We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most delicious Schnitzel I've ever eaten (!)”
Review of Die Bank

Die Bank
Ranked #234 of 4,202 Restaurants in Hamburg
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Neustadt
Description: Zwischen Gänsemarkt und Springer-Passage residiert DIE BANK in einem herrschaftlichen Hamburger Stadtpalais. Über 100 Jahre diente der stattliche Bau in den Hohen Bleichen als Bankdomizil. 2005 eröffnete DIE BANK in der ehemaligen Kassenhalle die Brasserie und Bar. Heute verfügt das Restaurant über 160 Sitzplätze auf vierhundert Quadratmetern sowie eine attraktive Cocktail- & Austernbar und dient jeden Mittag und Abend als internationaler Treffpunkt für Genießer & Kosmopoliten aus aller Welt. In Sachen frischer, kreativer & anspruchsvoller Cuisine beweist unser aufeinander eingespieltes Team jeden Tag sein Können! „Die Brasserie DIE BANK ist für uns ein Lebensgefühl - hanseatische Wurzeln gekreuzt mit kosmopolitischem Charakter und internationalem Flair.“
Reviewed 20 August 2018

Lovely decor, the most delicious Schnitzel I've ever eaten (!) but prices are quite steep. Broad selection of wines, rather on the pricey side too. Small-ish portions, presented neatly and beautifully, but better that way to fit in some dessert! Waiting staff were a little confused when we were there, bringing us the wrong food and drinks several times. Nearly every time they wandered past our table (near the kitchen door) with food, they weren't quite so sure which table to serve. This lacked a little in professionalism but the atmosphere and food certainly made up for it. It's also really refreshing that one can dine here casually dressed (even the odd celebrity that I didn't recognise anyway...!)

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nicky h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (538)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 538 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2018

The restaurant is in an impressive old bank cash hall with very high ceilings, and has walk in safes and great photography.Given the unusual sunny day, we had a very nice late lunch on the terrace with friends.We had a variety of excellent dishes, Wienerschnitzel with cucumber salad and young potatoes and the fresh asparagus with a fantastic airy hollandaise were excellent, good wine list, friendly service, a bit slow, but then the atmosphere was great

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Swisscheck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018

Conclusion:
+ service = super friendly
+ drinks = very good vine
+ food = amazing, very delicious and high quality.
It's pricy but it's worth it every time!

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Onlythebestfood8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018 via mobile

Great drinks and variety of wines and beers.

Amazing service and people watching from the bar. International crowd.

One of the few places to take your posh friends for drinks to when they are visiting

Amazing decor

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank 295irab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018

The first impression you get from the restaurant is really impressing, the building itself has a lot of uniqueness and the decoration is well thought. The service was very friendly throughout the entire meal and at the beginning they managed to prepare our table before the time we had planned, so let's give them a point on that :D
But what I didn't like was the food, not because it didn't taste good, but because the portions were very little for the price we had to pay. A colleague from us ordered a Schnitzel, and I have always seen them really huge; well, this was the tiniest Schnitzel I have ever seen. Disappointing.

If you go here to eat I would reccomend the daily menu, I think it was the best option and the dessert was the best part of the meal.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ipastor24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Die Bank also viewed

 

Been to Die Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing