We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not have chosen a better hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Grand Berlin
Ranked #107 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Could not have chosen a better hotel!”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Without knowing the city, my husband spent hours on the Internet trying to decide where to go...and we did absolutely great! Location could not have been better, nice room, great breakfast, great bed!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edelvisr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear guest, we are more than happy to see that your spent hours for searching a hotel were worthful and that we could convince you with hour hotel and our service. Thank you for giving your evaluation for all Tripadvisor user. You are welcome at any time in the not too distant future hopefully. The Westin Grand Berlin, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,231
    1,026
    292
    99
    49
See reviews for
363
1,060
215
700
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Westin for 5 nights to celebrate her birthday. The hotel is centrally placed and very convenient for many sights. The breakfast buffet is amazing, and the staff very helpful and friendly. If you usually stay in lesser places, once you get used to having a 'turn down service' which often included replacing face flannels, you can sit back and bask in luxury (or lie back on the exremely comfortable, very large beds.)
This is the first hotel we have stayed in where we haven't been able to hear other people's plumbing. I don't know how they do it but it was a real treat not to be disturbed by the usual showering/bathing noises.The concierge was extremely helpful in arranging our visit to the Reichstag. We would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden. That way you will stay in the quietest part of the hotel. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gr1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear guest, to do our utmost for a comfortable stay for our guests is our daily business. And it is one of the best comments we can have, when guests woud like to come back. Thank you very much for your comment and: please come back soon! Your Westin Grand in Berlin! Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
138 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

LOCATION

This hotel is situated in the best location for sightseing as one can walk to the Bundestag (book in advance), Brandeburg tor, Tiergarden, museum minsel (book on the internet to avoid hours of queue), AlexanderPlatz, checkpoint Charlie, Postdammerplatz and Gendarmenmarkt.

To acess it from Tegel Airport , the best option is the TXL bus (30 mn). Follow the bus sign in the airport , the TXL is located under sign post 2 . Don’ bother queuing at the single vending machine as tickets(2,3 euros) can be bought from the driver . This bus get crowded fast with the numerous luggages of travellers . If you’re not alone , one should buy the tickets while the other enters the bus by the middle or back door to secure seats and luggage emplacement.
Exit the bus at “unter den Linder/ friedrichstrasse” stop which is right after the “brandeburg” stop. Then cross Friedrichstrasse , the building in front of you is the Westin but the entrance is located on another corner that can be accessed by going down Friedrichstrasse for a few meters.

When travelling by subway , the closest station is Fransosichestrasse and NOT Friedrischstrasse (as can be expected).

HOTEL

The lobby is quite spectacular as others have mentioned. The check in was smooth but devoid of warmth. The room was ready and we were upgraded to a garden room despite having booked with hotels.com for 100 euros a night.

The room is as comfortable as can be expected from a 5 stars but with no ‘wow” factor . The hotel is a little old even though furniture and appliance are recent, and wear and tear is showing on the doors mainly (crooked security chain fixation, chipped bottom..) but nothing really significant . I had trouble sleeping but cannot really tell if the bed is to blame for that.
There is no tea and coffee facility in the room and no ice in the corridor, unlike the Hilton a few blocks away.

The garden view is wonderful as one wakes up in the morning to the sound of birds and the street noises are totally blocked out. The garden itself is huge with plenty of chairs and tables to enjoy a drink, weather permitting.

The spa area is quite nice with a powerful jaccuzi , a round swimming pool and a well equipped if small gym (power plate, two treadmill, other cardio training apparatus, free weights , water is available) . The area is noisy especially when shared with children

The hotel rents bicycles.
Although internet is expensive, there is a single computer dedicated to airline check in (cannot access any other website than you airline company which you select from a menu).
We did not have food at the hotel.

There is a supermarket INSIDE the Friedrischstrasse subway station which can be found further up on Friedrichstasse (cross Unter den Linden and continue for 3 blocks)
If interested in typical German food in a typical German restaurant close to the hotel , try Alt-Berliner Kneipe, 55 Mittlestrasse (off Friedrichstrasse on the left ,next treet after crossing unter den Linden)

This hotel is highly recommended , 5 star luxury for a small price

Room Tip: garden view rooms for the sound of birds as a wake up call
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldcitizenParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear Guest, we thank you very much for being our guest and for your detailed description of the city and our hotel. It is useful for other users and for us too of course. You as a frequent traveller are able to compare with other locations and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Hope, your travel plans will bring back you to Berlin and us - one ay. Yours Westin Grand Berlin Team, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We picked the Westin Grand Berlin for two reasons. One because the location is absolutely perfect and two because we had great experiences with Westins while traveling in the US.

The location of the hotel couldn't be better. When arriving at the Tegel airport, you can take the TXL bus which costs you 2,30 euro single trip (price April 2012). Bus tickets can be bought at the kiosk located at the exit of the terminal. The bus makes several stops so it takes about 20 to 30 mins to arrive in the Berlin Mitte center. The stop closest to the hotel is the first on the Unter Den Linden boulevard. From that stop it is a mere 5 minutes walk. It is close to the Brandenburger Tor and the Reichstag, within walking distance from the museum island, the TV tower, the Dom, the main shopping street Friederichstrasse (with eg. Galleries Lafayette), Checkpoint Charlie.. you name it. For further exploration of the town, for instance Kurfürstendamm, traveling by underground is a perfect fit. The U6 line runs close to the hotel with metro station Französische Strasse literally next to the entrance. Compared to other European cities, getting around by public transportation is relatively cheap.

The lobby, entrance and bar of the hotel are truly majestic with their large staircase and circular atrium. The front desk staff and concierge were absolutely helpful and friendly. Unfortunately we were given a room of which the air conditioning was broken. Something we only realised during the first night ... so not much of a heavenly sleep that night. We reported this to the receptionist who made a note and a promise to send someone to check. When we returned that evening, the room was still as hot as the previous night, so we had to go back to the reception and report this again. This time, a couple of minutes later, a friendly repair man came in and - after some checking - confirmed that the A/C was broken. Not sure why they had not come to that conclusion the first time and made the necessary repairs during the day. He arranged a quick room swap and so we packed and unpacked. Despite the friendliness in which all of this was conducted, it left a bit of a bitter taste why a 5 star hotel cannot fix these things immediately.

The breakfast was an absolute festivity with an abundance of choices and quick service.

As in many high end business hotels, wifi costs are a rip-off. Luckily there is a Starbucks on the Friederichstrasse offering internet access.... Most of the many coffee shops offer some sort of free internet access, just look for a logo or sign at their entrances.
A small but nice detail was the electrical outlet in the personal safe box. Quite handy for charging your tablet or phone while out of the room.

So overall a good hotel, but again nothing extraordinary than what one can reasonably expect from a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PeterSGhent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear guest, we thank you for choosing our hotel for your Berlin stay. And we deeply regret that we have disappointed you in regards to the air condition. Unfortunately we can not understand why the service did not work in your case but please be assured that you did not experienced our normal high service level. Please accept our sincere apology for any inconveniences this may have caused. If you could give me your room number and name I would like to follow up the matter. Yours Westin Grand Berlin Team, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012 via mobile

I traveled to Berlin with my husband and 6 other friends to run the Berlin Half Marathon. While we originally wanted to rent an apartment, it became clear that with our group, a hotel was going to work best. My husband chose The Westin largely because he's a major SPG fan. However, I think his choice couldn't have been more perfect.

The location is excellent - literally blocks from the Brandenburg Gate, the metro, and an easy walk to so many other places. We took a cab from TXL; other friends found the train an easy ride from the other airport. The Westin is also a short cab ride from the main train station.

Our room was on the courtyard side of the building, so it was very quiet. As always, the bed was heavenly, and the toiletries were the same as you'd find at any other Westin. The room itself was on the smaller side, but I think that might be normal for Europe.

Within blocks of the hotel, you'll also find a drugstore, a coffee shop (with free wifi), and a Bugatti dealer (for the travel essentials...). Only complaint was that we couldn't find a grocery store or something of the like to procure some bananas or other pre-race food/snacks.

If we ever come back to Berlin, I'd definitely consider the Westin again!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CAHoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear guest, so nice to see that you did not regret your choice for our hotel and that you enjoyed your stay. We also hope your marathon run was successful. Take care and be well at Westin Hotels worldwide. Yours Westin Grand Berlin, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#4 of 635 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
Mitte
Hilton Berlin
Hilton Berlin
#53 of 635 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
#51 of 635 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#13 of 635 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Mitte
TITANIC Gendarmenmarkt Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Grand Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Grand Berlin

Property: The Westin Grand Berlin
Address: Friedrichstr. 158 - 164, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#45 Business Hotel in Berlin
#69 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#70 Family Hotel in Berlin
#81 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price range (per night): $173 - $503
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Grand Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Famous location in the historic city centre, trendy district "Berlin-Mitte", on the corner "Unter den Linden"/ "Friedrichstrasse" and very well connected to all public transportation.Sights like Brandenburger Tor, Checkpoint Charlie, Museumsinsel and Gendarmenmarkt within walking distance. 400 Elegant rooms and suites, lavish lobby with grand staircase, restaurant, bar, summer terrace, spacious hotel garden, spa with indoor pool, fitness area, business center, 10 function rooms. Have a little relaxation and stay well! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Grand Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Grand Berlin Hotel Berlin
Westin Hotel Berlin
Westin Berlin
Berlin Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing