We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unimpressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Grand Frankfurt
Ranked #36 of 270 Hotels in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Average business hotel in an unimpressive location. All it has going for it is that it's close to a U-bahn stop and an easy walk to the Rathaus.

Two negatives though, the windows are paper thin and desparatly need upgrading. Sound-wise they may as well be open.

What particularly bothered me was the dishonest exchange rate. To put it bluntly, they are thieves. I booked for SPG points and 60 USD. They charged me the points and 40 EUR, i.e., 1.50 USD per EUR. When I told them that the exchange rate was 1.131 USD per EUR they simply said, "This is our rate".

It wasn't much money but that's not the point - the point is that they are dishonest.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fcfrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa_Witsch, Leiter Gästebetreuung at The Westin Grand Frankfurt, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for kindly sharing your thoughts and impressions with us and we are sorry to read we could not fully meet your expectations!

The so called cash & points booking option is a very popular benefit for our Starwood Preferred guests and the currency exchange rate adapts to an average of local currency, which limits the difference to a minimum.

We would be delighted to welcoming you back soon and please feel free to contact me directly, so I can take personal care of your requests,

meantime I remain with warm regards from Frankfurt

Yours

Vanessa Witsch
Guest Service Manager
vanessa.witsch@westin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,406)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

753 - 757 of 1,406 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2012

This is the second time I have stayed here on business as this hotel ticks all the boxes. It's only a few train stops from the exhibition halls and after a day of walking around those the hotel bar is an excellent place to relax at with first rate bar staff (who are also very entertaining). It's well located with most parts of Frankfurt travellers would visit within walking distance but I used taxi's constantly and never paid over €12.

All the staff speak perfect english, the rooms are spacious and well equipped, my only grumble being that there are ironing boards in each room but no irons (!?!) The lobby with the vintage cars is also quite unique.

After very busy days working it was the ideal place to come back to and I cant say that about many of the hotels I've stayed in.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa_Witsch, Leiter Gästebetreuung at The Westin Grand Frankfurt, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Dear guest,

Let me thank you for shareing such a great compliment with our team – that brought a big smile on our faces!

Our Grand Seven Restaurant & Bar Team is truly entertaining and the clear hotspot for occations & events of all types.

Rest assuered that your suggestion regarding the iron & board has been passed on to our housekeeping team, who will take further care.

I hope to welcoming back soon at the Westin Grand Frankfurt and remain at your disposal,

yours

Vanessa Witsch
Guest Service Manager
vanessa.witsch@westin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We've been staying at the hotel for a few years when we attend market and, although one might think the hotel is impersonal because it is so large, the service is really good. From the front desk to the concierge, everyone is nice and helpful. The room is totally satisfactory--comfortable bed and clean.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nannysuef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa_Witsch, Leiter Gästebetreuung at The Westin Grand Frankfurt, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Dear guest,

your feedback is a true delight and we are thankful for your time and effort in sharing it with us! It is from highest importance to us to proove exactly what you mention – being capable to provide service excellency despite being a city business hotel!

The Westin Heavenly Bed is our figurehead and the idea is to have our guests sink into layers of pure comfort, night after night and discover why every one is talking about it! Every detail was custom designed to create the perfect foundation for a deep and calming sleep experience.

You are most welcome to visit us again on you next visit to Frankfurt and I remain at your disposal,

yours

Vanessa Witsch
Guest Service Manager
vanessa.witsch@westin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

You expect excellent standard when staying at Westin hotels. The Westin Frankfurt fulfills the expectations. It is pretty pricy, but Frankfurt is generally more expensive.

Good: Service, check-in, comfortable beds, room standard and cleanliness, gym area, hotel is three minutes to shopping mile by foot.

Average: Executive Club area, pool (small), breakfast (value), distance to Frankfurt conference center.

Bad: N/A

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HDYankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa_Witsch, Leiter Gästebetreuung at The Westin Grand Frankfurt, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Dear guest,

Let me thank you for evalutaing your stay at the Westin Grand Frankfurt – I am sure the Tripadvisor community will appreciate your comments as much as we do!

We are indeed very centrally located, which is just perfect for visiting all main attractions and of course for shopping excursions. It takes about 15 minutes with public transportation to reach the exhibition ground and our Concierge team has time schedule plans available at any time.

Whenever you are back in town we would be delighted to share some suggestions for even more things to see in Frankfurt and I remain at your disposal

Yours

Vanessa Witsch
Guest Service Manager
vanessa.witsch@westin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Very nice hotel. The rooms are confortable.
Good service,
excelent breakfast. They have a chef doing scrambled eggs... very nice.
A negative point: I had to walk almost 100mts to get my room. they gave me the room more far from elevators on 5th floor....
But overall, is a good 5*hotel.
Location is good, near Zeil strasse, and if you are for business, like me, have a subway station 50mts from Hotel.
I've used also the gym and it was great. Very well equipped.
The internet ( wi-fi) in the lobby wich is supposed to be free, was out almost everyday.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank santo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa_Witsch, Leiter Gästebetreuung at The Westin Grand Frankfurt, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Dear guest,

We herewith would like to share our appreciation for having provided such a valuable feedback! The voice of our guests is of course the most important benchmark and our motivator to keep focusing on details!

I hope to welcoming you back soon and I will be happy to assist you in finding the perfect room location for your individual needs!

Warm regards from sunny Frankfurt

Vanessa Witsch
Guest Service Manager
vanessa.witsch@westin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Innenstadt
Jumeirah Frankfurt
Jumeirah Frankfurt
#5 of 270 in Frankfurt
1,309 reviews
Altstadt
Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
Le Meridien Frankfurt
Le Meridien Frankfurt
#59 of 270 in Frankfurt
106 reviews
Innenstadt
NH Collection Frankfurt City
NH Collection Frankfurt City
#15 of 270 in Frankfurt
824 reviews
Sachsenhausen-Nord
Villa Kennedy
Villa Kennedy
#2 of 270 in Frankfurt
1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Grand Frankfurt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Grand Frankfurt

Address: Konrad-Adenauer-Str. 7, 60313 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Innenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Frankfurt
#9 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
#17 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
#27 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range: $177 - $710 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Grand Frankfurt 5*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star nonsmoking hotel The Westin Grand Frankfurt was carefully and elaborately renovated in 2007. It is blessed with an ideal location, just steps to the well-known Zeil shopping street and the exclusive Goethestrasse boulevard, within close proximity to all attractions in the city. The 371 newly designed rooms and suites are decorated in warm shades and tones and equipped with modern, comfy furniture and a flat screen television. The Heavenly Bed(R), a Westin innovation with special mattress, guarantees a good night's sleep. All rooms and suites have high speed internet, three telephones with integrated answering machines, as well as individually controlled air-conditioning. Furthermore, all rooms are equipped with an iron and ironing board, a safe and a Nespresso coffee machine. Access to the internet free of charge in lobby, restaurant and bar. Our 4 restaurants and bars offer new and familiar delights for your palate. You can choose between regional and traditional Japanese cuisine, a drink or a snack. The world is your oyster. The conference level offers 12 rooms, equipped with the latest conference technology, in various sizes: Events for up to 1,000 guests can be handled with ease; for festive banquets up to 320 guests can be accommodated. The new pool and fitness area is the ideal place to relax. Apart from a sauna, bio sauna and a swimming pool, we also offer you beneficial massages and personalised beauty treatments. Parking available for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Grand Frankfurt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Grand Frankfurt Hotel Frankfurt
Westin Grand Frankfurt
Westin Frankfurt
Frankfurt Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing