We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and decent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Inn by Radisson Koeln City West
Ranked #44 of 260 Hotels in Cologne
Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Clean and decent hotel”
Reviewed 7 March 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel for 5 nights, we always use this hotel when we travel to Cologne for the shows.
The hotel has not changed its decor in the past few years, they tend to charge more when the shows are on than other nights. They charge for wifi and breakfast. The breakfast is pretty good, with a wide selection and variety for all tastes.
Rooms are average, not bad in size, wifi comes and goes in certain rooms, but when you get it the speed is really good. The hotel is within walking distance to the tram lines, and is within easy access of everything.
We found that some staff went out of their way to assist, whilst others were not always the most helpful. Billing was a problem, I was charged about 5 different amounts on my credit card for our stay when checking out. This took a while to be sorted out, and they blame their system on the transactions. Hotel management had to get involved to sort out the issue, which was eventually resolved. This could have been avoided if a little more care was taken when we were checking out. They were too busy trying to bill us rather than checking that the bill was correct, and with them trying to fix the problem made it worse with many transactions going through the credit card.
Paul Dreykluft the assistant manager was great, and he really made a difference.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank darrylcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    220
    110
    24
    8
See reviews for
40
127
34
203
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

The room was nothing special but well equipped and clean aside from behind the toilet (which I noticed whilst lying in the bath)...not pleasant! The daily parking fees are very expensive- you're much better on parking on one of the side streets nearby which are free and not too congested. The service was efficient although not overly-friendly however we did check in very late at night and our stay was during Karneval (which also meant there was a massive selection of sweets and popcorn on the table in reception!). Location is good for travel by S-bahn which is necessary and there are few shops and restaurants near to the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveller247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We stayed for 1 night on our way and it was ok for for this aim. The hotel looks modern outside and outdated inside. The lobby looks like it really needs renovation. Staff was ok, polite and efficient. The room was quite cold and not cozy, but it contained all necessary though. Everything was ok, but really basic. The parking is quite expensive (don't remember), but we easily find a place where to park a car nearby for free (during nighttime). The internet was ridiculously expensive (like 8 eur/hour).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cestovatel_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

It’s hard to review a hotel such as this. It is largely unremarkable but perfectly fine for what it is. I suspect it is a hotel for business rather than pleasure. It is true to say however that the service given was excellent at every turn.

The location seems a little out of the centre arriving by taxi, but the tram stop is a short walk away and has a choice of two lines just four stops from Heumarkt, right on the Rhine, and on the edge of the old town.

I visited with three friends for a weekend in Cologne taking the waters by day and the kolsch by night. We had booked separately but arrived to check in together and were given adjacent rooms without the need to ask. Despite being on a main road there was no traffic noise.

The rooms themselves aren’t small but neither are they spacious (had the rooms had an interconnecting door however, they would have been perfect), but they were fine, and it was nice to get twin beds as was booked (rather than the doubles that we often have to put up with on these boys’ weekends). One major drawback was the lack of an in room safe – I find this poor in a hotel of otherwise decent quality.

I didn’t have the breakfast, but one of my friends did and reported that it was good and extensive, but expensive.

The internet and WiFi connection rates are very – and unnecessarily – expensive.

I did use the spa facilities, and once again they are fine. Not massive, a sauna and a steam room, and a decent sized relaxation area but they were very clean and well stocked for towels etc. considering it is unattended. It is also available from 6pm-9pm which is slightly annoying as I quite enjoy a spa freshen up before going out for the day. Apparently it will be available if you ask at reception but presumably would take a while to warm up. It scarcely matters in a city like Cologne though which has some of the finest spas in Germany (I’ll review those separately).

In summary, I would say that I wouldn’t want to damn the hotel with faint praise but it is hard to be enthused by it. It is what it is. The extras that you have to pay for seem priced for the expense accounts of the business traveller ahead of the leisure traveller (although the bar prices seemed reasonable) but if you can secure a decent rate at the weekend and can avoid the extras it is good value. But what raises the hotel above the average and perfunctory is the service of the staff which was excellent at every turn, helpful and happy, and for that I would recommend it at least.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aardwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I had a business trip here last week as part of a conference. The food in the restaurant was excellent on both nights. It was of a very high quality and the food arrived piping hot which is always a good sign of an efficient kitchen.
The internet connection in the room was not great however. I had issues connecting which was not good.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Lindenthal
Ameron Hotel Regent
Ameron Hotel Regent
#7 of 260 in Cologne
531 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
NH Koln Altstadt
NH Koln Altstadt
#17 of 260 in Cologne
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mülheim
Best Western Premier Hotel Park Consul Koeln
Neustadt-Nord
NH Collection Koln Mediapark
Altstadt-Süd
Mercure Hotel Severinshof Koeln City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Inn by Radisson Koeln City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Inn by Radisson Koeln City West

Property: Park Inn by Radisson Koeln City West
Address: Innere Kanalstr. 15, 50823 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Lindenthal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
Price range (per night): $105 - $364
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Inn by Radisson Koeln City West 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Park Inn by Radisson Cologne City West Hotel Your business and event hotel in Cologne - perfect for business travellers and tourists, with direct connections to the city centre and trade fair The modern, four-star Park Inn by Radisson Cologne City West is located in Cologne's inner green belt. It offers business travellers and tourists easy access to the city centre, sights such as the famous cathedral and old town, the Lanxess Arena, the Rhein Energie Stadium and the city's many other cultural treasures. It is perfectly situated for visitors to the city's exhibition centre with direct connections by tram and shuttle bus in just 15 minutes, and a multi-storey car park with more than 180 parking spaces. Easy access from the A1, A4 and A57 motorways, and by rail, together with excellent value for money, make the Park Inn by Radisson Cologne City West your perfect trade fair hotel in Cologne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Park Inn by Radisson Koeln City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn By Radisson Koeln City West Hotel Cologne
Park Inn Cologne
Cologne Park Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing