We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean hotel, good value for money, 25mins from Munich centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Munchen City Sud
Ranked #207 of 382 Hotels in Munich
GreenLeadersBronze level
Barcelona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Clean hotel, good value for money, 25mins from Munich centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

We have been in the hotel this last weekend, and i was not so sure after reading some of the reviews.
But, it has been a good decision.
Yes, the hotel is not in the centre, but the Bus 55 stops almost in the door of the hotel, and in less than 15 minutes it leaves you in Ostbahnhof. From here to the centre, other 10 minutes by bus/tram/train. So location is not that bad.
The rooms were ok, clean, comfortable bed.
For Breakfast, there is a small boulangerie crossing the street, with great pastries and coffee. We had light breakfast for 5 euros both of us, and complete one can also be ordered at a reasonable price.

So, good value for money, and would consider it again if going back to Munich by car

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMS_08_2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    251
    175
    79
    56
See reviews for
99
215
29
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

I went here with my mate for Oktoberfest. Last year we stayed quite far out and decided to stay somewhere a bit closer, without the massive room fee's, when we found this hotel, we were a bit unsure off proximity etc, it turns out we need not have worried. There was a bus stop outside the hotel which in a four minute journey took you to the nearest underground which has access to all of Munich, or stay on the bus for ten minutes and you arrive at Ostenbahnhoff station. The ride will cost you a Euro so great. More often than not, we had the great staff at the desk call us a cab which would take us to Munich town centre, this would cost around 14 Euros 15 with a tip, coming home late at night as you do, your looking at about 21 and whatever tip you ar drunk enough to give :-) the cabs were fast and affordable and a good way to travel, but if on a budget, i would take the bus. The Hotel itself was clean, the rooms were great for the price, always made up everyday and mini bar well stocked, my only gripe was bad flat pillows, but could have asked for a spare if needed. Next to main road, but after 5 minutes, you forget it is there. No bar, but there is a great bar next door called the lollipop bar, with great staff and good happy locals, there is also 2 great cafe's right next door if you fancy food, we never had the breakfast but the rest looked good. My overall take on this hotel is very good and we will book again for next year as soon as dates announced. Hope that helps, I would have given a 5 but thats for Hotels within walking distance to Oktoberfest :-)

Room Tip: Smoking rooms are double bed only, try and ask for rear facing if light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FunSeekerHarrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

A hotel that was clean and functional and close to transport links which was convenient for touring Munich. The room was spacious, clean with the bathroom being the same.

We didn't have breakfast at the hotel but from what I saw it looked pretty standard.

My only gripe was the lack of air-conditioning in the room and corridors. It was quite humid for the time we were there and due to the fact the room overlooked a busy road if you opened the window you would here traffic all night. A fan would have been an easy solution however none were available.

The staff that we encountered were great and always willing to help.

A hotel I would recommend to travellers on a budget.

All in all a pleasant hotel which I would use again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redbear81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

The hotelhomepage is soooo not real...place is clean but in the middle of nowhere..
Rooms ok....but NO aircondition ...
All in all the prize was ok but not a hotelat all ...more a hostel ... Breakfast way to expensive ...metro is far so u have to take a vus to get there ...on their homepage it sounded different ...

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smartsurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Munich hotels

Kerry
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

I don't think I have ever been as unhappy writing a Tripadvisor review! We have just returned today from a 2 week holiday along the Romantic Road with a few extra places included. Munich is traditionally the last stop. Stayed in Munich 2 years ago at Christmas in Hotel Torbreau- a really fantastic place.

Not lucky this time. Our schedule was flexible so we didn't book a hotel until the morning we set off for Munich as we had done for most of trip. As luck would have it, a big Trade Fair was on for the 2 days we were here and there were literally next to no free rooms anywhere!

We spent a frustrating 90 minutes ringing hotels and hostels in Munich, all with the same story. This hotel was free but charging 600 euros-yes I kid you not, SIX hundred euro for 2 nights. If I tell you the normal price for this 3 star averages 60-90 euros a night then you can see the lunacy of this blatant mark-up. We were also 10 days into our trip at this stage and had never banked on paying this much for a less-than-amazing hotel to put it mildly.

To get to the chase, we secured the hotel with the proviso we could have free cancellation up to 6pm . After another effort to ring hotels with no further luck, we decided to cancel and change our plans altogether to stay in Munich. That would have been possible but that the phone number on the hotel website and the booking website (not NH hotel website) were incorrect so I couldn't ring the hotel!!!! Was unable to get onto German phone operator either.We tried to get onto the booking website on our mobile phone but the signal as we drove on the autobahn was unbelievably slow. Upshot: the 6pm deadline passed without us being able to contact the hotel.

We got to the hotel and got absolutely no recourse from the receptionist despite us telling her the advertised hotel phone number is incorrect. The penalty was going to be 300 euro which we couldn't countenace.So 600 euro bought us 2 nights in a 3 star hotel basically in a far, far away suburb of Munich. We were told at reception that to get to city centre by bus would take 15minutes. 25 minutes later we still hadn't reached the centre between a bus trip and U-Bahn (underground) train. Dejection doesn't cover it! It is literally MILES from the centre.

So the room- was fine, average size, clean. No iron in room but got one from reception. Tea and coffee were in the room but no milk so another trip down to reception for that. I know you won't believe it but NO we didn't get breakfast included for 600 euro! It would be funny if we weren't been fleeced. We ate in the cafe across the road instead.

Just avoid this hotel, I wish we hadn't even contemplated securing this place for a few hours just to give us more time to reorganize our plans. The stay left a sour taste and spoiled our remaining few days in Germany.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irishbrightsmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
7.4 km away
Novum Hotel Seidlhof Munchen
10.2 km away
Ibis Budget Munich City Olympiapark
3.7 km away
NH Munchen Messe
NH Munchen Messe
#81 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 km away
Hotel Dependance Erb
Hotel Dependance Erb
#300 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
3.0 km away
Ibis Munich City South Hotel
2.9 km away
Ibis Budget Muenchen City Sued
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Munchen City Sud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Munchen City Sud

Property: NH Munchen City Sud
Address: Ottobrunner Str. 17-19, 81737 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly NH München Am Ring)
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Munich
#17 Spa Hotel in Munich
#20 Best Value Hotel in Munich
Price range (per night): $69 - $215
Hotel Class:3 star — NH Munchen City Sud 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH München City Süd hotel is ideally located close to the Munich city center, offering easy access to the Exhibition Centre and International Munich Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Hotelopia so you can book your NH Munchen City Sud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Apartments Munchen Am Ring Hotel Munich
Nh Hotels Munich
Nh Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing