We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location, freindly staff but pricey”
Review of Anna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Anna Hotel
Ranked #47 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Anna Hotel is convenient and comfortable, best thing about this hotel is the location, it's central to the metro and the main railway stations. All the staff are very friendly and helpful, which is a big plus point.
Although the Anna Hotel may be a bit pricey but for a little extra (15 Euros) you get Wi-Fi, Continental breakfast and free mini-bar, this is definitely worth it.
Because of the hotel location it can be a little noisy from the main road outside depending on the where your room is but keep the windows shut and the Aircon on and you should be okay unless you’re a very light sleeper.
The one main issue I have with this hotel is that for the price of the rooms they could at least have some decent toiletries in the bathrooms not just body wash and soap (oh by the way the rooms have a vanity set and condoms too) but no shampoo, conditioner and moisturising creams like other similar priced hotels.
I've stayed in this hotel several times in the last 12-18 months and will keep going back because of the location and the friendliness of the staff.

Room Tip: If your a light sleeper then ask for a quite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLakhani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (703)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

299 - 303 of 703 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2012

Very good hotel but doesn't give you enough for the price. Location is very good, our room was quiet and clean, breakfast was included and it was satisfactory. Everything in the minibar was only 1€. I liked the wooden floors in the room. I didn't like the tap over the sink in the bathroom and the chairs in the restaurant (they were swinging a little bit because of the desing). Drinks at the bar were very good and the service was good alltough it was a busy night.

If this hotel was a little bit more affordable i would really recommend it, so if you get a good deal take for it!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HBOHBO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed at Hotel Anna for one night at the beginning of our European Christmas Trip. The hotel was in a great central location and walking distance from pedestrian shopping walkway and Christkindelmarket. The metro and major train station.

I thought the hotel was overpriced and the website pictures deceiving, when we arrived the reception, which looks hip hotel, chic on the website was cluttered with about 20 suitcases. The communal areas do not look nearly as chic as the website, the dining room actually looks rather canteen like and there is no chic colourful lighting as on the website.The corridors are tired looking and uninspiring

We booked a tower room which was spacious however I found the room quite spartan and for 230 euros would have appreciated a king size bed and not 2 singles.

You can't beat the hotel on location and we were only in Munich for a day, and it served our needs. The breakfast the next day was really good, however I would not recommend this hotel as I don't thing it represents value for money - for the same price we spent 2 nights in our own centrally located apartment in Venice.

We visited Christmas Markets in Innsbruck, Prague and Venice during our trip and the Christkinelmarket at Marienzplatz was definitely one of the best and most authentic we visited during our Christmas trip.

Room Tip: If you are booking a tower room ask for one on a higher floor so you can see the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MG050211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

The Hotel Anna is a fun and comfortable hotel, conveniently located between Hauptbahnof and Karlsplatz. We booked the Panorama room, which was worth the slightly higher rate of a standard room. The top floor feels very private with only a few rooms and separate hallways. The entrance into the Panorama room is a hallway with the minibar and bathroom on one side, and then finally the bedroom area at the end. The king bed is supremely comfortable, the sitting area, desk, and TV modern and comfortable. The room is exceptionally clean.

The bathroom is very large - one of the larger bathrooms I've seen in a European hotel. You can set the lights to different colors, and there's a TV in the room as well. One downside is that there is no bathtub - only a moderately spacious square shower with a bench.

The best part of the panorama room is the view from the floor to ceiling windows and wrap-around private terrace. From one side you can look over to Karlsplatz, and from the other there is Hauptbahnhof. It's awesome to be able to look down on the city from a luxurious nesting point. Note - the wall-length windows do go into the bathroom, and the terrace wraps around to one or two other hotel rooms.

Aside from the panorama room, the rest of the hotel is equally spotless, efficient, and the staff is friendly. The lobby is small, no frills, and the two elevators are also tight and not quite representative of the sleek rooms and overall gestalt. The staff was very friendly, referred to us by name, and offered us each a complimentary drink at the bar, which we were able to take up to our room. The bar is hoppin' at night with lots of tourists (and perhaps locals alike) in their 20s-40s. The drinks are good, reasonably priced.

Parking is a bit tough. We were able to park near the hotel, but this was very lucky. Best bet is on Bayerstraße (metered parking). Finding/entering the hotel is a bit confusing at first (the entrance is just on one side not facing Bayerstraße), but you'll get it.

The Panorama room on its own is 5 stars, but the rest of the hotel is more trendy/simple boutique than full-on luxury. It's an energetic place to stay, and if you get the right room, it'll make the trip.

Room Tip: Spring for the nicer room. The hotel is modern and simple, so the other rooms may not be as impress...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Very central. Next to the main subway. Walking distance to many pubs and restaurants .
Good staff. Tasty food in a great bar.
Bathroom really nice and big.
Beds comfortable.
Room was extremely warm. Had to open the window all night which leaves in the noise of the city.
Overall, I would recommend this hotel for those interested in a modern,contemporary hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#20 of 389 in Munich
614 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Excelsior by Geisel
Hotel Excelsior by Geisel
#77 of 389 in Munich
572 reviews
0.3 km away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 389 in Munich
1,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
1.2 km away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#11 of 389 in Munich
857 reviews
0.4 km away
Eden Hotel Wolff
Eden Hotel Wolff
#41 of 389 in Munich
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anna Hotel

Address: Schuetzenstr. 1, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Munich
#21 Family Hotel in Munich
#26 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#35 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#50 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $227 - $698 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Anna Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "anna hotel" and its "anna next door" are located in the middle of the city centre of Munich, directly at the famous Karlsplatz/ Stachus. The hotel provides 75 exclusive rooms including the luxury Tower suite on the upper floor. The round balcony on the 6th floor offers a great view over Munich, the Frauenkirche and the magnificent palace of justice. The apartment "anna next door" is unique in the hospitality industry. Its own design is characterized not only by modern furniture as an iPod-Docking station or a flat screen-TV in the restroom but also by a kitchen and a free standing overflow bathtub. The 2 minutes walking distance to the hotel is highly appreciated by the guests. The hotel combines modern design with grace and comfort, which is emphasized by the membership of Lifestylehotels and awarded by the renowned magazine "Architektur & Wohnen" as one of the 100 best Design hotels in Europe. The "anna restaurant", a central hot-spot, is appreciated by the hotel guests and the locals for its modern restaurant concept, the individual service, the euro-asiatic cuisine and for a broad selection of cocktails. Due to its special ambience the "anna restaurant" offers the perfect event location for up to 180 persons ("anna rondell" for up to 30 guests). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Agoda, MrandMrsSmith, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anna Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing