We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Munchener Hof Hotel
Nearby Hotels
NH Frankfurt Niederrad(Frankfurt)(Great Value!)
USD 97*
USD 93*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 239*
USD 97*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hilton Frankfurt Airport Hotel(Frankfurt)(Great Value!)
USD 155*
USD 140*
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
USD 164*
USD 141*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
USD 300*
USD 286*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 140*
USD 135*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Villa Kennedy(Frankfurt)
USD 328*
USD 319*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 130*
USD 119*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Concorde(Frankfurt)
USD 110*
USD 91*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Jumeirah Frankfurt(Frankfurt)
USD 295*
USD 190*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (197)
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveller rating
15
70
77
24
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
15
70
77
24
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain stationportable fanone nightdidn't feel unsafesmall fridgesingle roomstayed at this hotel for nightstrain stationminute walkno air conditioninghotel is locatedtvhairdryer
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 197 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2010

It's actually pretty good for a hotel at this price point in expensive Frankfurt. The room is clean, service is quite efficient, everything works.

The location's good and not so good at the same time. Good because it's a stone's throw away from the main train station. Very well-connected to the subways and the long distance trains. Walkiing distance to the trade fair and the shopping district. Not so good because it's one block away from the red light district. The neighbourhood's a little on the rough side.

It would have been perfect if they could provide an electric kettle and a couple of cups in the room.

Breakfast is repetitive but pretty good.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SINGTRAVELLER_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2009

Went to Frankfurt without hotel reservation, found there were many lodgings around the main central station. I walked into this one and asked for the price for one night, because I was attracted by its modern and clean entrance decor, in stark contrast to most other hotels on the same street. They paid as much attention to the rooms as its front decor. When I finished "researching" and went back to book a single room for two nights instead of one, they automatically deducted 10euros/night from the original quote they gave me.
The room was very clean, as was the bathroom. I thought the room was spacious for European standards, which had two single beds pushed up together. There was a mini fridge in the room, and no air-conditioning, but a standing fan. Everything looked fresh, modern, and clean, and everything worked. There is a grocery store right across the street. The area is a little shady, but so is the larger area immediately adjacent to the main station.
The staff were polite and professional. You could tell this hotel was run by some very responsible owners. It was more than I expected. The wonderful price was just a bonus.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alittlebitofthat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2009

unfriendly aggressive russian staff. stay away from this place. there are lots of civilzed hotels in this area.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jumbozum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2009

The location of this hotel was ideal for my purposes - right in the centre of it all! It's just a couple of minutes walk from the Hauptbanhof (central train station) and it couldn't be any easier to find - Munchener Strasse is well signposted and there's even a pedestrian underground walkway from the station right onto the street.

Don't expect luxury here - but it's certainly clean, comfortable and perfect if you just need somewhere to rest your head. I had a few great nights sleep here - the pillows are nice and firm (which was a nice surprise, as I usually find hotel pillows too soft) and the bed comfortable. The walls are a bit thin, so you do sometimes hear noise from other rooms - and I was only on the first floor so I could often hear people in the foyer downstairs too - but it's not a dealbreaker as the noise was never a serious issue.

The only other slight negative is that the shower left a bit to be desired - there was no proper 'stand' for the shower head, it was just hanging loose from a hook on the wall, so you have to hold it in your hand all the time - but apart from that it's fine, as the water pressure was nice and strong.

Service was understated, polite and efficient. Don't expect big cheesy grins, or for them to be over-friendly, but then that's not the German way - do expect them to be pleasant and keen to help though. I stupidly managed to lock my passport in my room's safe by accident within minutes of arriving (don't ask me how!) The man at the main desk was patient, helpful and reunited me with my imprisoned passport within minutes - a bit of an embarrassing incident on my part though!

Breakfast is provided, although I never surfaced early enough to sample it (preferring instead to pick up Bratwurst from a nearby fast food joint) and there is a free internet terminal just past the main reception desk which is handy if you need to quickly check your email or whatever.

If you're heading to Frankfurt, and don't want to spend too much on a room, then then the Munchener Hof is worth a look. I'll certainly be staying there again whenever I next visit the city.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roadwarrior_PPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2008

I was lucky to have found this hotel, as I arrived at Frankfurt with no lodging plans lined up. As i walked out the Frankfurt Hauptbahnhof I first bumped into Frankfurt Hostel; the mainenance there looked pretty horrific (and for my taste, loud, chaotic looking and crowded), and the single room's price there is higher than what i paid later at Muenchner Hof. There were many hotels in the vicinity of the train station, so i just searched on foot. Where Muenchner Hof is located is not a particularly graceful, inviting neighborhood, but that's what made its neat, professional front and lobby made it stand out to me from the the neighborhood.
I asked for a non-smoking single room, and received a twin to be used as a single. The furnishings in the room are modern, clean and new-looking; the shower and bathroom are separate, and both are kept very, very nice and clean. The TV works fine, there is a fan and a mini-fridge in the room if you want to store leftover food;
the only thing that baffled me for a minute, was the main power switch in the room (that was unlabeled and looked exactly the same as the light switch.). If you shut that down, there was no way to turn on the lights in the room (operated by another swtitch). This made me for a second think that the light switch, fan, fridge don't work; but you just have to figure out which is the main power switch and make sure it's turned on when you walk into the room.
Overall my experience made me feel that this hotel is run by very responsible owners; I was very thankful that I found this wonderfully neat and affordable hotel at the last minute. Three minutes' walk from the main station. 40-50 euros/night for single room.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuteReise123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews