We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Hotel Excelsior

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior
Ranked #63 of 270 Hotels in Frankfurt
Reviewed 28 February 2012

As a regular guest I always choose Hotel Excelsior Frankfurt whenever I need a room for short trip to Frankfurt. I like the fact they have free WiFi, Breakfast included and somehow forgot how slow their elevator (I always use the stair anyway)

This time was a disaster, I can understand that their WiFi had a problem but I can not understand that simple request like make up bed which I have repeated twice one around 9:30 and than again around 14:00 and they simply just didn't do it!

I will still come back thou

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wijaya_Randu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,528)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Excelsior
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

498 - 502 of 1,528 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2012

Just got back from two nights of stay at this hotel it was a perfect stay. Location is right in front of the main frankfurt station at the south exit. The hotel is clean, size of the room is perfect for a double, bed is comfortable, room is clean, breakfast is plentiful and cake and coffee at the lobby everyday, wi-fi is free also. We stayed in room 619 facing the main station, it has a balcony, their is bathtub. I really do not mind the noise at all. Plus we love city views. We decided to stay another night sadly the room we were in was already booked so we transferred to 519. The receptionist gave us an upgrade. The room is a little smaller it is located at the back no noise. There was a bathrobe, slipper, tea and coffee maker in the room. Between the two i prefer the room with a city view and balcony. We will definitely stay their again if we decide to go to Frankfurt again. We are only an hour away from it but staying at Hotel Excelsior made it worth the two nights out of town. Could not ask for anything more.

Room Tip: If noise does not bother you at all then try to get a room in front of the station.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marmitchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

I only stayed here for a night on two separte occasions but i would gladly stay here again. It is located approximately 30 seconds from the Hauptbahnhof, right across the road. The bus station is out the front. Buffet breakfast is great for europe, with smoked salmon, cakes, different types of coffee and much more however there are too many staff hovering the breakfast room because i popped up to get a banana and when i came back, not only had my plate full of food, and cup full of coffee been removed, but the table had been completely reset with someone else sitting at my table already.The room is a little old however the free minibar more than makes up for that. Also, from morning till about 7pm, there are free cakes and coffee and tea at reception. Walking to Romer square is about 10 mins so thats pretty good too. Check in is swift and efficient.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a balcony
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angela199284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

I was surprised to find that the all the items in the room mini bar are free. The drinks, the snacks, the chips are replenished the next day for guests to consume. This was the first time ever that I checked into a hotel that the items in the mini bar are free. Free wi-fi in the room too.

The hotel location is excellent, just across the street from the Frankfurt Main Station.

We stayed 2 nights and it was convenient for us to check the train schedule. We took the trains to several places during the day and back to the hotel in the evening. Even though it was freezing cold, the short walk back to the hotel was indeed a blessing.

My rail tour and accommodation were arranged by TOEUROPE.

I was there in February, 2011.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Located directly across from the Frankfurt Hauptbahnhof. Check-in was fast, and you must pay for your room at check-in. Check-in area can get very busy, and there are only two small elevators for use. There are stairs that my get you to your room faster, especially when there is a large tour group check-in and trying to use the elevator. My room was a single, small single bed, one pillow. Very old TV set, not maney channels. Small desk and chair, free wifie and mini bar, with water, been, juice. Very small bath with shower. Hotel is very old Hotel with no air conditioning, hotel has been around for years and years. It is in acceptable condition, but would only use it for an overnight. Free buffet breakfast is also included. Breakast is good enough to start the day with. All in all, it's an ok place to stay

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the front of the building
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yvr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Innenstadt
Hotel Monopol
Hotel Monopol
#57 of 270 in Frankfurt
583 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Europa Life
Hotel Europa Life
#31 of 270 in Frankfurt
261 reviews
Innenstadt
Ibis Frankfurt Centrum
Ibis Frankfurt Centrum
#46 of 270 in Frankfurt
1,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Hamburger Hof
#9 of 270 in Frankfurt
736 reviews
Bahnhofsviertel
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof
Innenstadt
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#7 of 270 in Frankfurt
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Frankfurt

Been to Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior

Address: Mannheimer Str. 7 - 9, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range: $80 - $434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Excelsior 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotelopia and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing