We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty bad”
Review of 36 Rooms Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
36 Rooms Hostel
Ranked #255 of 360 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Reviewed 24 September 2012

The location was perfect, can't fault that. Our room smelt like it hadn't been stayed in for 10 years, though you get used to the smell eventually. The worst thing was that our room (on the third floor, right side) was right next to all the toilets and the main girls bathroom directly next door. Every time the door opens (which seems to be about fifty times a night, weak bladders people?!) it squeaks verrrrry loudly and then closes with an almighty bang.
If you stay on the other side of the hostel, there are no bathrooms so maybe request that before booking, though there was still plenty of building work going on over that side.
My friend also got overcharged for his booking and they wouldn't give him a refund. I wouldn't stay here again personally, though the location is pretty awesome as previously mentioned, with access to trains and lots of bars/restaurants.

Room Tip: Request the side not near the bathrooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lunt82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 83 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2012

This is by far the worst hostel that exists in Europe. We came back after an enjoyable evening in the city to a room FILLED with WASPS! When consulting reception they refused to go up there for 'fear of their lives' and did not provide a soloution. We ended up spraying deodorant and hairspray in our room until 6am in the morning trying any method to kill the wasps. We were all stung at least once and ended up sleeping on the disgusting old sofas in the living room before promptly leaving and cancelling all remaining nights. In addition to insect infestation we encountered excrement stains on 'clean' rented bedsheets and got up to our room to discover our room had not been touched since last checkout with pubic hair all over the beds. Bathrooms disgusting and really noisy. AWFUL DO NOT GO HERE.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

A great place for travelers who want to save money. Located in the heart of Kreuzberg where everybody wants to be. Nice vegetarian and ecological food-places located around the hostel. Very close to the U-bahn. Not the cleanest place, and some toilets doesn't have seats, but for comfortable travelers with light packing it's ideal. Simple rooms, nice beds, clean kitchen (depending on the guests), and security lockers in the rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monsterbelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Basic but brilliant hostel for the cost!! Lot off bad reviews about this clas but its not true!! The location isn't bad aswel with u the U-barn just aroud the corner and take 5mins to get to centre off Berlin!! Overall good hostel would stay there again

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damon2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Semen in our walls, insects on our beds, room lockers with opened alcohol bottles, rat poop, sucky attention did not refund us anything even though we cancelled

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lebismut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Kreuzberg
Grand Hostel Berlin
Grand Hostel Berlin
#6 of 360 in Berlin
948 reviews
Kreuzberg
Cat's Pajamas
Cat's Pajamas
#4 of 360 in Berlin
409 reviews
Mitte
Hilton Berlin
Hilton Berlin
#68 of 634 in Berlin
4,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Charlottenburg
Hampton by Hilton Berlin City West
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
1,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 36 Rooms Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 36 Rooms Hostel

Address: Spreewaldplatz 8 | Kreuzberg, 10999 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #255 of 360 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Price Range: $27 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your 36 Rooms Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing