We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, friendly staff, good atmosphere but not so great food”
Review of Zum Standesamtchen

Zum Standesamtchen
Ranked #808 of 2,449 Restaurants in Frankfurt
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Altstadt
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

I ordered the Frankfurt style schnitzel hoping for a good experience, while the sauce was good the dish really was pretty average, and the chicken very overcooked and tough! Other than that staff and atmosphere very nice. Maybe other dishes are better.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank katiecrossley24
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 62 of 344 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

Good local food in the heart of the city - obviously very tourist and reason why it is a bit pricy but well prepared food.

Several options in the menu but I decided to shoot for the sausages and my wife for the omelette - as they were classified as "small dishes" - but they were very generous portions !

Attention was a little delayed but it was a busy Sunday night.

Good option !

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank Vidle01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

Setting nice. Vienna style Schnitzel not special. My wife really liked the kasespatzel. Salads not very good. Not worth repeating.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank gbritton64
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

The atmosphere of the square and the taste of the beef knuckle were pretty nice.
However, the waitress' attention was horrible, her manners weren't polite. She didn't want to serve the dishes that we wished, showing confusion, and not explaining the price of the dishes clearly. We had to wait for our orders for a very long time. At the moment of paying, she wasn't confused anymore, she knew very well how much we had to pay: in the end, we had to pay twice the price for some of the dishes in contrast with the price she had told at the beginning.

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank xthebestdamnthingn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Very good traditional German food. We sat outside for dinner and enjoyed the sights and sounds of Frankfurt. Prices were a bit higher, but we expected this being in a popular area of town. Service was prompt and friendly, with no issues substituting sides with our dishes. Would eat here again.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TechSMU
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Zum Standesamtchen also viewed

 
 

Been to Zum Standesamtchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.