We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great bar never lets me down for a good night out when in town”
Review of The Academy

The Academy
Ranked #26 of 272 Nightlife in Hamburg
Attraction details
Reviewed 4 April 2016

I go to Hamburg every year for businessmidweek in January and every trip we have ended the night in this bar, they seem to have regular live music and its always been good, the place is lively even when surrounding places are quiet and speaking to locals they have recommended that this is one place that is as lively and active.
The staff have always been friendly each time we have been, its open till 3am and even midweek and drinks are reasonably priced, in addition the facilities and bar is clean.

Date of experience: January 2016
Thank Gajstanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

8 - 12 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2016 via mobile

Had a few beers in here listening to an acoustic set.
Clean place with friendly staff.
All in all a good bar!

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank Scott J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2015

Amazing bar but racist. The security guys didnt allow my friend in without any explanation. We were a group of people (6 girls, 2 guys, germans and international) and only my friend from South Africa (black) was not allowed in without any reason. They didnt want to discuss or let us talk to the manager about it. We were sober and the bar was not full.

Date of experience: June 2015
1  Thank Angelica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2014

The Irish pub "The Academy" at Hans Albers Platz has a connection to another pub next door. So if you don't like the band playing in the one place you can easily switch.
They have joined court so you don't have to go outside where all the "really nice ladies" are ;)

It gets pretty busy on weekends. If you've ever been to an irish pub you know what to expect. Many fun people and everybody in sing along party mood.

Date of experience: September 2014
Thank AnniCatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2014

It's a great place to drop by for a drink and some live music. Atmosphere is always great. Definitely coming back!

Date of experience: November 2013
Thank Raminta_advises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Academy also viewed

Hamburg, Germany
 

Been to The Academy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing