We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Octoberfest 2011”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
Ranked #25 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2012

My husband and I traveled to Munich from his meeting in Zurich for Octoberfest 2011 because it was on my bucket list. Although we have been to Munich a few times before, this was a different experience altogether. We tried to book through American Express Travel and they dropped the ball on two occasions, so I was left to fend for myself in finding a suitable place to stay. I knew I was booking late (August) during their most busy time of year, followed only by their Christmas extravaganza. After reading many reviews on Trip Advisor and other internet sources, I bit the bullet and booked this beautiful five star location because I knew my husband would love it. It is located in the old post office and is a beautiful imposing building. Reception was efficient and courteous. Our junior suite was overlooking the train station which became entertaining once young revelers in costumes arrived for Octoberfest. Otherwise, after spending money for a suite, I would ask for a different view.

Our two rooms were large and spacious and words cannot describe our beautiful bathroom with glass sliding doors, large walk-in shower with bench and heated marble floors. The toiletries were Hermes.

Because of the many activities throughout the city, other than their fantastic breakfast buffet (extra cost), we did not explore the pool or spa, although we did have a drink in the bar before taking a cab to dinner one evening.

Staying at the Sofitel Munich will be the gold standard of hotels for me.

Room Tip: This is the place to stay to be close to everything and be treated well in a five star environment.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rekilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,740)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,552 - 1,556 of 3,742 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2012

This review is written by Destination Europe (www.destinationeuropeonline.com) - we plan amazing, custom tailored packages for all of Europe. One of the benefits of our job is that each year, we take some time and travel all over Europe, visiting new hotels and destinations, which we then recommend to our clients.

My staff and I stayed here in December, just in time for the Christmas Markets. Located just next to the Hauptbahnhof Station - the location is perfect for walking to the Marienplatz, or catching the U-Bahn.

We had a suite overlooking the back of the station with distant views of the Alps. The room was on two levels - the lower level was a sitting area with a bathroom and the upper level was the bedroom and bathroom with shower. The shower was amazing and the bed amazing as well.

We had breakfast here a couple of times - very large and decadent buffet, as you would expect from a Sofitel. The service was very nice, even the room service was great as we did have dinner in the room one night.

My most favorite part of this hotel was the spa and pool area. After long days of walking all over, it was great to take the private elevator down to the Spa and soak and relax in the pool. It is a grotto style, so very intimate and very relaxing.

Over all - our experience here was wonderful and we will continue to send many clients to this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DestinationEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregory_K0N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 February 2012

The sofitel really has it all in Munich.
It's absolutely stunning, with all the features of a 5 star hotel. The rooms were great, modern & clean. You could also spend an hour simply walking around the lobby & function rooms.

It's also in the heart of munich, right near the hoptbanhof (train station). From there, you can go anywhere in the city. Staff were great, price was amazing (compared to others in this class world wide...), and I truly recommend this hotel as a wonderful place to stay!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Will5024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

The hotel is located a block outside Munich central station. Very convenient to catch the U-bahn and S-bahn trains around the city and airport, as well as long distance trains to other cities. One thing i HATED about the lobby was that there was a VERY strong perfumed smell every time you entered the hotel. I don't know where it was coming from, but it made my eyes water every time.

Had a room on the 3rd floor. The room is modern and spotless, with a good sized room and bathroom, as well as spacious closet. The king size bed was two twin beds pushed together. The room has Bose sound system. One negative was that the bathroom was not very private. The mirror above the sink could be opened toward the bed, and the door to the bathroom was a frosted glass door that did not close all the way, with an hole in the glass as the door handle.

The hotel does offer free wi-fi, but connection was spotty.

There's plenty of food options since the central station is right next door.

Overall, enjoyed my stay and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank g10betr0tter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.6 km away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 385 in Munich
1,554 reviews
0.1 km away
Le Meridien Munich
Le Meridien Munich
#99 of 385 in Munich
2,614 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#17 of 385 in Munich
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#9 of 385 in Munich
1,661 reviews
3.3 km away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#4 of 385 in Munich
694 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Munich Bayerpost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Munich Bayerpost

Address: Bayerstrasse 12, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Munich
#10 Business Hotel in Munich
#15 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#21 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#24 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $290 - $1,069 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Munich Bayerpost 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Munich Bayerpost welcomes you in the heart of Munich. Only 100 m from the central railway station, the heritage listed building impresses with architectural class and cosmopolitan hotel culture. Design meets comfort, and French savoir vivre blends with Bavarian joie de vivre in our 396 rooms, 20 meeting rooms and the famous banquet hall. Our unique Spa Lagune and the exciting options in our restaurant, bistro and bar promise to tempt you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotelopia and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Munich Bayerpost reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost Hotel Munich
Accor Munich Bayerpost
Munich Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing