We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amstel House Hostel
Nearby Hotels
USD 164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
USD 282
USD 265
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
USD 112
USD 98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 150
USD 129
Mercure
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
USD 188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 175
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 200/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 408
USD 336
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (332)
Filter reviews
332 results
Traveller rating
104
147
49
15
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
147
49
15
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbbq nightroom doors areping pongcheap barschool tripgreat kitchenyoung peoplepublic transport in berlinmetro stationu bahn stopshared bathroomclean roomsfree wifia great staystayed here for nightsearly checkcomfortable stay
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 332 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2015 via mobile

We were staying in this hostel in March, as a group and I was really satisfied with it. Rooms were clean, showers too. I don't know about the breakfast because we didn't try it. The best thing was a lobby, especially at the evening/night. Bar works 24/7, there's always a lot of young people from different countries, with different experiences. There is a happy hour when you can buy all beers for just 1 euro.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Nikolina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2015

We visited in July 2015 there were 4 of us all English from Newcastle Upon Tyne. Great English speaking staff very helpful the guy on the front desk (pretty big w/ a beard) at the time was chill and pretty cool. The common rooms downstairs are a great place to meet friends we ended up on some pretty crazy nights out to Matrix berlin with random people from the lobby.

The room was clean the plug sockets worked ( hallelujah ) and the communal showers etc were very clean also.

The little trip into berlin city centre didn't really bother us there is uber in berlin and we ended up using that a fair amount of the time because the guy on reception would just tap where we needed to go. There was also some easy shops etc all around the hostel and a bakery fast food thing that were all across europe that I've forgotten the name of.

When we had checked out they let us keep our bags in a locked secure storage area and we had a full day in berlin and they were fine with looking after the bags even though we were checked out. Was really happy with customer service all round.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2015

Very nice&helpful staff, 4-bed-rooms for great price, cozy&chill hall, useful common areas and you can even do your laundry! They are really helpful and understanding.
Of course it is up to your budget, but in my approach (I've been to 3 other hostels in Berlin), for this price you can't get better atmosphere and quality! Amstel House's location is also well-connected by public transport. And for those who travel with huge luggages, there's an elevator at Turmstr. U9 U-bahn station! Enjoy your trip :)!

Room Tip: The best price-performance ratio
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iikberlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2015 via mobile

A great, friendly, laid back place to stay!
We only stayed for a night. When we got there we were running from a bad experience with
couchsurfing host.
Entering the place we got a great vibe from the front desk guy. You could see everyone having a great time from backpackers to families with little ones.
We are from Milwaukee where people are friendly and customer service its really what it should really be and this place really fits that.

I would definitely look into booking with them again.

Place wasn't spotless clean, but it wasn't as bad as other reviews say. Or maybe I was there when they had recently clean.

Other thing they could improve is their Wifi our room had very poor wifi signal.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
Thank elizasm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2514
Reviewed 21 October 2015 via mobile

Was pretty clean and an okay room (4bedroom dorm) although it's not to close to the center of town. Breakfast was very average!!! Not a lot of variety in Resturants close by. Proably wouldn't stay here again although it was okay for the price.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews