We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but pricey ”
Review of Mangostin Asia

Mangostin Asia
Ranked #14 of 69 Dessert in Munich
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The Mangostin tavern with its modern, authentic cuisine from the Far East. Located in an old villa in the city district Thalkirchen, near the Zoo, Mangostin is full of life, joy, exquisite delicacies from Thailand, Japan and Vietnam. In summer enjoy the short getaway feeling on the terrace and the adjacent garden: Mangostin Lounge Garden is a hip meeting place and with its cookshop, it is a casual interpretation of Munich's beer garden lifestyle.
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

Nice restaurant with a fantastic garden around. Unfortunately it was raining, we sit inside it. The restaurant is quite elegant and formal. Good service and high quality food ( good fish), a bit expensive but in line with Munich average prices for similar restaurant.

Thank picachu25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 406 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

We had a reservation, which is highly recommended since the restaurant was full. However the service was really slow to start. We had to wait for a solid hour before we got the menus, than another good 30 min before we could get the waiters to provide us with the sushi selection... In the mean time we were left alone, and we were not in the corner!
However, the food cans fast after the order and it was excellent. Clearly one of the best sushi I've eaten.
I would still recommend it, but be prepared as you may have to wait for a long time before eating...

Thank Francois_HD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfram S, smm at Mangostin Asia, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

We are very sorry for whatever may have been the reason for your having to wait so long for the menu! No, this is not normal - please accept our apology. The sushi is a different story. Our chef prepares most types of sushi only as the orders come in. This makes sure that the sushi (as well as other dishes) is as fresh as possible. We are glad that you liked what we served and hope that you may be willing to see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

All time classic, excellent executions, healthy and modern Asian cooking, superb choice of raw materials, fine environment, very good service many different lounges, a gem in Munich. Spendid wine list and a great variety menue.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Baldfatman108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfram S, smm at Mangostin Asia, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Thank you so much for taking your time to kindly recommend us on TripAdvisor!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

If you are looking for great cocktails combined with sushi or Thai cuisine - this is the place
A little expensive - great quality

Thank Espen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfram S, smm at Mangostin Asia, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Thank you VERY much for your kind recommendation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2017 via mobile

Didn't know what to expect when the menu was a mixture of different types of asian dishes at once, but actually everything we ordered was top quality, really delicious. Totally recommended! ;)

Thank Pauliina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfram S, smm at Mangostin Asia, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2017

THANK YOU very much for your kinjd feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mangostin Asia also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Mangostin Asia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing