We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pay a Little Extra for a Whole Lot More”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Arcotel John F

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arcotel John F
Ranked #70 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pay a Little Extra for a Whole Lot More”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

Fab hotel. Easy to get to. High on chic low on arrogance. Seriously comfortable place for business and leisure travellers alike. The food is ok but hopelessly overpriced...the room service delivery charge is ridiculous but you can't complain when you have a rocking chair in your room. Yes the hotel IS a little pricey but ABSOLUTELY WORTH EVERY PENNY.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeizenbierTreaclePud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iborsbach, Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback on tripadvisor. On this occasion we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the ARCOTEL John F and that you were satisfied with our comfortable rooms especially with our rocking chairs. Thank you for your comment about the room service charge. We forwarded the information to the relevant department.

We would be delighted to be of any assistance in the future should your travel plans lead you back to the Berlin area.

Your ARCOTEL John F Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    659
    570
    104
    14
    17
See reviews for
169
639
61
251
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

This hotel is ranked in the top 20 hotels in Berlin (out of nearly 700) and rightfully so.
Excellent central location, helpful staff and one of the best rooms I ever had the pleasure to stay in. The value for money, considering it's a main european city, is outstanding!
Would recommend this one without hesitation!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eli L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

this is a good, functional comfortable hotel with no frills. Modern decor, a bit kitchy, but ok. Strong points are helpful staff and location without which it would be a very average hotel. For a business visit it was fine. I found no free wifi and was not very happy with charges and constant logging on procedure.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eurostat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

Conveniently located a few minutes away from the Unter den Linden, the hotel looks new or recenlty refurbished.
Service is warm and professional, rooms are not excessively big but comfortable (big shower, BTW, and really confortable mattress).
Being inspired by JFK, you can find anywhere the famouse rocking chair.
Wifi is free (you pay only if you need a lot of bandwith) and there connected PCs available.
I had a nice stay and I think price was the right one. Will return there if I'm back in Berlin.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ale-Milano64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

This hotel is situated in the wonderful Gendarmenmarkt and is ideally situated to visit the Berliner Dom catherdral, TV Tower, Frederick Strasse shopping centre. It is about 15 minutes from the Reichstag, the Brandenburg Gates and the Memorial to the Holocaust. We booked a Junior suite for three nights and we were a little disappointed when we got to our room. It was very small for a suite and only provided one easy chair! However, it was spotlessly clean and the bed was comfortable. The room we had (525) was initially quiet - as we had requested - however, at 1.30am we were awakened by very loud noises. Someone was moving furniture around and this lasted for around 2 hours. We thought it must be the guest in the room above us. The following night we were awakened at 1.30am again. This time by a machine - sounded like a floor polisher - my husband rang down to reception to ask what was going on. We were told that they had arranged night cleaners to come in and clean the wellness centre above us!!! We were actually quite shocked by this. After all we had requested a quiet room, and above all things needed a good night's sleep. We changed rooms the next day to 425 which was an improvement. The hotel handled our complaint very efficiently, and apologised by delivering some macaroons to our room. However, this was a much needed break for us and it was spoiled. I question why the management felt the need to employ cleaners who use machines and move furniture at that time of night. What are they thinking about - obviously their procedures come before guest needs.
We ate at the restaurant on the first night after having some dreadful cocktails in the bar. I had a warm, syrupy cosmopolitan which was truly dreadful. We were the only guests in the restaurant!! However, we did have a wonderful bottle of Merlot and the food was actually quite good. Our waiter seemed delighted to have some guests and was very efficient. It seems a shame that the hotel do not promote the restaurant better. No-one asked us on check in if they could make a booking for us and there was no sample menu in the room - I think they are losing revenue by not doing this.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 523, 524, 525 - they are all Junior suites and are below the Wellness centre so don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HuntlyHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iborsbach, Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear guest,

We appreciate that you took the time to give us your feedback on tripadvisor as your comments are very valuable to us in order to continuously improve our service and standards.

First off all we would like to apologize again for the inconvenience you had to experience during your stay. We can reassure you that we do not schedule particular noisy cleaning activities during nights. Please be sure, that this does not belong to our standard and we already instructed our Housekeeping Manager in order to arrange alternatives for the future.
Regarding the promotion of our restaurant we retrained the entire reception team to advice our clientele of our restaurant facilities.

We hope that despite the difficulties experienced during your stay, we can still look forward to your loyalty and that you allow us to redeem ourselves during a next visit.

Your ARCOTEL John F Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Mitte
TITANIC Gendarmenmarkt Berlin
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#11 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte
COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte
#57 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
Mitte
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
#50 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,865 reviews
Mitte
Hotel Alexander Plaza Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcotel John F? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcotel John F

Property: Arcotel John F
Address: Werderscher Markt 11, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Berlin
#28 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#32 Family Hotel in Berlin
#50 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#56 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#62 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price range (per night): $115 - $240
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arcotel John F 4.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arcotel John F reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcotel John f Berlin
Arcotel John f Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing