We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty bad” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of 36 Rooms Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
36 Rooms Hostel
Ranked #249 of 344 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Pretty bad”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

The location was perfect, can't fault that. Our room smelt like it hadn't been stayed in for 10 years, though you get used to the smell eventually. The worst thing was that our room (on the third floor, right side) was right next to all the toilets and the main girls bathroom directly next door. Every time the door opens (which seems to be about fifty times a night, weak bladders people?!) it squeaks verrrrry loudly and then closes with an almighty bang.
If you stay on the other side of the hostel, there are no bathrooms so maybe request that before booking, though there was still plenty of building work going on over that side.
My friend also got overcharged for his booking and they wouldn't give him a refund. I wouldn't stay here again personally, though the location is pretty awesome as previously mentioned, with access to trains and lots of bars/restaurants.

Room Tip: Request the side not near the bathrooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lunt82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    23
    46
    25
    41
See reviews for
3
18
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

This is by far the worst hostel that exists in Europe. We came back after an enjoyable evening in the city to a room FILLED with WASPS! When consulting reception they refused to go up there for 'fear of their lives' and did not provide a soloution. We ended up spraying deodorant and hairspray in our room until 6am in the morning trying any method to kill the wasps. We were all stung at least once and ended up sleeping on the disgusting old sofas in the living room before promptly leaving and cancelling all remaining nights. In addition to insect infestation we encountered excrement stains on 'clean' rented bedsheets and got up to our room to discover our room had not been touched since last checkout with pubic hair all over the beds. Bathrooms disgusting and really noisy. AWFUL DO NOT GO HERE.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Berlin hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

A great place for travelers who want to save money. Located in the heart of Kreuzberg where everybody wants to be. Nice vegetarian and ecological food-places located around the hostel. Very close to the U-bahn. Not the cleanest place, and some toilets doesn't have seats, but for comfortable travelers with light packing it's ideal. Simple rooms, nice beds, clean kitchen (depending on the guests), and security lockers in the rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monsterbelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

Basic but brilliant hostel for the cost!! Lot off bad reviews about this clas but its not true!! The location isn't bad aswel with u the U-barn just aroud the corner and take 5mins to get to centre off Berlin!! Overall good hostel would stay there again

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Damon2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

Semen in our walls, insects on our beds, room lockers with opened alcohol bottles, rat poop, sucky attention did not refund us anything even though we cancelled

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lebismut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Kreuzberg
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Berlin City
Kreuzberg
No photo provided
Neukolln
Minimal
Minimal
#56 of 344 in Berlin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kreuzberg
Cat's Pajamas
Cat's Pajamas
#5 of 344 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Friedrichshain
Kiez Hostel Berlin
Kiez Hostel Berlin
#106 of 344 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Kreuzberg
Apartmenthouse Berlin
Apartmenthouse Berlin
#73 of 344 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 36 Rooms Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 36 Rooms Hostel

Property: 36 Rooms Hostel
Address: Spreewaldplatz 8 | Kreuzberg, 10999 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #249 of 344 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Price range (per night): $21 - $72
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your 36 Rooms Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing