We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch between Museum Visits”
Review of Allegretto

Allegretto
Ranked #2,133 of 9,800 Restaurants in Berlin
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Neighbourhood: Museum Island
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Museum Island
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed a casual lunch of a club sandwich and cool drinks. After a couple of hours in the Pergamon, this break was welcome before venturing through the Neues Museum. The waitress was very helpful and provided good service. The cafe’s decor complements the remainder of the building. The cafe was not overly busy, and importantly, it was not in a cafeteria style. It was relaxing and unhurried.
Thanks for your vote.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank TWal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaLKa, Manager at Allegretto, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Dear, TWal1, thank you so much for your kind review. It was a pleasure having you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2018

Very nice cafe with narrow seating along both sides of the aisle. Really could be larger but I understand the location does not allow it. We were fortunate to find a table for the two of us at a table for four, the only table that was open. We saw many people walk in and then out for lack of seating. We would have gladly shared our table if anyone had asked. The service here is very friendly and prompt. We both had Ice Coffee, which was welcomed because the museum is very warm and not well air conditioned.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank traveltheworld012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaLKa, Manager at Allegretto, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2018

Dear Traveltheworld012,
thank you very much for your kind review. This is much appreciated. Hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018 via mobile

I went to this cafe with my family 2 times already, and had a nice time at both times.
I had a Apfelstrudel the last time, and it was just amazing! It was a very large portion, and I just loved it!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Ana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaLKa, Manager at Allegretto, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Dear Ana, this sounds wonderful!
You probably mean the Allegretto Gran Caffé, right? Not the one inside the Neues Museum. We will pass it on to our collegues. Thank you for your feedback an come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

We were a group of 5 travelling in Berlin. One of us sat down in Allegretto, outside, while the others explored the museums. That one person ordered drinks.

In a short while two of us joined her. It did started raining while walking there, so we were wet. Since the table the first person was sitting at was by the Spree and therefore a little bit windier, as well the parasol was leaking down on my back we asked to sit at another table, further from the Spree and were the parasol was not leaking. The staff-member said no, that was not possible. I told him I felt uncomfortable, wet and cold. He just told me that it stopped raining. Well I was still wet and the wind cooling me down.

At that point we wanted to leave, to a place that let us sit where there wasn't wind. But didn't.
When the last people of our group joined, we told them that we didn't want to sit there anymore. And stood up. The staff member started cleaning up our table and new guests sat down at it within 2 min.

While finding out if we were walking to right or left, stood at the Pavement that is public area and not private to the cafe, not blocking new guests (who already sat down at our table) and not blocking traffic of other people, we stood there for maybe 2-4 min. This same person came to us and asking us to move away from the cafe. This was very rude, since we were not "passer byers" we were customers who just left and were finding were to go. Being tourists that takes a little bit longer than for locals and a café near a tourist spot like this should know.

We reminded him that we were not in the way of anyone and now all his tables were full, as well as this was a public pavement. He didn't care.

In this area, there are a lot of cafes and restaurants, that hold the same selection of drinks with same prices, so we recommend that you pick out one of the others.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Þórdís Þ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaLKa, Manager at Allegretto, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2018

Dear Þórdís Þ, we understand your anger, but you are adressing the wring location. We are the café inside the Neues Museum. You probably mean the Allegretto Gran Caffé.
Nevertheless, we are very sorry for your bad expereience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

The menu indicates which dish contains allergens. In addition, staff are very helpful in clarifying further.

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank 905notyet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaLKa, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Allegretto, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Thanks a lot!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Allegretto also viewed

 

Been to Allegretto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing