We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
An Easy Walk with a Great View

It was so cool to walk the mid-evil wall around Rothenberg. The views of the city were beautiful... read more

Reviewed 11 April 2024
Traveler796081
,
Flower Mound, Texas
via mobile
42 towers for 2 hours by walk or from the Town Hall Tower for 5 minutes.

Most European cities cannot boast of preserved medieval walls and towers. Since as cities grew, the... read more

Reviewed 29 November 2023
VadimM67
,
Murmansk, Russia
Read all 2,424 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Recommended experiences in and around Rothenburg
from AU$122.44
More Info
from AU$427.70
More Info
from AU$616.31
More Info
from AU$297.82
More Info
Reviews (2,424)
Filter reviews
2,424 results
Traveller rating
1,674
679
63
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,674
679
63
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews watch your head early in the morning different perspective fun walk steep steps wall walk old city visiting rothenburg middle ages town plaques rooftops height fortifications
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
592 - 597 of 2,424 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

Walking the town walls is one of the best ways to see Rothenburg. There's gatehouses and towers to explore along the way, as well as amazing views of the town and surrounding countryside.
Good for any weather too, as the wall is covered and sheltered.
Watch out for the name plaques on the wall, from families who have donated money to the rebuilding and upkeep of the wall.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank WanderingHansB544
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

This is an ideal way of getting away from the crowds and seeing some amazing views over Rothenburg. We were one of the only couples walking around so it was lovely and peaceful and it is also under cover so ideal for rainy spells to still see the sights but keep dry!

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Tr8velbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 September 2016

Rothenburg is one of the most memorable hightlights of our Jewels of Europe river cruise. Must of the town is still intact form the 12th century. You can walk the city wall, view roof times and gardens around the city. Be sure to duck frequent if you are 6 feet tall. You can imagine yourself as an archer protecting this wonderful town. We spent several hours touring the town and walking the walls.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank dewilson2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 September 2016

This medieval fortified city in Bavaria was one of the highlights of my trip to Germany.
While the walls are not very accessible to those with mobility issues because the streets are cobblestone, the walls are accessed by crooked, stone stairs, and the walkways on top are cracked flagstones (it is, after all, an original medieval walled city) if you can do it, I would highly recommend it! The views of the houses below the walls with their tiny courtyard gardens in simply breathtaking.

Date of experience: December 2015
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 August 2016

Shed loads to explore in Rothenburg. We just didn't have enough time. Make sure you stay for a minimum of 2 nights.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Silvas-mum-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews