We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Cheap ... And just dont exspect a lot” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of NH Munchen City Sud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
NH Munchen City Sud
Ranked #209 of 379 Hotels in Munich
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cheap ... And just dont exspect a lot”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

The hotelhomepage is soooo not real...place is clean but in the middle of nowhere..
Rooms ok....but NO aircondition ...
All in all the prize was ok but not a hotelat all ...more a hostel ... Breakfast way to expensive ...metro is far so u have to take a vus to get there ...on their homepage it sounded different ...

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smartsurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    246
    173
    76
    56
See reviews for
99
209
28
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kerry
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

I don't think I have ever been as unhappy writing a Tripadvisor review! We have just returned today from a 2 week holiday along the Romantic Road with a few extra places included. Munich is traditionally the last stop. Stayed in Munich 2 years ago at Christmas in Hotel Torbreau- a really fantastic place.

Not lucky this time. Our schedule was flexible so we didn't book a hotel until the morning we set off for Munich as we had done for most of trip. As luck would have it, a big Trade Fair was on for the 2 days we were here and there were literally next to no free rooms anywhere!

We spent a frustrating 90 minutes ringing hotels and hostels in Munich, all with the same story. This hotel was free but charging 600 euros-yes I kid you not, SIX hundred euro for 2 nights. If I tell you the normal price for this 3 star averages 60-90 euros a night then you can see the lunacy of this blatant mark-up. We were also 10 days into our trip at this stage and had never banked on paying this much for a less-than-amazing hotel to put it mildly.

To get to the chase, we secured the hotel with the proviso we could have free cancellation up to 6pm . After another effort to ring hotels with no further luck, we decided to cancel and change our plans altogether to stay in Munich. That would have been possible but that the phone number on the hotel website and the booking website (not NH hotel website) were incorrect so I couldn't ring the hotel!!!! Was unable to get onto German phone operator either.We tried to get onto the booking website on our mobile phone but the signal as we drove on the autobahn was unbelievably slow. Upshot: the 6pm deadline passed without us being able to contact the hotel.

We got to the hotel and got absolutely no recourse from the receptionist despite us telling her the advertised hotel phone number is incorrect. The penalty was going to be 300 euro which we couldn't countenace.So 600 euro bought us 2 nights in a 3 star hotel basically in a far, far away suburb of Munich. We were told at reception that to get to city centre by bus would take 15minutes. 25 minutes later we still hadn't reached the centre between a bus trip and U-Bahn (underground) train. Dejection doesn't cover it! It is literally MILES from the centre.

So the room- was fine, average size, clean. No iron in room but got one from reception. Tea and coffee were in the room but no milk so another trip down to reception for that. I know you won't believe it but NO we didn't get breakfast included for 600 euro! It would be funny if we weren't been fleeced. We ate in the cafe across the road instead.

Just avoid this hotel, I wish we hadn't even contemplated securing this place for a few hours just to give us more time to reorganize our plans. The stay left a sour taste and spoiled our remaining few days in Germany.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irishbrightsmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Munich hotels

UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2010

Booked via lastminute offered as secret hotel so thought I would try this out. I had been told by a travel operator that these secret hotels are good quality but often a bit outside of the main town.
On arrival the hotel reception area was very hot indeed compared to the outside temperature. This only worsened as I ventured into the hotel and entered my room where the temperature was absolutely stiffling. No air-con or fan obviously available. I opened the windows and was confronted with the very very loud sound of traffic. Enquiries at reception revealed that there was no air conditioning at the hotel and that there were no fans and that they would not move our room. As I was on a tight budget and had paid upfront via lastminute I was not in a position to walk out and get other accommodation otherwise I would have done.
The room was unbelieveably hot - I love the heat and can take a much hotter temperature than most work or play - this was horribly hot and no air movement in the room. The corridors were much the same. There was loud traffic noise without the windows being opened and due to the temperature I had to open both windows which did help cool the room. The noise from the windows open from the traffic was very very loud indeed. Plus each time a vehicle pulled up outside the hotel exhuast fumes would venure into my room. Also the noise from guests leaving/entering the premises including the smell from smoking.
There was no information about guest services etc. Although there was a mini bar stocked with drinks and snacks there was no price list. There was a couple of tea bags and instant coffee sachets in the room - no milk or creamers - this was not replaced.
On check out they tried to bill me for breakfasts that we did not have initially insisting that we were guests of another name so had to waste time sorting this out.
This hotel is best avoided until they get their act together. I paid approx £76 for 2 x adults for 2 x nights which is only value for money if you like to sleep with the heat of noon in the sahara desert with the noise of being on a runway at heathrow airport.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sorisa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisvile, KY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2010

We stayed here for 6 nights in June. The room was nice enough, clean, etc. The hotel is extremely hot-walk in the lobby and you can feel it. It was around 80 degrees during the day when we were there, but the hotel was so hot even at night you would have to open the windows...but then you definitely couldn't sleep because of the traffic noise even in the middle of the night (even wearing ear plugs!!). When we checked out we mentioned this to the lady but she said "we are 3 star hotel so we don't have air conditioning'', yet they don't have fans either or even light weight blankets-and /i have stayed in plenty of 3 * that at least had fans). Cleaning service for days did not replenish coffee/tea nor did they put more shower gel in the bathrom-luckily I had some of my own! The room was nice enough but too hot and too noisy...probably would not stay here again just because of this! It may be okay in winter...but not in summer!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dunnyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nawabofdelhi1
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2010

Had to stay here for 3 nights as a last resort as it was a last minute extension to my business trip to Munich & most of the other hotels where full on account of a convention in the city. Also this property is 10 miniutes or so by bus to the office where I was working out from. As per other hotels run by this chain, clean, spacious, the average size of the rooms far bigger than most other hotels, though strictly speaking most of the rooms are actually serviced,self contained apartments, with their own tiny cooking area. Downside there is no air conditioning at this property, whcih makes staying here in peak summers bit of a challenge, moreover the T.V. set in the room I stayed in seemed from another era, a really small box. Moreover the hotel is far from the city centre & most of the touristy sites, you need to take a bus, for which admittedly the stop is just a few metres in front of the hotel, then hop on to the train, or you could take a cab, however that would set you back by about 20 Euros. Decent offering at breakfast, cheerful staff. There are a few eateries right outside the hotel (including a largish Chinese restaurant) in case you wish to grab a bite at lunch/dinner. Over all makes sense to stay here if you are on a budget & need a room with breakfast thrown in at around the 50 Euro mark.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nawabofdelhi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
3.6 km away
NH Munchen Messe
NH Munchen Messe
#73 of 379 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
2.6 km away
Leonardo Hotel & Residence Munich
3.0 km away
ibis Munich City South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
Novum Hotel Seidlhof Munchen
3.7 km away
Mercure Hotel Munchen Ost-Messe
2.1 km away
Ibis Muenchen City Ost
Ibis Muenchen City Ost
#77 of 379 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Munchen City Sud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Munchen City Sud

Property: NH Munchen City Sud
Address: Ottobrunner Str. 17-19, 81737 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly NH München Am Ring)
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Munich
#12 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#17 Spa Hotel in Munich
Price range (per night): $63 - $198
Hotel Class:3 star — NH Munchen City Sud 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH München City Süd hotel is ideally located close to the Munich city center, offering easy access to the Exhibition Centre and International Munich Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, NHHotels, Wotif.com, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your NH Munchen City Sud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Apartments Munchen Am Ring Hotel Munich
Nh Hotels Munich
Nh Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing