We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I call this "home to the best schweinshaxe"”
Review of Atschel

Atschel
Ranked #7 of 2,474 Restaurants in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Sachsenhausen-Nord
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
259 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“I call this "home to the best schweinshaxe"”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

I've been here a few times now - it's always the place I take people who are visiting. I agree with every great rating here - but please don't try and get an average meal out of this place. You have to be willing to eat and drink GERMAN to fully enjoy Atschel. This means, pork and beer/apfelwein.

I always have the schweinshaxe here - it's simply the best in Frankfurt, hands down. The advantage of this restaurant is that you have classic German tables that are set out in a row, and there are always lovely German people wanting to strike up a conversation or tell you more about the history of the food you're enjoying.

It can be a bit tricky to get to if you don't know the city well, but I really recommend this place to anyone in Frankfurt.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank miss_igirisu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    564
    404
    76
    23
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Germany at its finest!”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I live in Frankfurt and this is my favorite restaurant. it's always crowded, especially on the weekend, so they put different groups in the same tables (this is very German). If you are a friendly person you will just start chatting with your neighbors. You might find locals as well as tourists, all gathered together to enjoy the amazing and definitely not expensive food they offer.
You can have German standard food or specialty from the region. My favorite one is the “Schinzel mit Gruene Sosse” (something typical from Frankfurt) . The Roasted pork shank, called “Haxe” is a must try in Germany and they have a great one here.
Have a beer, have a great time, and don’t forget the Calvados mit Mispelchen. It will help you to digest the incredible amount of meat you just had for dinner.
Tip: if you didn’t book a table and you just show up, keep drinking beer or “Apfelwein” at the bar, if you are alone you are just two or three, sooner or later they will find a place for you.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Fidelioo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“If you like meat - GO HERE!!”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

impressive traditional looking restaurant (inside anyway) would have walked past it if a friend hadnt recommended it, very good food and beer, in my 3 days in FRA this was the best meal by far

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Brabonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quintessential German Fare”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Our friends recommended this restaurant after reading Trip Advisor reviews and then eating there themselves. Our friends had reserved us a table, but the staff could not find the reservation. They seated us anyway in the outdoor Bier Garten. It was during a heatwave, but the Garten was shaded and cooler than most.

Tables are long and seating is family-style. The server was nice, able to speak English with us when needed, and served us quickly. As in most restaurants in Germany, the wait for the check is long, but I think this is b/c the staff doesn't want to rush you. Feel free to wave your hand and flag down staff when you are ready to pay.

I had a Spaetzle with cheese (Kaese) dish that was good but incredibly filling. I ended up leaving some on the plate. My husband had pork Schnitzel that he said was delicious & tender. We both tried the Apfelwein but didn't like it - too sour.

Overall, the atmosphere and food were classic German, just what we were looking for. The restaurant was a bit difficult to find on foot, and you can wander through some not great areas on the way there. Make sure to Google directions beforehand and look at a map, b/c Wallstrasse runs oddly in this area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tiredsahm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
243 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Simply delicious”
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

A definate spot to sit in the back terrasse and have some apple wine or a very authentic hearty meal. Fun to go with a group during the day and a bit more fun and romantic at night. Good menu and wine selection as well.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HobbyCheF L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Atschel also viewed

 
Frankfurt, Hesse
Frankfurt, Hesse
 

Been to Atschel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing