We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,390)
Filter reviews
1,390 results
Traveller rating
861
306
131
43
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
861
306
131
43
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviews james bond grand old hotel classic hotel beautiful hotel alster lake a wonderful stay nespresso machine deluxe room room service great bar train station business trip rooms are spacious shopping area reception area breakfast buffet main station
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,390 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We travel a lot and normally just need a decent place to crash at night after a full day of exploring the area. If we're traveling by train, as we often do in Europe, we like to find a hotel not too far from the train station since we're hauling our bags. This hotel fit that bill and seemed to be nicer than most for the money. Well what a pleasant surprise! We got a great room with extra perks and just couldn't have been happier.

Head concierge, Marco and his co-worker we're wonderful!! Giving us great tips on what to do and where to go for the three days we had in Hamburg. Cleaning staff made up our room twice a day if needed. All the staff members we're friendly and helpful.

Would definitely stay here again!!

It was definitely worth the money

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018

The Kempinskis is still one of the most reknown hotels in Hamburg and it still has it's charme.

The service is excellent as you would expect it from any Kempinksi / 5 star hotel. You'll also get your preffered newsletter every morning and they would keep this as well as other preferences for future visits.

Rooms are very spacious. The Kempinski is trying to find a good balance between modern design elements and the old rich spirit, from my point of view that didn't work perfectly. Sometimes the rooms are just impractical, e.g., thinking of two hand mixers in the bathroom or the anti-logical programming of light switches. However, I really love some of the feature such as the floor heating in the bathroom.

Rooms - If you have GHA status, you'll get some other benefits like room upgrades or fruit baskets. That works most of the times, but sometimes they seem to forget it. Room upgrades are critical in the Kempinski as with the basic rate you'll probably get a smelly room on the first floor with super soft / worn down beds. It's impossible to sleep in those! Newer rooms on the upper floors don't have the same problem and that seems to be the only differentiating factor I could find as size and equipment of the rooms are comparable.
More than once, my room has not been cleaned properly when I arrived. Half-empty welcome water bottles, used towels etc. This is not acceptable for any hotel.

Wifi - The free wifi works for most things you'll need to do. If you need to do data intense tasks in the evening, you'll probably have to buy the speedy connection or wait for after the peak hours (7-11pm).

Gym - The so called gym is a joke and should be the reason to downgrade this hotel to a 4 star place. If this is a gym, I'll buy myself a yoga mat and take entry fees at home too. Pool and sauna are ok, but very small. Two of the three weeks I wanted to try the sauna, it has been broken.

Breakfast - there is a broad variety of hot and cold dishes. The scrambled eggs are just a powder, a bit disppointing for a 5star hotel. Since there is no live-cooking for eggs, you'll have to order egg dishes and expect a rather long waiting time. Fine for leisure, but defintely not working for business travellers. As a big salami fan I always get disappointed with the options I'll get at the Kempinski, however the selection of pastries and bread as above standard. For breakfast lovers, the Hyatt is probably a better hotel choice.

Overall, the Kempinski still has it's charme and is situated perfectly. On a company rate, it a good pick, but assuming standard rates and subject to the occasion I'd prefer the Reichshof or Hyatt.

Room Tip: Don't take any room on the first floor
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littleUHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

One of the all-times Best Hotel experiences. Service was second to none. Very friendly staff.

Breakfast buffet was very delicious.

Spacious rooms and beds were very comfortable.

Situated in perfect distance to the City - to the art museum (Kunsthalle) - to the beautiful Alster.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank gomezholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018 via mobile

Everything about this hotel is superb. Our room (312) had a splendid view across the lake. There is a major highway between the hotel and this lake but superb sound proofing meant that all was quiet.
The room was spacious and well appointed with comfortable beds and easy chairs.
There were plenty of sockets for charging phones and computers. The wifi is reliable. The air conditioning is quiet and efficient.
The public areas are impressive.
All of the staff were friendly and helpful. Marco the Head Concierge was particularly knowledgable and helpful.
The breakfast spread was really extensive.
This hotel is how we shall always remember Hamburg.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank rhyshedges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018

We had a really nice stay at Kempinski Hamburg. The room was very nice designed and really clean. We travel with our big dog and we must say that the hotel is true professional in welcoming us. The service throughout our stay was great, and so was the rich breakfast buffet. The only small details that wasn´t so great was when we ordered breakfast to our room (poor quality) and also the fact that the construction work in a part of the hotel was really disturbing.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Fredrik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews