We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Collegium Leoninum Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveller rating
39
71
23
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
39
71
23
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsretirement homeelderly peoplecity centrerooms are largebreakfast buffethotel is locatedno air conditioningbed was comfortablecentral stationnice hotelconceptfacilitiesgymaltstadtclinicalchannelsnoise
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 143 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2017

Nice hotel near the city centre. Parking across the street. The combination of a hotel with nursing home is very special but it doesn't bother you. The facilities are complete and well kept. The rooms are spacious and up to normal hotel standard. Our room probably used to be a room for an elderly person because the bathroom was not modern looking and fit for wheel chairs. Breakfast was very good and complete.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BPEGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthvandenElzen, Manager at Collegium Leoninum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Dear guest,

many thanks for the comments to your recent stay with us. We apreciate your positive feedback and would be more than happy to welcome you once again in the near future.

Kind regards, Ruth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017

Very well situated (5 minutes by feet from old town and central station). Nice old building. Rooms accordingly large (partially with own kitchen), newly refurbished, quiet, and clean. Good breakfast buffet. Staff very polite.
In the same building, there is a retirement home. In contrast to other reviewers here on TripAdvisor, me and my family liked the interaction with the residents. They even had the better tips for dining than the hotel staff. Furthermore, because affiliated with the retirement home, the hotel and ist rooms are optimally equipped for disabled persons.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andreas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthvandenElzen, Manager at Collegium Leoninum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Dear guest,

many thanks for your recent stay with us and your kind feedback to this stay. We would be more than happy to welcome you once again as soon as possible.

Kind regards, Ruth van den Elzen- Hotelmanager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017

First, the plus points:
1. Location, location, location! The hotel is ideally situated in Bonn, literally around the corner from the main shopping thoroughfares to one side, and the beautiful Altstadt to the other side.
2. Cleanliness. Cannot be faulted on this point. It was spotlessly clean.
3. Friendly staff.
4. Good-sized bedrooms and bathrooms.
5. Beautiful, warm indoor pool and well-equipped fitness facility.
6. Real, actual, terrestrial UK television channels available (not just the standard BBC World News or Sky News that all other hotels normally provide for English-speakers)! This is a BIG plus point for us!

However! The hotel is located in an upmarket retirement (and care) home, and hence, it does not have the usual bustling atmosphere that you might expect in a city-centre hotel. Rather, it is extremely quiet. At times I almost felt like I was on a religious retreat! This also means that there is no real hotel bar to speak of - only a bistro, which closes at 10pm every evening! Sorry, but this concept of hotel mixed with retirement home just doesn't work for me.

I was aware upon booking, that there was a retirement home on the same premises...what I did not anticipate, was that both were intertwined within the same actual buildings. I'd assumed that the hotel was a separate entity.

Finding our room after check-in (complete with our big, old-style room key on a heavy keychain!) was like a frustrating treasure hunt without a map, during which we walked down a maze of corridors (some of which had that certain "hospital/retirement home" smell hanging in the air), passing the private apartments of many permanent home residents.

The overall temperature of the hotel/home public areas was (understandably, due to the number of elderly residents) way too warm, but unbelievably for a 4* large city hotel, there was no air conditioning in the bedrooms!! This made for a very stuffy room at night, unless we kept the window open, and a poor quality night's sleep.

The price per night wasn't exactly cheap, so I didn't think we got great value for money in general.

I was only glad that our teenage daughters happened not to be accompanying us on this trip, as I know they would've felt very uncomfortable in the sterile, quiet environment, so I'd only recomment this for couples seeking peace and quiet in a city (not a romantic getaway or honeymoon hotel!!), or families with very young children. Despite all the plus points, it unfortunately wouldn't be our choice of hotel on a return visit to Bonn.

Room Tip: Only book if you are happy to live in a retirement home for a few nights!
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CelticGirl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthvandenElzen, Manager at Collegium Leoninum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

Dear CelticGirl50,

many thanks for your feedback and comments to your stay with us.
As well we would like to thank you for your positive notes, especially to our staff and the overall hardware.
Very sad we could not convince you from our company culture. To open our house and create a dynamic hub, where people who know what life is all about meet with people within the 3rd chapter in one's life, has always been a successful story so far. Your honesty is very valuable for us and we thank you once again for your feedback.
Kind regards, Ruth van den Elzen - Hotelmanager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2017

Room was OK apart from noise level - not from street - but from Building itself. When doors closed - and especially when automated doors to aisle closed there was a high noise into the room, due to big airgab under door to the room.
The free internet was useless due to lack off capacity and mobile phone signal was also poor.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jens V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthvandenElzen, Manager at Collegium Leoninum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Dear guest,
we are more than sorry that you obviously did not enjoy your stay with us. Unfortunately we had not the chance to react during your stay, as you did not gave us the feedback on site. For sure we had otherwise offered you another room and our technical department would have checked the internet connections for you.
In case your will be in Bonn once again, we would be more than happy to get the chance once again and to let you know that we can do it better.
Kind regards, Ruth van den Elzen - Hotelmanager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

This hotel has two buildings, the old one was an old theology school building. So don't be surprised if you find a bible in your drawer. Hotel is very close to the center, you can reach to downtown by 10-15 mins walking. Main train station (hauptbahnhof) is even closer. It's a nice building and very large as two buildings are connected, you can even lose your way wandering around. There's an old cemetery in front of the hotel and it's also touristic as you can find famous people's graves there. I would recommend this hotel for both business and leisure travelers.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled on business
Thank Erdem A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthvandenElzen, Manager at Collegium Leoninum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2016

Many thanks for the feedback to your stay with us. We are more than happy about your recommendation.
Kind regards, Ruth van den Elzen - General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews