We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and service”
Review of Melia Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Berlin
Ranked #27 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I recently stayed in this hotel for 3 nights to celebrate my 5 year anniversary with my boyfriend and as everyone says, the location is fantastic (right next to the Freidrichstrasse station and in a very central location), the rooms are very large and modern and the staff at reception were very helpful and welcoming. There are two restaurants in the hotel, the tapas bar and a more upmarket pricey restaurant upstairs. When we stayed there they had an offer of 15 euros per person per night to spend in the hotel, so we had the 5 course meal on offer at the latter and it was excellent, with a table with a lovely view over the river. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,002 - 2,006 of 5,261 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2012

Melia Berlin is very well located. Only 3 minutes walk to the Friedrichstrasse S-Bahn/ U-Bahn station and there were many eateries around the area. There was also a supermarket, food outlets and a postal office at the S-Bahn station which was very useful. Being located on Friedrichstrasse meant that you were only about 10-15mins walk away from the designer shops on Friedrichstrasse including Quartier 206 and Galeries Lafayette. Museum island was a 10 min walk away and we actually walked all the way to Alexanderplatz from Museum island thereafter.

We had a room overlooking the Spree. The room was well furbished and we liked it very much. It was most amazing to be able to open the balcony room doors at night to check out the night scenery and also, just before we checked out of the hotel, it started snowing in Berlin, so it was like having front row seats to the surrounding area turning white with snow within a matter of minutes.

The only minor blemish in the stay was when we requested for a taxi at point of check out. The porter had gone off with some luggages for other guests so we checked at the front desk. The front desk pointed us to the taxi which was sitting out in the cold but when we got out there, there was no taxi driver. I went back in to check with the front desk again for a taxi, but the lady told me to go out there and just wait. We waited for 5-10 mins to no avail (driver was nowhere to be found) and we ended up running onto the main road to hail our own taxi. We are not prima donnas and are perfectly capable of getting our own taxis - but just that, at that point it felt as no one from the hotel / front desk could be bothered with us the moment we stepped out of the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank h00ked0ntravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Spent 2 nights on a quick business trip at the Melia. Very easy to get to from the airport - just take the Airport Express train and get off at Friedrichstrasse (one stop past Alexanderplatz) and the hotel is less than a minutes' walk from the station. Access to the S Bahn, U Bahn, trams all within 2 minutes walk so the hotel is perfectly located in the centre of the city.

Lovely interior and very comfortable rooms. Had dinner at the tapas restaurant on the first night which was very good and reasonably priced. The only improvement that I could recommend would be to install wifi but will happily stay at this hotel on my next trip.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doctor_P_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Good stay in the Melia.
The room view wasnt the best however the good rooms compensatyed for this.
When booking, I was almost certain that easytobook had said immediate payment was required becasue of the special rate. At checkout we had to pay our rate, but upon checkin my bank account, at booking we were not charged. So all was good.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank ASLondon86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

I booked the Melia Hotel after reading the good reviews on Tripadvisor, and also because it is close to Friederichstrasse train station, which looked fairly straightforward to reach from the airport on the train. We were very pleased with our choice. The hotel is well located in "The Mitte", 5 minutes walk from Museum Island, The Reichstag and the Brandemburg Gate. The hotel can be reached fairly easily from the airport by the express train (25-40 mins depending on whether the train is direct) - that said, I researched the times and numbers of the trains before we left the UK, and I am pleased I did as it was not that obvious at the airport which train to get.
Our room was very clean and pleasantly furnished with a lovely bathroom. The beds were a little soft for our liking, but the linen was very clean and good quality, with a variety of different pillow types. Our room cost an average of £70 per night (we were there 3 nights over half term) excluding breakfast, which I thought was very reasonable given the standard of the hotel. Breakfast was initially priced at 22 euros per person per day, which we declined, as this is well above what I am prepared to pay. However, after discussion with the staff on reception, we found that if we applied for a "Mas" card (the hotel chain reward scheme - free to join), breakfast was discounted to 11 euros. We thought this a pretty good deal, and I have to say the breakfast was of a very high standard. I could have scoffed the whole fresh bread table! As we booked the room direct through the hotel website, we also benefitted from a special offer of 15 euros per person per day to spend in the hotel (excluding breakfast). We ate in the tapas bar one night, and spent the rest on drinks in the bar, both of which were very nice. There was even a pianist playing one night which I love. Unfortunately, the following night they screened the football in the bar instead, but this did at least please my husband!
Staff were helpful and friendly, and I would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KittyJoyNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte Friedrichstrasse
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 633 in Berlin
1,917 reviews
Mitte
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
#65 of 633 in Berlin
1,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Hilton Berlin
Hilton Berlin
#66 of 633 in Berlin
4,688 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Berlin

Address: Friedrichstrasse 103, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Berlin
#15 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#22 Family Hotel in Berlin
#24 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#32 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: $134 - $410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Berlin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Meliá Berlin! Our rooms and suites are the perfect place to switch off from the world and enjoy the fine detail. All 364 rooms are bright and spacious and offer a seating area as well as bidet and heated bathroom floors. At our Restaurant Café Madrid you can expect fresh products and the best creative international and regional signature cuisine with views to the river Spree. Feel Spanish passion, enjoy culinary delights and let your senses be spoiled by traditional and innovative tapas in the Meliá tapas bar. Located in the heart of the German Capital, directly at Friedrichstraße and next to the River Spree it is just a few minutes walk to monuments and major attractions such as the Brandenburg Gate, Museums Island or Alexanderplatz. The Melia Berlin is the perfect choice to explore the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Melia Hotels APAC, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Melia Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Berlin Hotel Berlin
Berlin Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing