We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveller rating
42
38
5
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
38
5
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bars and restaurants fantastic location train station schanzenviertel pajama noise neighborhood german city
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 96 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2018

I was looking forward to my stay in this boutique hotel. However, due to adverse weather conditions and ensuing train cancellations, I had to call off my entire trip. The hotel staff was very friendly and compassionate, giving me a full refund. I hope I'll make it another time!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Service
Thank Reini Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

Whoever built this hotel definitely had the word "creative" in mind. The rooms are all themed differently, and very clean and comfortable inside. This hotel has access to many places to eat, shop, and walk around, and is literally across the street from the train station, where it takes a 3-minute train ride to get to the Hamburg Hauptbahnhof and city center. Mildy pricey, but definitely worth it! Free wifi and tons of information about the city and tourism available. It's a little hard to find because the entrance is laid back from the sidewalk and sandwiched closely between two other buildings, so watch for the sign sticking out over the sidewalk.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank resviolist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

We found this hotel in a sort of last second hunt for a place to stay in Hamburg and we got lucky! :)
The place is in a trendy and lively area, got a train station right in front of it and it's walking distance to a lot of bars and restaurants plus some nice shopping.
Kinda hard to find since it's a door in between a bakery and a restaurant and the lobby is a bit small.
No elevator, but there's only one flight of stairs...
We got a room facing an inner courtyard, it was nice and quiet although it smelled a bit of food, probably from the restaurants around.
The room was nice and clean, very spacious, very well made and so was the bathroom (high water pressure makes for an amazing shower!).
The hotel has a nice funky design and it's very well kept and clean.
There's no parking for the hotel but there are several parking spots around and they are free.
The staff is nice and helpful and speaks perfect English although all the material (brochures and guides) was in German, pity cause they seemed very interesting.
All in all it was a pleasant stay and we enjoyed it very much.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FOL501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanbehrmann, Manager at Fritz im Pyjama Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear FOL501,
Thank you very much for taking your time to share your thoughts and experience on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. Thank you also for your advice regarding the information material - normally there should be an exemplar in English too.
We certainly look forward to welcome you back in the future, to experience even more of what we have to offer.
Best regards,
Your
Fritz im Pyjama team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017 via mobile

Nice location, in a lively neighborhood with good places to eat and shop. Rooms are clean, comfortable, originally styled. Wi-fi works well.
Definitely overpriced for what the hotel has to offer. Service is lacking and hotel reception is open only at certain times.
Overall, not worth the price. Plenty of better options at that price.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Sophieandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanbehrmann, Inhaber at Fritz im Pyjama Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Dear Sophieandt,

Thank you for posting a review following your recent stay at our Fritz im Pyjama.
We are very sorry that you were not satisfied with our price-performance ratio.
Our reception is open from 7 a.m. to 21 p.m. In case you have any questions while the reception is closed you can reach us (24/7) under 004940-314838.
Thank you once again for your feedback!
Best regards,
Your
Fritz-im-Pyjama team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

Fritz im Pyjama is located in the famous Schanzenviertel in Hamburg.
The location is absolutely fantastic - lots of restaurants, pubs and sightseeing can be done by walking and the nearby train station provides easy access to the city's extensive public transport system.

The hotel has a unique style, with all rooms laid out on only one floor and every room with a slightly different style. A real boutique hotel feeling - nicely designed rooms.

The staff is very friendly and has tips for nearby places to visit. The reception is NOT occupied 24 hours - but provides a universal key that opens the front door. This may be the only disadvantage - no room service and/or 24h reception.

The rooms are actually quite spacious, nice and clean. However, if you have a room that goes out to the street, it will be rather noisy. Try to get a room to the backyard.
The hotel does not have a dining / breakfast room. But you can order breakfast to be brought to the room. Nice service actually.

Free WiFi is available.

Side note: the hotel has a "sister hotel" called "Pyjama im Park" with a similar style which is around 5 minutes walking distance.

Overall great value for money, fantastic location - I will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews