We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of The Mandala Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Mandala Hotel
Ranked #8 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 8 January 2012

The hotel is close to Potsdamer Platz train station and the Sony Centre. Plenty of restaurants and bars in the vicinity. Hotel is very modern, smooth and sleek. Staff were polite and very helpful. The cocktail bar on the first floor is great to start the night. The room was large and comfortable. Sofa and chairs, writing desk and balcony. Huge bathroom, well stocked wtih towels and robes. Spa on the top floor. I had a full back and neck massage - it was excellent. The breakfasts were delicious. Plenty of buffet style food and a hot choice of eggs, any style and bacon. Great views from the smaller of the dining rooms. would love to return to Berlin, 3 days not long enough to see all the sights, and I would definately stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,273)
There are newer reviews for The Mandala Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,076 - 1,080 of 2,273 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2012

I have stayed in many 5 star hotels in my life, and The Mandala Hotel is one the nicest places I have stayed. First of all, the service was impeccable. We spent 2 nights in Berlin and both nights we spent our first drink in the hotel bar, which was amazing. Great wine, complimentary nibbles and perfect ambience. The breakfast was delicious. So much to choose from and they offer you freshly cooked hot breakfast on top of the wide selection on the breakfast bar. The room was very spacious, with a view over the street of postdamer strasse and the sony centre which was such a treat. The bath was massive, it was like having your own spa! A tip is to get the 200 bus just outside the hotel to the Zoo then hop onto the 100 bus which takes you to all the sites around berlin at a small cost. Only negative was the pillows! Had to ask for more as they were so flat! If I were staying in Berlin again, Mandala would be my choice.

Room Tip: ask for a view of the street facing the sony centre! It is so entertaining watching everyone!
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussieace88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

The Mandela Hotel is an excellent hotel. It is ideally situated for tourists wishing to do a spot of sightseeing or shopping. The suites are spacious, well appointment and are well maintained. The staff are very friendly, professional and helpful. The spa is the perfect way to relax after a long day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

First trip to Berlin and the hotel selection was a home run, yup we are American. The location, room, spa, breakfast and staff were among the very best we have experienced home or abroad.
We received assistance with restaurant booking prior to our visit and thoughtful service through out our stay. Not sure when we will return to Berlin but Mandala will be our choice.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

This hotel was just gorgeous. Attention to detail in the hotels design carried through to their service. Great location in Potsdamer Platz. Was right next to a Christmas market as well. We stayed in a Studio room that was very spacious. Bath in the bathroom and ample storage in the wardrobe. I particular liked how sweet the whole hotel smelt - very homely and relaxing. Would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone going to Berlin.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaranLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 635 in Berlin
1,845 reviews
Charlottenburg
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Grand Hyatt Berlin
#22 of 635 in Berlin
3,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#13 of 635 in Berlin
831 reviews
Mitte
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
#15 of 635 in Berlin
3,505 reviews
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#5 of 635 in Berlin
1,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mandala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mandala Hotel

Address: Potsdamer Strasse 3, 10785 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Madison Potsdamer Platz)
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: $210 - $523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mandala Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to THE MANDALA HOTEL - the only privately managed 5 Star superior hotel in the heart of the city. This is where your perfect Berlin stay begins. In the centre of the city only a few walking minutes away from famous sights like the Brandenburg Gate or Reichstag, situated at Potsdamer Platz, this design hotel provides harmonic experiences for the senses. THE MANDALA HOTEL features the most spacious rooms in Berlin, the 2 Michelin star restaurant FACIL, premium ONO Spa as well as the QIU Restaurant & Bar and modern meeting rooms. All 158 studios and suites are equipped with highest quality materials and offer a perfect home away from home combined with individual service. The FACIL restaurant provides a refreshing combination of light, elegant fare in an avant-garde atmosphere of pure luxury, located on the inner courtyard of THE MANDALA HOTEL. The architectural design is as exceptional as the cuisine itself: a green oasis surrounded by bamboo and water fountains provides a year-round view of the stars for gourmet dining under an unclouded sky. Chef de cuisine is Michael Kempf - his style of cooking is modern and creative using exclusively fresh and mostly local products. A word of holistic well-being and inner peace high above Berlin can be found at the premium ONO Spa. In a 600m² space overlooking the city of Berlin, the ONO Spa is geared towards individuals with busy and active lifestyles who place a premium on individualism and privacy and want to attain the maximum relaxation and fitness in the shortest amount of time possible. Choose from numerous massages and treatments and enjoy long-lasting relaxation and energy. A stay at THE MANDALA HOTEL offers numerous harmonic experiences for the senses to provide you with the energy you need during your Berlin stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Wotif.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Hotelopia and getaroom.com so you can book your The Mandala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing