We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unhelpful and rude staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
ONE80 Hostels Berlin
Ranked #25 of 358 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Reviewed 13 September 2017

My group of 7 arrived late at night and upon check in we were told that they did not have the 7 person room, which we had booked 4 months in advance, available. They told us that we would have to be split into parties of 5 and 2. One of the rooms we were given was of a much higher standard than the other; very spacious and it even had a balcony, the other was extremely cramped and uncomfortable to stay in, as I stayed in this room personally. Despite these stark differences, we were all made to pay the same price for our respective rooms. I went to reception to ask why this was and if there was anything that could be done so that my group could stay together. However, I was met by two very unhelpful and unwelcoming gentlemen who told me that nothing could be offered to me due to the Lollapalooza festival being played that weekend in the city. This was very disappointing service, and I can't help but feel like my trip to Berlin was ruined due to the split up. I would be more understanding of this if we had made a last minute booking, however this was not the case.
The bunk beds in the rooms were also extremely light and flimsy, meaning that if you were in the bottom bunk and the person sleeping above you, you were woken by their slightest movement.

Room Tip: The tenth floor had spacious rooms with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chloe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azure-Hotels-Berlin, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at ONE80 Hostels Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Hello Chloe,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hostel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbance you have experienced during your stay due to the room conditions.
Due to the booking of 7 beds and not the entire room, we are able to assign you in different rooms. We always try to keep you in one room, but the most of the time is it not possible. For the next time just book a 8 bed room instead of 7 beds. Yes at this Weekend we could not offer you your Reservation in the same room.
We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,
Veronika

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,460)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 20 of 1,460 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2017

A year ago, in Hamburg, a German woman told us that modesty isn't really a thing for German people in comparison to the British. This was epitomised in the sharing bathrooms at ONE80 hostel in Berlin where the showers lacked any sort of door and, thus, my decency - perhaps, splurge a little on the private rooms (which might be ensuite) if this is going to be a problem. Situated by the Alexanderplatz, it is still not the most central hostel as it took about 40 minutes to an hour to reach places like the Brandenburg Gate and Checkpoint Charlie but with the ease of the Berlin underground, most places are still quite easy to access.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miniscots2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azure-Hotels-Berlin, Leiter Gästebetreuung at ONE80 Hostels Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Thank you very much for rating your stay with three stars. It is great to see that you had a comfortable sleep and you enjoyed the food served in our restaurant. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back for another great stay. Kind regards, Veronika

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

The hostel is located just off Alexanderplatz, which is ideal. Clean rooms and bathrooms. However, the key cards were faulty and that was a nightmare because you needed them all over the hostel. Also, there was no kitchen facility in the hostel, and the food/drink was overpriced. One of the staff was quite unfriendly upon check-in also. Could be better!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azure-Hotels-Berlin, Leiter Gästebetreuung at ONE80 Hostels Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Thank you very much for rating your stay with three stars. It is great to see that you had a comfortable sleep and you enjoyed the food served in our restaurant. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back for another great stay. Kind regards, Veronika

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

We booked ourselves into a room without a private bathroom, under the assumption that the shared bathrooms would at least have shower curtains and individual shower cubicles. What the hostel fails to mention on their website is that it's just wide open showers with not an ounce of privacy. We complained to one of the employees, Robert, and he was very unhelpful and told us there was nothing he could do. Eventually, after speaking to him once again, he referred us to his manager Veronika. The next morning we spoke to Veronika and she took our room number. We came back that evening to find out that we had been moved to a room with a private bathroom. We were very pleased at the quick resolution. The hostel overall was very nice, and extremely clean. I would recommend staying here as it is very centrally located but make sure that if you would like privacy, to book a room with a private bathroom. I'm sure that the shared showers are a frequent complaint and one that can be easily solved by installing a few poles and shower curtains to individualise the cubicles slightly.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank neevmarsh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azure-Hotels-Berlin, Leiter Gästebetreuung at ONE80 Hostels Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hostel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbance you have experienced during your stay due to the room conditions. We are happy that you spoke to us during your stay, so we could deal with your complaint and find a solution. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,
Veronika

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

I stayed here with some friends for a cheap weekend away in Berlin. There is a cool bar/reception that has plenty of people around to chat to. You are given your own bed sheets to take to your room with you, towels attract a charge. We got a private room for four. It was perfectly clean, but basic, as you would expect of be hostel. The private bathroom was more than adequate. A good choice for a cheap Berlin stay!

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Alexander C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azure-Hotels-Berlin, Leiter Gästebetreuung at ONE80 Hostels Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Thank you so much for your review of our hostel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.

Sincerely,
Veronika

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Heart of Gold Hostel
Heart of Gold Hostel
#13 of 358 in Berlin
733 reviews
Mitte
Generator Hostel Berlin Mitte
Prenzlauer Berg
Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
The Circus Hostel
The Circus Hostel
#3 of 358 in Berlin
1,280 reviews
Friedrichshain
Sunflower Hostel
Sunflower Hostel
#28 of 358 in Berlin
388 reviews
Mitte
Wombat's Berlin
Wombat's Berlin
#8 of 358 in Berlin
1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ONE80 Hostels Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ONE80 Hostels Berlin

Address: Otto-Braun-Str. 65 | 10178 Berlin, 10178 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 358 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Price Range: $25 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — ONE80 Hostels Berlin 2*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ONE80° is stylish, modern and far more than just a place to crash. 705 cosy beds wih cool gimmicks directly in the heart of Berlin, only 300m away form the Alexanderplatz. Most dorms have their own chic bathroom. For less money you can also book a room with shared bath. Choose between 4, 6, 8 bed dorms, including linen. On each floor we have rooms which are handicapped accessible. Our Breakfast-buffet offers more than just Toast and Cornflakes. Start your day in Berlin with a nutritious first meal and a end it with an cold drink in our Lobby Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your ONE80 Hostels Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing