We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,334)
Filter reviews
1,334 results
Traveller rating
946
316
53
13
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
946
316
53
13
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbar downstairsown breweryshared facilitiesbed dormtram stoptop flooryoung peoplelocation is greatprenzlauer bergbuffet breakfastbars and restaurantsvisiting berlinyogurtlockersapartmenteurohallway
Filter
Updating list...
860 - 865 of 1,334 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2009

What a great experience. The staff were so enthusiastic and willing to help and their English is superb. The facilities were great and the location is excellent. The breakfast was outstanding.
I would advise anybody involved in providing accommodations to stay a few nights and learn how to focus on your guests and provide a great service. Just imagine if these people got their hands on a 5 star hotel what they could do!
As a member of an older age group I really appreciated our acceptance into a hostel obviously targeting young people. At no time was I made to feel that it wasn't appropriate for me to be at this hostel.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yerac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2009

CIRCUS hostel is one of the most popular in Berlin, its ups are the cleanness, its great location just on ROSENTHALER PLATZ and face to face with its underground station, clean and numerous toilets w/showers, keycards, big lockers, computers for internet and free wi-fi for your own laptop.
The reception is furnished with lots of flyers and maps of the city, there's a cafè providing meals and a pub downstairs which often does live music or dj sets.
Of course its great location keeps you far from spending the night there, but it's a good place to start and beer is cheap and offered on arrivals.
Being such a big place there's often queues at the reception and the prices are a little higher than standards, the staff is nice but not really friendly having lots to do :)
If you're staying in Berlin for as long as 4/5 days this is a great place to settle in.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manuelgat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2009

Best things: Location - Close enough to walk to the lovely Auguststr, Sophienstr, Hackesche
Hoefe, Oranienburgerstr etc. Opposite a tram stop and underground station. 24 hr
bakery across the road, nice restaurants within walking distance.
Staff - Friendly and helpful. Always someone around to help.
Rooms - Warm, clean, bright and cheerful. The showers and toilets on the corridor
were clean whenever we used them and we rarely saw other guests in there.
Facilities - Internet access, locker room, events listings, nice food, bar and
entertainment.

Only slight negatives: Small cafe area. It was sometimes difficult to find a seat at breakfast.
However the new dining area across the road at the new Circus Hotel may
now alleviate this.
Early one morning we were woken by shouting in the corridor. This only
happened once, and we managed to fall asleep again, and I suppose some
noise is to be expected in a hostel.

I stayed there with my mum who is nearly 60 and she loved it too. Hostels like this aren't just for backpackers!

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pinkmojo2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2009

Stayed at the Circus Hostel. I cannot fault the hostel. The room is clean, the toilets and the bathrooms were cleaned everyday! The staff at the hostels are also extremely nice and professional!

But one strange incident that happened to me one night in the second floor male toilet. As I was doing my business the hand dryer went off on its own. I am not sure if this is just a mal-function or perhaps the toilet is haunted.

I recommend this hostel to everyone! It is one of the best I have ever stayed in and it is centrally located!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tofftoffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2009

My girlfriend and I decided to go to Berlin in the beginning of march, and after recommendations from friends and after checking here on TA, we went for the Circus Hostel. It's a cheap hostel, but you can find cheaper ones if you don't want any service, good amenities etc.

The staff at the front desk was welcoming and very helpful. They answered all our questions, and recommended different movie theaters and restaurants to us.

We got a room on the 4th floor facing Torstrasse, a large street. The windows were insulated, but none the less could we hear the traffic, tram etc. If you're sensitive and get a room on a lower floor, you might wanna bring some earplugs! The bed was large, but the mattresses wasn't that comfortable. The room had a small table with two chairs, which was really nice if you brought any food. Furthermore, it had two small chests of drawers and two mirrors.

The bathroom might not be right next to your room, so remember slippers if you don't wanna put on your boots in the middle of the night. At our floor there were 11 rooms, and 7 shower cabins. They were never fully occupied. Bathrooms and showers were cleaned at least once every day.

Location was great. The hostel is situated right next to a U-bahn (metro) station called Rosenthaler Platz. From here you can get to Alexanderplatz in 5 minutes, and from there connect to many of the other metro lines. There are also different tram lines right outside the entrance to the hostel, and they depart every ten minutes. This is a very effective way of getting around the city, without missing the views of Berlin.
Ask at the front desk for special daypasses, so you can travel the whole city for 4 EUR. You can save a lot compared to what you would pay for a single ticket which is 2.80 and only valid for two hours.

The hostel has four internet computers in the lobby. Rate is 1 EUR for 30 minutes.
All-you-can-eat 5 euro breakfast from 8.30-13.00. Cereal, bread, fruit, cheese etc. It was alright, but vegetarians watch out: the cheese with the small red dots! It's ham!
You can buy tea, coffee, hot dishes and so on in the café all day.
Moreover, there is a bar in the basement which opens at 20. They had different events during the week, which is good for meeting other travelers.

Liked - Actually everything.

Disliked - The water temperature in the shower changes a bit, but it's nothing unless you're very sensitive. A half-cold shower in the morning gets you fresh! Lack of a sink in the room.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheCopenhagener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews