We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Madison Hamburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Madison Hamburg
Ranked #3 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

Our flight arrived 10 am and we went to hotel to drop our luggages but reception said that our room is ready for us and we don't have to wait until 2 pm.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JyrkiM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    705
    219
    26
    7
    0
See reviews for
142
347
50
305
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Stayed here recently whilst in Hamburg on business. Fantastic hotel in a great location. (5 mins walk from the office I was working in and 15 mins walk from the Portuguese quarter with some nice bars and resturants).

The room was first class, very specious with great en suite. Bed was very comfy and got a great nights sleep on both nights. The room also had good Wi-Fi connection as well as a great work area. The electric hob and sink with the mini bar was a new one on me, but was a good idea.

Only think I would mark the hotel down is that the plug for the kettle was hidden away and on a top shelf so condensation went everywhere, also it didnt matter what you did to the A/C unit but the tempreture remained the same! minor niggles and nothing that really worried me!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
505 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

Welcomed by name and checked in without fuss. Offered a table reservation for dinner and a well stocked mini bar in the room.

This remains a fanstastic hotel this year celebrating its 18th year. I stay frequently and the standard is always high with excellent attention to detail form all the staff.

Gym next door is very wel equipped and although there is a charge it is not too expensive. The hotel is close to numerous restaurants and bars if you want to get out and also close the S bahn rail network.

Well done all round a superb quality hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart_Away_Again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

Booked a studio for 2 days. Room was huge. Furnishings of a good quality although bit too classic for my taste. Breakfast was ok but selection of hot foods very limited. Woken up at 7am one morning by loud dance music coming up from downstairs fitness centre. This lasted for an hour. This was only for one morning (on a Monday) and couldn't be bothered to complain to change room as was leaving next day (Tuesday morning all was quiet from downstairs). Reception staff very knowledgeable and all smiles, definitely make you feel valued.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank KayCeeUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

We originally went to Rome for a few days for our honemoon and this was supposed to just be a bonus trip, but this was way beyond our expectations. The hotel was wonderful. The staff were so friendly and gave us a bottle of wine when they found out we were recently married. There were facilities for washing and drying clothes (came in handy on the last day after a morning visit to the spa), and we had plenty of tea/coffee and room in the fridge for water etc. The spa was great too, although you are asked not to wear costumes/shorts in the jacuzzi and saunas, which I was a little uncomfortable with, but I am a prude Brit!
The location was wonderful. We came to visit the Christmas markets and found a wonderful route from the hotel to the lakes via a few markets for gluehwein.
I think this hotel was spot on. Its a shame they aren't a chain as they have thought of everything, as they claim. They even had some haribo on the front desk!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fezray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#7 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#4 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,122 reviews
Neustadt
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neustadt
Adina Apartment Hotel Hamburg Michel
Eimsbüttel
NH Collection Hamburg City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Madison Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Madison Hamburg

Property: The Madison Hamburg
Address: Schaarsteinweg 4, 20459 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Neustadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#3 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#7 Family Hotel in Hamburg
Price range (per night): $198 - $472
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Madison Hamburg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Madison Hotel Hamburg with its 166 rooms is ideally situated between the Elbphilharmonie, the Speicherstadt and the city, just below the town's emblem - the Michel. From our hotel, you can reach all places of interest on foot and explore Hamburg. We provide excellent transport connections to the highways as well as to the public transport. All of our rooms and suites are at least 35 m² large and offer, amongst other things, a spacious working area with state-of-the-art technology and a large and comfortable bed with a high-quality mattress. A spacious bathroom and a fully equipped kitchenette with refrigerator await you in your air-conditioned room. Our Marleys restaurant presents a wide range of Euro-Asian and international dishes. The breakfast buffet is served from 06:30 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. and on Sundays even until noon. Directly in the house, there is the 3,500 m² Meridian Spa fitness and wellness oasis. Our guests can use the Meridian Spa until noon free of charge and afterwards after paying a reduced daily price. The spacious thermal bath area and the nice massages with aroma oils promise you peace and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your The Madison Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamburg Madison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing