We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a lovely city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Goliath am Dom
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Regensburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2012

The hotel is situated right in the old part of Regensburg and just a couple of minutes walk from the banks of the Danube. Our room was large, spotlessly clean and nicely decorated. The staff were helpful and pleasant to deal with. The breakfast buffet was very good, lots of choice but not big enough to be overwhelming. I would certainly stay here again and would highly recommend it to anyone else visiting Regensburg.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weedkiller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Goliath am Dom
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 51 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2012 via mobile

Because they were unable to honour the package deal we originally booked which included dinner on 1 night due to work being done in their restaurant area we were upgraded to a corner room overlooking the street. The corner room was larger than normal. The decor in each room is different and unusual. Breakfast at the hotel was included. We did not eat any other meals there but dined out in the many restaurants and beer houses in the old city.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welovetravelling01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We booked a New Year's Eve package for two, including the New Year dinner in the nearby Haus Heuport, breakfast and a guided Regensburg tour. The hotel is a modern building in the center of an otherwise old (but superbly preserved) medieval city, literally two minutes away from the Cathedral or the old Stone Bridge.

If arriving by car, you have to park the car in front of the hotel (in a pedestrian zone...) to unload and then quickly "vanish". Parking in the nearby and partner hotel Bischofshof is not more expensive than public parking (12 EUR/day), big SUV drivers might need a very steady hand to manage the narrow entry in the parking courtyard.

The room was expecting us, with a bottle of sparkling wine bathing in a full ice cooler, the tickets for the New Year dinner and Regensburg tour already waiting for us. This is also descriptive for the whole experience: the staff shining through their absence, or, better said, staying in the background, unintrusive, but there when you needed them.

The rooms are spacious, a mixture of classy and very modern. The only let down was the purported "view over the old city": due to the local architecture, you only can see the opposite building and, if leaning on the window, the street.

Breakfast was OK, not the most varied, but definitely nice presented in silverware. Take time to consult the tea "menu", instead of ordering your usual Earl Grey or cappuccino: you'll find several interesting combinations from the Eilles company (if you enjoyed them, there's a shop in Neupfarrplatz). You can also have a tea in the inviting lobby, enjoy it from fine Rosenthal porcelain cups while looking at people passing by in this fine shopping district or browsing through the many arts and architecture albums.

All in all, we definitely had a smooth transition in the new year and an enjoyable experience and can only recommend a stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taconsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

I chose to stay at Goliath am Dom because of positive reviews. This time my fellow travellers did not let me down.

The hotel is located in a nice part of charming old town. The service was friendly and very professional. The premises are in excellent shape. The hotel is very well maintained and it has quality feel. Room was large and very nice. Bathroom was excellent too.

I can only recommend this hotel. It is one of the best hotels I have stayed in over last few years. The value for money is excellent.

The only complaint I have is poor choice of English language TV. Only CNN was available and after a while it turned itself into a German TV shopping channel!

This hotel (like the city of Regensburg) is worth visiting.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tygrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Although we reserved weeks ahead and arrived early to mid-afternoon, staff tried to place us in a nearby sister hotel, claiming a water leak in our reserved room. Even though staff telephoned before we walked there, the sister hotel had no availability, and we ended up with a room at the original hotel more than an hour later. We had offered to leave our luggage while staff sorted things out, but they wanted us to see the other hotel, causing us to miss an afternoon tour time. (We wondered if there was simply an over-booking issue). Our room was okay, but there was a window between the bedroom and rather small bath which offered less privacy, and lighted the entire space if the bathroom was used during the night. Our room was surprisingly quiet considering the hotel's location in the heart of Regensburg. All rooms are non-smoking, and there is a sauna and gym which we didn't use. Location was excellent, with easy walking access to many of the more popular sights and restaurants. Our rate included a delicious breakfast buffet, served in a lovely, recently refurbished, contemporary lobby/bar area with large windows to the outside.

Hotel is in the pedestrian-only area, but you can drop off luggage before stashing the car in an underground, secure lot a block or so away. After our initial check-in issues, staff was friendly and helpful with directions, suggestions and reservations. We absolutely loved friendly, beautiful Regensburg, and would probably return to the Goliath am Dom for location alone.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FourWinds_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Regensburg hotels
0.2 km away
ACHAT Plaza Herzog am Dom
ACHAT Plaza Herzog am Dom
#15 of 48 in Regensburg
133 reviews
0.3 km away
Sorat Insel-Hotel Regensburg
Sorat Insel-Hotel Regensburg
#2 of 48 in Regensburg
428 reviews
0.4 km away
Bohemian Hotel
Bohemian Hotel
#7 of 48 in Regensburg
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Bischofshof am Dom
Hotel Bischofshof am Dom
#6 of 48 in Regensburg
176 reviews
3.5 km away
Mercure Hotel Regensburg
Mercure Hotel Regensburg
#1 of 48 in Regensburg
769 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Muenchner Hof
Hotel Muenchner Hof
#8 of 48 in Regensburg
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Goliath am Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goliath am Dom

Address: Goliathstr. 10, 93047, Regensburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Palatinate > Regensburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Regensburg
Price Range: $209 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Goliath am Dom 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Goliath am Dom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing