We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Bavaria”
Review of Hotel New Orly

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel New Orly
Ranked #68 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2017

This is a very pleasant, conveniently and centrally located hotel in Munich. Comfortable rooms, great breakfast and easy access to wonderful public transport, allowing one to explore at leasure the historic city...and partake in a beer keller ritual.

Room Tip: All rooms are good due to the quite neighbourhood
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank t00s0me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelNewOrly, Leiter Front Office at Hotel New Orly, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Dear guest,

many thanks for your review and your honorably words. We are very happy, that you enjoyed your trip to Munich and felt comfortable with our accommodation. We would be happy to welcome you again soon. Kind regards, Your Hotel New Orly - V. Stoetzel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (409)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 410 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2017

Stayed here for over a week. Had everything we needed for a city break. Saber the waiter was efficient and fun at breakfast time. He referred to my partner as Mr President each morning which turned a few heads! The only breakfast time snag was the amount of guests and the small amount of tables so sometimes had to stand in a queue for a little while. Not a problem to us as we were not in a hurry but for those with a timetable.....not so good. The hotel had plenty bars and restaurants around and easy access to trams and underground. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ootnaboot16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Team-HotelNewOrly, Leiter Front Office at Hotel New Orly, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Dear Ootnaboot16,

thank you very much for your evaluation! We are happy, you enjoyed our hotel and your trip to Munich. We take into account your critique regarding the breakfast situation. Due to the number of guests, on some days, we are obliged to open a second breakfast room in our basement. Here everyone should find enough space to enjoy our tasty breakfast. Greetings from the whole New Orly Team - V. Stoetzel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2016

Me and a friend were staying in Munich for the Christmas markets and wanted somewhere central to stay, I wished we'd paid more attention to its location because this hotel is not central at all - either a good 40 minute walk or train journey into the city centre, although to be fair both were straightforward. The hotel was nicely presented and staff very friendly. The neighbourhood is very quiet, very often we found ourselves the only people out on the surrounding streets.

Our room was small, very small actually, but to be honest we were only really there at the night time so we didn't really mind. What we did mind however was the bathroom, first of all the sliding frosted glass door which did not close properly, this made things awkward to say the least - forget modesty if you're staying here! Secondly, the shower cubical was tiny, no shelf for shampoo etc, so this was a challenge in its self! On a positive note, we were given lots of clean fluffy white towels on a daily basis!

The vast choice of food on offer for breakfast was great and of such high quality, we were literally spoilt for choice. I had scrambled eggs and smoked salmon most mornings which was a little indulgent but I was on holiday after all! The waiter Saber greeted us with his cheery demeanour and friendly smile, this guy literally couldn't do enough for you. On our last day a Russian guest began having a seizure over breakfast, myself and my friend are both nurses so we immediately attended to him but as we don't speak either German or Russian, and to add to the confusion the friends of the man didn't speak English and only spoke broken German so Saber acted as a interpreter as well as organising an ambulance. He was great and deserves a HUGE pat on the back for his efforts that day - he's a real credit to the hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GuernseyGirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights over Christmas. Although the hotel is a little far from the centre, it's only 4 subway stops away. The subway is about a 5min walk.

The staff were very friendly and spoke good English. The breakfast was delicious and the room was of a high quality. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Relkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2016

Staff were extremely friendly, from Check In to breakfast. We had Room 305 which was quite large and with a balcony. Lovely bathroom with bath robe and slippers provided. Breakfast has to be the best hotel breakfast I've ever had with wide range of cereals, hot food, meats & cheeses, fruit. The best bit is the orange juicer - can't beat freshly squeezed orange juice. Even had a bottle of champers next to the juices.
Location was a short walk from Maillingerstrasse Ubahn station which is only 2 stops from Hauptbahnhof (central station). We walked to Hauptbahnhof from hotel which was about 20/25mins. We also walked to Nymphenburg Palace which took approx 40 mins.
Would definitely stay at this hotel again if visiting Munich.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Vanessa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
1.5 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Munchen Central
0.4 km away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
1.4 km away
Leonardo Hotel Munich City Olympiapark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Eurostars Grand Central
Eurostars Grand Central
#44 of 389 in Munich
1,487 reviews
1.8 km away
Arthotel Munich
Arthotel Munich
#32 of 389 in Munich
922 reviews
0.3 km away
Arcona Living Munchen
Arcona Living Munchen
#112 of 389 in Munich
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel New Orly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New Orly

Address: Gabrielenstr. 6, 80636 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#79 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $107 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel New Orly 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel New Orly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orly Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing