We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip private rooms too at this hostel”
Review of The Circus Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Circus Hostel
Ranked #3 of 358 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2009

For Americans, they might not know that many hostels have private rooms with private baths. Our room with ensuite bath was spacious (as big as our Marriott room in Prague) and decorated well. As the other reviews state, very clean, awesome location, helpful staff, fun bar below (that you cannot hear in your room), and much more. We'd absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eilers78751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

825 - 829 of 1,280 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2009

What a great experience. The staff were so enthusiastic and willing to help and their English is superb. The facilities were great and the location is excellent. The breakfast was outstanding.
I would advise anybody involved in providing accommodations to stay a few nights and learn how to focus on your guests and provide a great service. Just imagine if these people got their hands on a 5 star hotel what they could do!
As a member of an older age group I really appreciated our acceptance into a hostel obviously targeting young people. At no time was I made to feel that it wasn't appropriate for me to be at this hostel.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yerac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2009

CIRCUS hostel is one of the most popular in Berlin, its ups are the cleanness, its great location just on ROSENTHALER PLATZ and face to face with its underground station, clean and numerous toilets w/showers, keycards, big lockers, computers for internet and free wi-fi for your own laptop.
The reception is furnished with lots of flyers and maps of the city, there's a cafè providing meals and a pub downstairs which often does live music or dj sets.
Of course its great location keeps you far from spending the night there, but it's a good place to start and beer is cheap and offered on arrivals.
Being such a big place there's often queues at the reception and the prices are a little higher than standards, the staff is nice but not really friendly having lots to do :)
If you're staying in Berlin for as long as 4/5 days this is a great place to settle in.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manuelgat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2009

Best things: Location - Close enough to walk to the lovely Auguststr, Sophienstr, Hackesche
Hoefe, Oranienburgerstr etc. Opposite a tram stop and underground station. 24 hr
bakery across the road, nice restaurants within walking distance.
Staff - Friendly and helpful. Always someone around to help.
Rooms - Warm, clean, bright and cheerful. The showers and toilets on the corridor
were clean whenever we used them and we rarely saw other guests in there.
Facilities - Internet access, locker room, events listings, nice food, bar and
entertainment.

Only slight negatives: Small cafe area. It was sometimes difficult to find a seat at breakfast.
However the new dining area across the road at the new Circus Hotel may
now alleviate this.
Early one morning we were woken by shouting in the corridor. This only
happened once, and we managed to fall asleep again, and I suppose some
noise is to be expected in a hostel.

I stayed there with my mum who is nearly 60 and she loved it too. Hostels like this aren't just for backpackers!

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pinkmojo2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2009

Stayed at the Circus Hostel. I cannot fault the hostel. The room is clean, the toilets and the bathrooms were cleaned everyday! The staff at the hostels are also extremely nice and professional!

But one strange incident that happened to me one night in the second floor male toilet. As I was doing my business the hand dryer went off on its own. I am not sure if this is just a mal-function or perhaps the toilet is haunted.

I recommend this hostel to everyone! It is one of the best I have ever stayed in and it is centrally located!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tofftoffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Generator Hostel Berlin Mitte
Kreuzberg
Grand Hostel Berlin
Grand Hostel Berlin
#5 of 358 in Berlin
937 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
#2 of 358 in Berlin
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Wombat's Berlin
Wombat's Berlin
#9 of 358 in Berlin
1,138 reviews
Friedrichshain
PLUS Berlin
PLUS Berlin
#10 of 358 in Berlin
2,292 reviews
Mitte
Heart of Gold Hostel
Heart of Gold Hostel
#14 of 358 in Berlin
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Circus Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Circus Hostel

Address: Weinbergsweg 1a, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 358 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Price Range: $31 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Circus Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Circus Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Circus Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing