We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Grand Berlin
Ranked #105 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
warwickshire
1 review
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

What a great location. The staff were very friendly on arrival and and let us check in early. The rooms were a nice size and the bed was amazing. We had a great long weekend here in December and visited most xmas markets. The walking tours were also good value for money. We used the pool which was nice clean and relaxing. We never ate or drank at the hotel as was too busy going out. The steak house down the road did great food but be prepared to wait. All key attractions we easy to get to so we couldn't fault the hotel and would highley recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucymsmith1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Fantastic comments - we are really pleased to read it. Thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,731 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,247
    1,038
    296
    101
    49
See reviews for
367
1,076
216
710
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Well, I wanted the experience of a Junior Suite in a 5 stars hotel. Didn't get it. Not the furniture, not the decoration, not the service, not the bathroom ( again, for that price, shouldn't we get a bathtub?) When I asked, on the night of our arrive, ( it was late, after 22.00 ) THEY DIDN'T HAVE ANY, but at 7 o'clock in the morning, next day, they had. We didn't want all the fuss of changing so we stayed with the original one.
They kept forgetting to replace towels, my mascara was no where to be find, the magnifying mirror was not magnifying enough. On the night of our arrival we found a plate of fruits and another with water and lemon. Several days after, the lemon became all green and nasty and we had to throw it out by ourselves. Small details, but when you are paying for 5 stars, that details should be taken care of.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room, not far from the elevators and make sure it has a bathtub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mifiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive secretary at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear Guest, First of all we indeed thank you so much for choosing our hotel. All the more we really regret your dissatisfaction with the expierenced service. Unfortunately not all rooms here have a bathtub and we were not able to offer another suite on the same evening due to the booking situation. We we would have known your requirement for a bathtub we would have been able to assign you an appropriate room in advance. As you wrote you denied to move on the next morning when another room was available. In regards to the fruit basket we have evaluate with our housekeeping department as it is not our normal service level of course. Overall, you were not happy and we sincerely regret. The Westin Grand Berlin Team, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
104 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

The reviews rightly praise the hotel's location bang at the centre of town. It's a superb jumping off point with 5 minutes to the S-Bahn at Friedrichstrasse (25 mins to Schonefeld Airport) and one minute to buses up and down Unter den Linden (number 100 and 200).

Built in the soulless days of the German Democratic Republic, some of that era's DNA remains within the great slab of the establishment's featureless exterior. There's no Berlin feel to it but the friendly and helpful reception and concierge staff will advise on everything from your budget's restaurant choice through to the best routes around town.

Rooms are comfy. TV in at least six languages including Sky News, CNN, ESPN. Breakfast is a buffet banquet. A cup of tea (with fancy biscuits) in the downstairs lobby is 8 euros. A beer is 6.

But, in this day and age, dear Starwood/Westin hotels, why charge 19 euros per day for wifi? How anachronistic is that?

Room Tip: Choose a garden room if you want a quieter sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fulhamish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear guest, we thank you very much for being our guest and we thank you for your evaluation. We deeply regret that we could not convince you completey. It is nice for us to learn that you enjoyed our service. In regards to the Wifi carges please be advised that for definite SPG members wifi is already included. But thank you so much for your opinion, which is of course important for us. Should your travel plans bring you back one day we would be pleased to be your Berlin home again. The Westin Grand Berlin, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed at the Westin a few years ago and wanted to return as we enjoyed it so much. The rooms are good and the beds very comfortable. The central location of the hotel makes it very convenient for getting around and the U-Bahn is only 2 minutes away.

The food at the Westin is excellent, but the only complaint I have is that there are no tea or coffee making facilities in the room. This is a real nuisance as it’s quite costly to pay the hotel prices if you fancy a drink in your room. We didn’t use the pool or spa facilities this trip but colleagues did and said they were very good. We also ate out for breakfast which is easy to do and much cheaper than the 30euros per person charge. However if you do have breakfast it is wonderful as a special treat.

Overall a lovely hotel in a central location with very helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoseG64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Thank you so much for being our guest and for your comments. Please be advised that coffee and tea facilities are available via our Service Express. Otherwise we are pleased to see that your enjoyed your stay here. It would be really nice to have you here one day! The Westin Grand Berlin Team, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany/USA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Great location. This was our 2nd trip to Berlin and we used our SPG points for the room. Looking at the normal rates we would have paid full rate considering location.

We were given a garden facing room which was nice as it was quiet.

The staff was very friendly and always available.

Our only complaint is that the room was very, very warm, even with the heat off. We had to leave the window open on and off throughout the night.

Room Tip: We had room 225 and it was in a great location. Quiet but hear the lift to the spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oiseleap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for your kind words. It is always a pleausure when guests feel well here. With regret we took note your concern in regards to the warm room. We recommend to contact our staff member to be able for taking care in case of problems. We are looking forward to your next visit! Your Westin Grand Berlin Team, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Mitte
Hilton Berlin
Hilton Berlin
#57 of 634 in Berlin
4,395 reviews
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#5 of 634 in Berlin
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
#52 of 634 in Berlin
1,905 reviews
Mitte
Hotel de Rome
Hotel de Rome
#10 of 634 in Berlin
1,200 reviews
Mitte
TITANIC Gendarmenmarkt Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Grand Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Grand Berlin

Property: The Westin Grand Berlin
Address: Friedrichstr. 158 - 164, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#45 Business Hotel in Berlin
#69 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#70 Family Hotel in Berlin
#79 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price range (per night): $170 - $490
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Grand Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Famous location in the historic city centre, trendy district "Berlin-Mitte", on the corner "Unter den Linden"/ "Friedrichstrasse" and very well connected to all public transportation.Sights like Brandenburger Tor, Checkpoint Charlie, Museumsinsel and Gendarmenmarkt within walking distance. 400 Elegant rooms and suites, lavish lobby with grand staircase, restaurant, bar, summer terrace, spacious hotel garden, spa with indoor pool, fitness area, business center, 10 function rooms. Have a little relaxation and stay well! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Grand Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Grand Berlin Hotel Berlin
Westin Hotel Berlin
Westin Berlin
Berlin Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing