We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality food served”
Review of Carls Bistro

Carls Bistro
Ranked #151 of 4,155 Restaurants in Hamburg
Price range: USD 34 - USD 57
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Carls is situated right next to the Elbphilharmonie. It is the gastronomic offshoot of the Hotel Louis C. Jacob. The interior of the restaurant also has a harmonious feel. Its colourful appearance makes it look rather like a harbour office or a corner shop. You sit on red chairs or on red leather couches, and enjoy the view of Hamburg harbour. In fine weather, of course, you can also sit out and enjoy the terrace. The Brasserie can seat 120 people, the Bistro can seat 40 and the venue is therefore ideal for events. The Carls offers North German cuisine refined with French influences that the chef Michael Rinkert has introduced from his native Alsace.
Reviewed 7 December 2017

I was in the Elbphilharmonie area and was looking for reasonable non-fine dining restaurant. I came across the cafe/bar part of this restaurant serving up French bistro inspired soups and sandwiches. Food was reasonably priced, well prepared, and doled out in generous servings. Service was good for this level of restaurant.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank WorldWanderer88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (506)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 506 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2017

This bistro is directly opposite the Elbphilharmonie, so will be busy around performances!
However, we chose it following a guided tour of the Concert hall and it was nice a quite. The service was good and quick and there was decent choice of food including veggie options. Nothing fancy, but good wholesome food, served hot and eaten in a nice atmosphere. Staff were helpful and competent.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

We popped in to the Brasserie for a late lunch after visiting the Elbphilharmonie and without a reservation, and were given a nice window seat which we were told we would have to vacate in 2 hours, which wasn't a problem. We ordered a large beef bourguignon and a pan fried fish with potatoes. Both were delicious and generous portions. Our desserts were the apple crumble and an Opéra, again both very good. With a bottle of water, 2 beers and a small carafe of wine our bill was €102. Good, fast service.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank PotterMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Louis_C_Jacob, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Carls Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Thank you for your nice Feedback!

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

We went because it was relaxed and close to the harbour. I am sure it has a great view and fantastic place to sit outside on a summer day. But on a cold and windy autumn evening the food was not really that good (besides the soup), and we just felt dissatisfied.
Grab a beer and the soup (not the sandwiches/breads) on a sunny day

Thank Eliz3-2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Louis_C_Jacob, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Carls Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Thank you for your Feedback.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

We walked there from the hotel. The food was good, plentiful and fresh. We ordered the sandwich which are served on one piece of bread. Good coffee.

Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Louis_C_Jacob, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Carls Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Thank you for your Feedback.

We are looking forward, to welcome you again at our Restaurant.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carls Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Carls Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing