

Address: Domstr. 26, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Hotel Domgarten)
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Cologne
#13 Business Hotel in Cologne
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
Price Range: $102 - $457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Domstern 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few steps from the famous Cologne Cathedral, main station, historic city center, shopping area and not far from the trade fair, you will find Hotel Domstern in a quiet side street. We offer newly renovated rooms, free wifi, parking, only nonsmoking rooms, elevator and our extended breakfast buffet until 11 am and even 12 noon during weekends. We are proud and humbled getting the "Travellers choice award 2010" from our guests for our personal service! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Domstern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domstern Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing