We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap and pretty good in downtown Frankfurt”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Munchener Hof Hotel
Ranked #168 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Bethesda Maryland
Level Contributor
146 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Cheap and pretty good in downtown Frankfurt”
Reviewed 5 May 2010

Stayed one night as a volcano refugee. Excellent value for money. Good Irish Bar across the street. Staff reasonable, rooms clean, a bit noisy.

Extra credit-DID NOT GOUGE VOLCANO REFUGEES

Would stay again

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emeritus24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    58
    60
    19
    10
See reviews for
22
17
61
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2010

It's actually pretty good for a hotel at this price point in expensive Frankfurt. The room is clean, service is quite efficient, everything works.

The location's good and not so good at the same time. Good because it's a stone's throw away from the main train station. Very well-connected to the subways and the long distance trains. Walkiing distance to the trade fair and the shopping district. Not so good because it's one block away from the red light district. The neighbourhood's a little on the rough side.

It would have been perfect if they could provide an electric kettle and a couple of cups in the room.

Breakfast is repetitive but pretty good.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SINGTRAVELLER_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2009

Went to Frankfurt without hotel reservation, found there were many lodgings around the main central station. I walked into this one and asked for the price for one night, because I was attracted by its modern and clean entrance decor, in stark contrast to most other hotels on the same street. They paid as much attention to the rooms as its front decor. When I finished "researching" and went back to book a single room for two nights instead of one, they automatically deducted 10euros/night from the original quote they gave me.
The room was very clean, as was the bathroom. I thought the room was spacious for European standards, which had two single beds pushed up together. There was a mini fridge in the room, and no air-conditioning, but a standing fan. Everything looked fresh, modern, and clean, and everything worked. There is a grocery store right across the street. The area is a little shady, but so is the larger area immediately adjacent to the main station.
The staff were polite and professional. You could tell this hotel was run by some very responsible owners. It was more than I expected. The wonderful price was just a bonus.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alittlebitofthat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2009

unfriendly aggressive russian staff. stay away from this place. there are lots of civilzed hotels in this area.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jumbozum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Frankfurt hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2009

The location of this hotel was ideal for my purposes - right in the centre of it all! It's just a couple of minutes walk from the Hauptbanhof (central train station) and it couldn't be any easier to find - Munchener Strasse is well signposted and there's even a pedestrian underground walkway from the station right onto the street.

Don't expect luxury here - but it's certainly clean, comfortable and perfect if you just need somewhere to rest your head. I had a few great nights sleep here - the pillows are nice and firm (which was a nice surprise, as I usually find hotel pillows too soft) and the bed comfortable. The walls are a bit thin, so you do sometimes hear noise from other rooms - and I was only on the first floor so I could often hear people in the foyer downstairs too - but it's not a dealbreaker as the noise was never a serious issue.

The only other slight negative is that the shower left a bit to be desired - there was no proper 'stand' for the shower head, it was just hanging loose from a hook on the wall, so you have to hold it in your hand all the time - but apart from that it's fine, as the water pressure was nice and strong.

Service was understated, polite and efficient. Don't expect big cheesy grins, or for them to be over-friendly, but then that's not the German way - do expect them to be pleasant and keen to help though. I stupidly managed to lock my passport in my room's safe by accident within minutes of arriving (don't ask me how!) The man at the main desk was patient, helpful and reunited me with my imprisoned passport within minutes - a bit of an embarrassing incident on my part though!

Breakfast is provided, although I never surfaced early enough to sample it (preferring instead to pick up Bratwurst from a nearby fast food joint) and there is a free internet terminal just past the main reception desk which is handy if you need to quickly check your email or whatever.

If you're heading to Frankfurt, and don't want to spend too much on a room, then then the Munchener Hof is worth a look. I'll certainly be staying there again whenever I next visit the city.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roadwarrior_PPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Innenstadt
Hotel Apollo
Hotel Apollo
#210 of 269 in Frankfurt
3.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Innenstadt
Novum Hotel Continental Frankfurt
Townhouse Hotel
#34 of 269 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bahnhofsviertel
Ambassador Frankfurt Hotel
Ambassador Frankfurt Hotel
#96 of 269 in Frankfurt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Munchener Hof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munchener Hof Hotel

Property: Munchener Hof Hotel
Address: Muenchener Str. 46, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Innenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price range (per night): $60 - $185
Hotel Class:3 star — Munchener Hof Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, Priceline, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Munchener Hof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing