We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 108
USD 86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Generator Hostel Hamburg(Hamburg)(Great Value!)
USD 85
USD 63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Adina Apartment Hotel Hamburg Michel(Hamburg)
USD 182
USD 142
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
USD 244
USD 193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Park Hyatt Hamburg(Hamburg)
USD 330
USD 279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 118
USD 97
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 190
USD 166
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Madison Hamburg(Hamburg)
USD 170
USD 158
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Apartment-Hotel Hamburg Mitte(Hamburg)(Great Value!)
USD 91
USD 78
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 256
USD 144
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,009)
Filter reviews
1,010 results
Traveller rating
557
364
65
19
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
557
364
65
19
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshower experiencefunky decorinteresting designcentral stationfresh fruit saladnorthern europebudget hotelhard boiled eggsminute walkvery pleasant stayimmediate vicinitygreat showerrecommend this hotelby footother hotelsspent nightsrooms are small
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 1,010 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2017 via mobile

Spent 2 nights with friends and found the hotel quite nice. Weird decor, but clean and a quite good breakfast buffet - remember to pre-order and save 50%!).

Staff young and welcoming and location around 1km from Hamburg Central Station, but OK, the area close to the hotel quite terrible, with no shops, conveniences nearby apart from a gas station with a small shop.

However, the bar in the hotel is very reasonable and for just a few days you can easily manage without the variety of cafe's in higher prized and better located hotels.

Staff helpful, nice hard beds, and definitely good value! Thanks for a pleasant couple of days!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Team_prizeotel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Prizeotel Hamburg-City, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Hi Peter,

we hope you are doing well and had a wonderful weekend!?

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a good time in Hamburg! Thanks for your very positive Feedback and for your visit. We are already looking forward to seeing you again ☺

Did you know that we are located in Bremen and Hannover as well?
Would be nice to see you there!

Have a great day.
Best, your team prizeotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

We were a bit disappointed. We thought this was really a cool hang out, quirky and differentiating. But it was not. This is just another hotel in a more remote location with a more poppy design edge. The bed was very okay, the room though very small and basic.
We liked the breakfast, but reception desk was heavily under staffed (she was doing check outs, breakfast registration and left luggage all on her own on a Sunday morning....). They miss any signs outside to find the hotel building from the outside. Price/value was not as good as we expected.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Repko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Team_prizeotel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Prizeotel Hamburg-City, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Hi Repko,

we are really sorry to hear that you were a bit disappointed.
The good thing is, you probably slept well in our comfy and huge beds, didn´t you?
And we are glad you enjoyed our "all you can wish for" buffet :)
We thank you for your visit and your feedback here.

We apologize for the situation that you may have waited a bit before taking a seat for breakfast. One of our team members called sick this morning. Usually all our procedures (check in, check out and breakfast registrations) are done pretty quickly.

Did you know that we are an 2** economy design hotel.
You can get rooms from 59 Euros. As other hotel chains and airlines for example do as well, we work with an pricing system which is based on demand.
You were here during a very busy time period.

We hope for your understanding and wish you a lovely day. Best, your team prizeotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

Like citizenM and uh (well, I don't travel much, shut up, give me a break) its peers, Prizeotel is a brand of hotels seeking to deliver to its guests luxury at an affordable price by trading various staples for all sorts of goodies and amenities that more than make up for what was lost.

The check-in process was quick and without any complaints. I checked in during a rainy afternoon and was soon sent off to my room, where I was able to take a shower and wait out the bad weather.

As noted by other reviews and by the available photos, the rooms, while small, are functional and decorated with flair. They let any guest know once they step in that the hotel is kinda weird and unabashedly so. The hotel as a whole utilizes a bold, yet tasteful color scheme that adds character to everything about it, and the rooms are no different. The rooms were designed to maximize space-- for example, instead of the hotel providing a luggage rack, my bed was raised to allow for suitcases to be stowed underneath. Unfortunately, the space wasn't high enough for mine, so I placed my suitcase along a side of the bed. The room was furnished minimally, providing a plastic chair and a desk, which I couldn't really complain about, as the chair fit the theme of the hotel and the desk included a Bluetooth lamp that could connect to my phone to play my jams.

The bed, of course, was comfortable. Firm mattress, good sleep, no complaints.

Of note is the bathroom, which while compact (oh wow, couldn't have seen that coming), does have some very nice features that I'm sure are a draw of the hotel. The bathroom crams in all of the necessary functions in a small space, meaning that the toilet was uncomfortably close to the towel rack. However, the shower space is spacious and features a flexible showerhead that will suit any need. As well, the bathroom sports heated floors(!) to ensure a pleasure post-shower experience.

If there's one negative about the hotel, it's the location, which can't be helped. In order to reach the hotel, one would either take the train to Hammerbrook station and make a 15 minute trek or take one of the buses which stops near the hotel. While this sounds decent on paper, the surrounding area was very quiet-- all there were near the hotel at least for now were a few other hotels and a gas station outfitted with a convenience store. The hotel is also situated pretty far from many of the nightlife areas, so getting back is inconvenient when public transportation winds down for the night.

All in all, I had a pleasant experience with this hotel and I really like the brand. While I may not be visiting Hamburg anytime soon look forward to staying at another Prizeotel location in the future.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank FirstName-TwoNumbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Team_prizeotel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Prizeotel Hamburg-City, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear guest,

we are impressed by your super positive and detailed review! Thank you so much for taking the time doing this. We really appreciate that a lot.

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us so much and are looking forward to seeing you again in Hannover or Bremen. Those are our current locations.

But we are growing. We will open a new hotel in Hamburg in the beginning of next year. You would love the location. It is a stonethrow away from the "Reeperbahn" and thus also from the "S-Bahn" (subway). If you come for a visit you have dozens of restaurants and the nightlife just around the corner such as the port, the fishmarket (Fischmarkt) and the "Schanzenviertel" which is a neighborhood worth visit, as well.

In 2019 and 2020 we will open hotels in Bern, Erfurt, Munic and Münster. More to come but we must not yet reveal too much ;)

Have a lovely weekend.

Best, your team prizeotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed here with our 10 yr old son. The hotel is a 15 min walk from the main station in a regeneration area, so the walk is along big roads, and is a bit worrying. However, the hotel is good- funky decor, friendly staff, and convenient location.

Rooms are small and basic- bed, bathroom ( shower only), desk and chair- but everything is well designed and spotlessly clean, bed is comfortable. Staff are friendly and helpful, even at 1.30 in the morning.
Breakfast is good and plentiful, and to be recommended, particularly as there is pretty much nothing else in the immediate vicinity that could provide any- unless you want to walk 15 min to the City Centre, where there is lots.
The only drawback is that they don't provide seperate beds for children ( probably because the rooms wouldn't accommodate one), but they let the child sleep in with the parents for free- that was fine for us, but may not be everyones thing.
Overall, I'd go again- great value for money.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Anja F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Team_prizeotel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Prizeotel Hamburg-City, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Hi Anja,

first of all - thanks so much for this detailed and positive feedback! We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.

It was nice to have you guys here and we would be glad to see you again. Please let us know in case you need a good hotel which is worth it´s money in Bremen or Hannover. We are located there as well.

Next time we see us in Hamburg please take the bus to the city center in if you do not want to walk. The busstop is almost right in front of our hotel and it is running every five to ten minutes and takes you to the "Hauptbahnhof", which is the main train station, in less than five minutes.

Have a lovely evening. Hi to your beloved ones!

Best, your team prizeotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

Great bright room, excellent helpful staff. Location a bit out of the way but the no.3 bus from the main station passes the front door. Liked the no smoking policy. Good breakfast plenty of selection.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Team_prizeotel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Prizeotel Hamburg-City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Hi Mark,

we hope you are doing well and are having a great day!
Thanks for your visit and for letting us know that you enjoyed it!

We are looking forward to seeing you again in Hamburg, Bremen or Hannover.
We bet you would like our other hotels as well.

Best, your team prizeotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews