We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor experience”
Review of The Circus Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Circus Hostel
Ranked #3 of 360 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 December 2017

I'm not quite sure where to begin and where to end. Here are some highlights:
If you're counting on parking, then triple check everything prior to arriving as the staff don't really know how it works.
I got some serious attitude from a couple of the staff members because I was asking "difficult" questions.
I was asked to pay someone else's bill. They also tried it on with a friend who was also asked to pay the same bill...
Price wise, the Ibis across the road was about the same price and I'm certain would have had much better customer service.
There is more to write, but I feel like I've already wasted too much of my time.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank TheBeardedLlama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCircusBerlin, Manager at The Circus Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi there,
very sorry an few things went wrong with your stay. I can assure there was no deliberateness on our part. Very sorry and I hope you enjoyed Berlin
JJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 1,286 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
4
Reviewed 28 November 2017 via mobile

Very good price, lovely neighbourhood, helpful staff, nice breakfast and interesting bar and brewery. Also, a chance to meet new people. Was very satisfied and would say it's a must for a low budget trip to Berlin.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCircusBerlin, Manager at The Circus Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Glad you enjoyed our self made beer :)
JJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017

I stayed in the 8 bed dorm which was very spacious, airy and had huge windows. The staff helped us find our way around Berlin and gave us a map as well. The hostel is situated with a bus stop, tram stop and underground within a stone's throw. Would definitely recommend for budget travelers.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kartik K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCircusBerlin, Manager at The Circus Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your nice review
JJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017 via mobile

Enjoyed 4 nights in a 10 person dorm at the Circus Hostel.

Great location next to the tram and underground and about 15-20 minute walk to Alexanderplatz area.

The dorm was basic but good shower facilities and safe key card access to rooms and floors.

Downside was the lift being repaired and our room was next to the lift which meant loud banging, drilling etc from 10-5 everyday.

However the hostel did provide FREE pizza and beer @ 7 everyday for a limited time as an apology which was good!

This was in their mircobrewery tap located in their basement! Great bar and beer and funniest suprise was the David Hasselhoff museum located down their too.

Full recommended.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Liam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCircusBerlin, Manager at The Circus Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Sorry about the noise from the elevator works. Banging also doesnt help when the free beer is taken advantage of (And free beer MUST always be taken advantage of!!!!!). We now have a brand new elevator though.
Hope you enjoyed Berlin
JJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017

We stayed in a nice private room, and while I wasn't blown away by the hostel itself, it was clean and in a good location, so it did what we needed. It's only a block or two away from the train, and there is a tram across the street. The staff were great and very helpful with directions. Good, free wifi in the rooms and a safe as well. The bar downstairs was mediocre, and the free beer we got with our stay was not very good. The Hasselhoff museum is more like a little shrine, but it's worth a quick minute look. The attached cafe upstairs, however, is well worth going to for breakfast! The all you can eat for 5 euro is a great deal and they have such a good spread with muesli toppings, toast, and lunch sandwich options (fresh mozzarella!). It's not a bad choice for accommodation in Berlin.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
The Circus Hotel
The Circus Hotel
#11 of 634 in Berlin
2,659 reviews
Kreuzberg
Grand Hostel Berlin
Grand Hostel Berlin
#6 of 360 in Berlin
949 reviews
Mitte
Generator Hostel Berlin Mitte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prenzlauer Berg
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
#2 of 360 in Berlin
735 reviews
Mitte
Wombat's Berlin
Wombat's Berlin
#8 of 360 in Berlin
1,148 reviews
Kreuzberg
Cat's Pajamas
Cat's Pajamas
#4 of 360 in Berlin
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Circus Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Circus Hostel

Address: Weinbergsweg 1a, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 360 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Price Range: $35 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Circus Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda and Hooroo Pty Ltd so you can book your The Circus Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Circus Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing