We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Very nice day out

We had a very nice day out visiting Spandau. A nice market, the Rathaus, some good shops and... read more

Reviewed 20 January 2018
Andyhud
,
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Day trip to a City district

If it's your third or fourth visit to Berlin- we enjoyed a day trip on the UBahn to see Spandau... read more

Reviewed 1 February 2017
Mwfsd
,
Dublin, Ireland
Read all 119 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Berlin
from USD 113.10
More Info
from USD 27.10
More Info
from USD 98.10
More Info
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
10
9
9
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
9
9
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2018

We had a very nice day out visiting Spandau. A nice market, the Rathaus, some good shops and restaurants and a old Church. If you have time and are looking for things to do, this will certainly fill some time visiting this very old town which is beautiful.

Thank Andyhud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

This little square and village is nice. But it's surrounded by suburban sprawl. It's not terribly enthralling or rich in sights. I would take a pass, but it's nice for what it is.

1  Thank Vincent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2017

In a normal Altstadt there are some really nice old buildings, memorials, etc. Here you have a gothic house, a church and some Fachwerhaus. That is all.

Thank 545medva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2017

If it's your third or fourth visit to Berlin- we enjoyed a day trip on the UBahn to see Spandau. Mentioned in our twenty year old guide book we laughed about it afterwards but it had lovely little shops and cafes. Enjoyed a typical hot chocolate, bought some presents, took some photos and enjoyed watching all the locals going about their daily tasks. I was intrigued that there was a seemingly successful local economy of small businesses, something very challenging in small town Ireland.

1  Thank Mwfsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2016

Really nice christmas market, especially the historical part directly in front of the church has a wonderful atmosphere

1  Thank Steffi02041987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2016

Went especially as we had read up before visiting that this was a great Christmas market. Extensive yes and not too busy. Also had a 'viking' bit which was very authentic and the nativity scene with live animals was lovely (although not too sure about the animal welfare aspect so please don't shoot me down for that comment !). I'm not into 'Rock and Roll' on a daily basis but this was advertised as such so to see a small stage with a band on it as opposed to an 'experience' was a let down. Very authentic stalls around but a mobile phone unlocking stall and some random bloke selling cheap fake leather goods certainly didn't add to the festive ambience !! Had high hopes for this but left disappointed due to what we were promised in the promotional literature. Nice pint on an offstreet bar though although we were stared at throughout as we were the only non-German people in the place !

Thank Tarndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

One of the best Christmas markets around Berlin. Catch the uBahn and enjoy this lovely town and its Christmas market.

Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

We did a bit of research on line for Christmas Markets in Berlin and this one was declared the largest so we grabbed a U barn and headed out there. It's a very pretty village but this was definitely a case of quantity versus quality. The Market stretches all around the village streets but really wasn't as good as others we went to in Berlin itself. I'm sorry not really worth the effort

2  Thank Mistyb1302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2016

Very attractive and quiter than the rest of Berlin. Easy to get to on the metro. I would like to stay there.

Thank Annwyn49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

Jumping the U7 Ubahn down to Altstadt Spandau is a must on any trip to Berlin as it's so nice to escape the hussle and bussle of Berlin
To me Spandau has more of a village feel to it with a much more sedate pace and there are some interesting sites here.
The Citadel is impressive and Gothic House is beautiful while the Rathaus is a dominating building that looks superb when viewed from afar.
I always go to Brauhaus Spandau for a lovely meal and sample their delicious beer's .
There are some nice streets to stroll around and in the centre you have the beautiful Church of St Nicholas.
If your in Berlin over the Christmas period then I highly recommend you visit the wonderful Christmas market held here also,it's very pretty and extremely popular.
With great transport links from Berlin central directly to the Altstadt getting here is not a problem.
A great afternoon out and an area I highly recommend you visit .

Thank 293neilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews