We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good... what else?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Collegium Leoninum Hotel
Ranked #12 of 79 Hotels in Bonn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2017 via mobile

Good breakfast and restaurant. Clean and very wide rooms in a quiet but central atea of Bonn. Kind and friendly staff. Nice swimming pool and clean and complete set of machine in the (honestly a bit little) gym... what else?

Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
Thank Aeger_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthvandenElzen, Manager at Collegium Leoninum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Dear Fernando R,

many thanks for your feedback in regards to your stay with us. We are more than happy that you enjoyed it and we are looking forward to welcome you once again as soon as possible.

Kind regards, Ruth van den Elzen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2017

Stayed there for 2 nights. Beds are very comfortable and surrounding and got a very good sleep. What surprised me, is that hotel is located together with the apartment building, but actually that didnt felt at all. In general room was clean, got compliment from hotel (water bottle), fast wi-fi connection. Breakfast offer is quite standard and nothing fancy. There is available sauna, pool and also gym, just wen to sauna and pool and both were good, temperature in sauna was nice as well the water temperature in pool was nice. In overall I suggest this hotel if you want relax after bussy bussiness day.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank totalsfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthvandenElzen, Manager at Collegium Leoninum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Many thanks for your positive feedback to our hotel. Hopefully we have the chance to welcome you once again within your next stay in Bonn.

Kind regards, Ruth van den Elzen - Hotelmanager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

Nice hotel near the city centre. Parking across the street. The combination of a hotel with nursing home is very special but it doesn't bother you. The facilities are complete and well kept. The rooms are spacious and up to normal hotel standard. Our room probably used to be a room for an elderly person because the bathroom was not modern looking and fit for wheel chairs. Breakfast was very good and complete.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BPEGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthvandenElzen, Manager at Collegium Leoninum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Dear guest,

many thanks for the comments to your recent stay with us. We apreciate your positive feedback and would be more than happy to welcome you once again in the near future.

Kind regards, Ruth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017

Very well situated (5 minutes by feet from old town and central station). Nice old building. Rooms accordingly large (partially with own kitchen), newly refurbished, quiet, and clean. Good breakfast buffet. Staff very polite.
In the same building, there is a retirement home. In contrast to other reviewers here on TripAdvisor, me and my family liked the interaction with the residents. They even had the better tips for dining than the hotel staff. Furthermore, because affiliated with the retirement home, the hotel and ist rooms are optimally equipped for disabled persons.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andreas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthvandenElzen, Manager at Collegium Leoninum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Dear guest,

many thanks for your recent stay with us and your kind feedback to this stay. We would be more than happy to welcome you once again as soon as possible.

Kind regards, Ruth van den Elzen- Hotelmanager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017

First, the plus points:
1. Location, location, location! The hotel is ideally situated in Bonn, literally around the corner from the main shopping thoroughfares to one side, and the beautiful Altstadt to the other side.
2. Cleanliness. Cannot be faulted on this point. It was spotlessly clean.
3. Friendly staff.
4. Good-sized bedrooms and bathrooms.
5. Beautiful, warm indoor pool and well-equipped fitness facility.
6. Real, actual, terrestrial UK television channels available (not just the standard BBC World News or Sky News that all other hotels normally provide for English-speakers)! This is a BIG plus point for us!

However! The hotel is located in an upmarket retirement (and care) home, and hence, it does not have the usual bustling atmosphere that you might expect in a city-centre hotel. Rather, it is extremely quiet. At times I almost felt like I was on a religious retreat! This also means that there is no real hotel bar to speak of - only a bistro, which closes at 10pm every evening! Sorry, but this concept of hotel mixed with retirement home just doesn't work for me.

I was aware upon booking, that there was a retirement home on the same premises...what I did not anticipate, was that both were intertwined within the same actual buildings. I'd assumed that the hotel was a separate entity.

Finding our room after check-in (complete with our big, old-style room key on a heavy keychain!) was like a frustrating treasure hunt without a map, during which we walked down a maze of corridors (some of which had that certain "hospital/retirement home" smell hanging in the air), passing the private apartments of many permanent home residents.

The overall temperature of the hotel/home public areas was (understandably, due to the number of elderly residents) way too warm, but unbelievably for a 4* large city hotel, there was no air conditioning in the bedrooms!! This made for a very stuffy room at night, unless we kept the window open, and a poor quality night's sleep.

The price per night wasn't exactly cheap, so I didn't think we got great value for money in general.

I was only glad that our teenage daughters happened not to be accompanying us on this trip, as I know they would've felt very uncomfortable in the sterile, quiet environment, so I'd only recomment this for couples seeking peace and quiet in a city (not a romantic getaway or honeymoon hotel!!), or families with very young children. Despite all the plus points, it unfortunately wouldn't be our choice of hotel on a return visit to Bonn.

Room Tip: Only book if you are happy to live in a retirement home for a few nights!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CelticGirl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthvandenElzen, Manager at Collegium Leoninum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

Dear CelticGirl50,

many thanks for your feedback and comments to your stay with us.
As well we would like to thank you for your positive notes, especially to our staff and the overall hardware.
Very sad we could not convince you from our company culture. To open our house and create a dynamic hub, where people who know what life is all about meet with people within the 3rd chapter in one's life, has always been a successful story so far. Your honesty is very valuable for us and we thank you once again for your feedback.
Kind regards, Ruth van den Elzen - Hotelmanager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bonn hotels
1 km away
Hilton Bonn Hotel
Hilton Bonn Hotel
#1 of 79 in Bonn
1,141 reviews
1.1 km away
Ameron Hotel Koenigshof Bonn
0.4 km away
IntercityHotel Bonn
IntercityHotel Bonn
#9 of 79 in Bonn
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Kameha Grand
Kameha Grand
#5 of 79 in Bonn
1,021 reviews
0.7 km away
Guennewig Hotel Bristol
3.1 km away
Dorint Hotel Venusberg Bonn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Collegium Leoninum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Collegium Leoninum Hotel

Address: Noeggerathstr. 34, 53111 Bonn, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Bonn > Zentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 79 Hotels in Bonn
Price Range: $153 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Collegium Leoninum Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Collegium Lleoninum, with its 75 rooms, is right in the middle of Bonn city centre, only a few metres from the rail station. It was opened in January 2004. The imposing, new gothic building served until 1999 as a seminary, is captivating appel due to a harmonious combination of historic ad new architectural elements. The modern furnishings and fittings at Hotel Collegium Leoninum promise both short-stay and long stay guests the highest degree of comfort. Superior hotel rooms, standard hotel rooms are available. All rooms and appartements have direct telephone connections and wireless internet access. Our own undergroun car park provides easy parking. A spacoius indoor pool with sauna and a separate leisure and fitness studio make s stay at Collegium Leoninum specially pleasant and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Collegium Leoninum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing